Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which Strat -- Jaysus, there's loads!

• 15-01-2011 1:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭

Title says it all: I've played SGs and LPs all my life. Been playing for years. But never a Strat. Never even jammed with one! So I reckon it's about time I dipped my toe in the water...

But there's bleedin' millions of variations!

So I've narrowed it down in my mind to this:

1) I want a maple fingerboard (like the feel; it's a contrast to my LP)
    2) Fixed bridge (no real interest in whammyness; well, a bit...)
    3) No H/S/H: if I'm trying a Strat, it has to be single-coils all the way...
    ...but (4) The more noiseless, the better: I don't want buzz monsters.
    And (5) Some Strat paint jobs give me a headache: the only ones I could live with are black, sunburst, natural or white.

But still, there's millions. So I've limited my budget to max €500. Beyond that, I don't really care if it's a Vintage, Squier, Yamaha etc, as long as they're good. But I also reckon that I'd really prefer to try a "proper" Fender.

I'm used to good playing and good sounding guitars, so at my budget, I reckon I'm limited to the second hand, non-American-built market. There are a couple of Korean-built Lite Ash Strats on Adverts for less than €400 (which look really nice) and a Mex with upgraded pickups (though a rosewood board) for about the same.

Like this: http://www.adverts.ie/388013

And: http://www.adverts.ie/403202

What do you lads reckon?

Again, I'm limiting my budget deliberately, because I don't want to drop a load on, say, an American Standard that I may not like and will later be looking to offload to recoup the cash. I'd prefer to have something cheaper and cheerfulier that I can live with, get used to and decide whether I like it. Not something that sits in a corner glaring at me, saying "I cost the guts of two grand; you better like me, or else".

For the record, I don't anticipate using the Strat seriously, at least not yet. I'm a humbucker man looking to experiment. But for what it's worth, I like the Strat tones of everything from Gallagher, through Blackmore, to Fast Eddie Clarke and beyond.

[Cue the obligatory discussion (which all my posts seem to provoke) on the whole tone/feel v sonic experimentation thing...
    Like this: "That's BS! Strats are for cliched 'blooze' players with funny hats playing 'rawk' licks. I'm sick of people implying that, just because they want to try a Strat, that I'm not a 'real' 'musician' because I make Pac-man soundtracks with this awesome looper and POG!"]

Sleeping. Dogs. And lie. Ahem. Sorry 'bout that. So, Strats...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭smokiebeverage

Hiya,

I picked up one of the light ash koreans second hand on adverts or donedeal, I can't remember, and to be honest I was surprised how good it was. I think I picked it up for 325 including a skb hardcase. Its a great looking guitar, but I'm a sucker for natural guitars, and it plays really well. If you are northside you are welcome to have a go at it if you wan't to have a no pressure play. I wouldn't sell the one I have and if it was damaged I would look for another. Its currently getting setup but I should have it back mid week.

SB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Strats are great IMHO :D
    You're going to have to try LOADS of them....

You seem to be ignoring your own point 2) but dont worry about it because its v. easy to deck the trem on any strat so that its effectively fixed bridge.

I'd also add
    6) Neck profile: C? V? thick? thin? and
    7) Frets: Vintage v Jumbo.

The light ash strats have a medium C profile with a touch of V just behind the first 3 frets. The neck has a nice satin finish which polishes up when you play it. It is made in Korea by Cort. Based on my experience you need to check that the frets are well seated and that none are raising up.

Good luck with your search! and enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

Fender currently only make on truly fixed bridge s/s/s Strat, the Robert Cray signature. Nice guitar, but I basically goes against all of your criteria! I had one but sold it many moons ago.

I've never played a Lite Ash Strat that I've liked.

You should take a look at the Classic Players 50s Strat. For the money, I reckon it's the best Strat available with the features you're looking for.

The Jimmie Vaughan Strat I tried in NYC was also very nice, but since Fender's price changes it doesn't really seem worth it.

If you can stretch a little further, the American Special Strat is also worth a look. I've played a couple that I really, really liked. Comes in a nice 2 tone sunburst and Candy Apple Red, which I'm personally a big fan of.

As Johnny Storm said, blocking off the trem is an easy fix if you're that way inclined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Hiya,

I picked up one of the light ash koreans second hand on adverts or donedeal, I can't remember, and to be honest I was surprised how good it was. I think I picked it up for 325 including a skb hardcase. Its a great looking guitar, but I'm a sucker for natural guitars, and it plays really well. If you are northside you are welcome to have a go at it if you wan't to have a no pressure play. I wouldn't sell the one I have and if it was damaged I would look for another. Its currently getting setup but I should have it back mid week.

SB

Thanks, man; I may take you up on that!
    Strats are great IMHO :D
    You're going to have to try LOADS of them....

You seem to be ignoring your own point 2) but dont worry about it because its v. easy to deck the trem on any strat so that its effectively fixed bridge.

I'd also add
    6) Neck profile: C? V? thick? thin? and
    7) Frets: Vintage v Jumbo.

The light ash strats have a medium C profile with a touch of V just behind the first 3 frets. The neck has a nice satin finish which polishes up when you play it. It is made in Korea by Cort. Based on my experience you need to check that the frets are well seated and that none are raising up.

Good luck with your search! and enjoy it.

Thanks for the info. I knew that about the trem, but I hadn't considered your points (6) or (7). I'm used to an LP standard with a chubby neck and a LP replica with a skinny (60s?) neck. Which profile and/frets do you reckon would be closest?

Made by Cort. Hmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭RC88

http://www.thomann.de/ie/vintage_icon_v6mrbk.htm

give one of these a test, look like what u're after and the reviews r pretty good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

http://www.adverts.ie/guitar-bass/fender-squier-japan-stratocaster/406255

made in Japan squier for less than half your budget,I have one of a similar vintage and it's a great guitar! buy this and then throw a set of decent pickups into it and you'll have a monster guitar ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

RC88 wrote: »
    http://www.thomann.de/ie/vintage_icon_v6mrbk.htm

give one of these a test, look like what u're after and the reviews r pretty good

Yeah, I've heard good things about these.
    punchdrunk wrote: »
    http://www.adverts.ie/guitar-bass/fender-squier-japan-stratocaster/406255

made in Japan squier for less than half your budget,I have one of a similar vintage and it's a great guitar! buy this and then throw a set of decent pickups into it and you'll have a monster guitar ;)

I saw that the other day. Could be just the trick to ease me into Strat-iness...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Thanks, man; I may take you up on that!

Thanks for the info. I knew that about the trem, but I hadn't considered your points (6) or (7). I'm used to an LP standard with a chubby neck and a LP replica with a skinny (60s?) neck. Which profile and/frets do you reckon would be closest?

Made by Cort. Hmmm.

Personally I dont like vintage frets at all. My fingertips press on the fretboard too much.
    I think the neck profile is very much a case of try it and see.
    Cort (or equivalent ) probably make all non US or Mexico Fenders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

This was hands down the best Strat I ever owned in every respect. Still curse the day I sold it. You can pick them up second hand for about 400 lids on ebay

http://www.thomann.de/ie/fender_deluxe_player_strat_sbt_mn.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

population wrote: »
    This was hands down the best Strat I ever owned in every respect. Still curse the day I sold it. You can pick them up second hand for about 400 lids on ebay

http://www.thomann.de/ie/fender_deluxe_player_strat_sbt_mn.htm

I'll agree with this, I haven't played that many strats but I own one of these, and she's a beaut. Very versatile, plays like a dream and is really pretty!
    I've the one in blue with rosewood fretboard.

One thing though, the pickups would be slightly hotter / brighter than your typical round strat tone, still really nice sounds from it.