Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best place to sell your DVD's?

• 14-01-2011 6:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭

Asking this on here as I know most of you have fairly large collections of movies, I have over 500 dvd's a mixture of Region 1 & 2 that I need to get rid of some of them are still in thier wrappers, just wondering what or where is the best place to sell them? I know Gamestop take movies in but they probably give you something really low for it, I know adverts.ie, how about car boot sales?

Just looking for some ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭thecelt

How about trying boards sister site www.adverts.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Sell on Adverts or Ebay...

.. last time I tried Gamestop, they tried to give me a scandalous €1 per used DVD! :eek:

Told them feck off, and sold a couple on eBay and Adverts for €4 - €5 each on average.

basquille wrote: »
    Sell on Adverts or Ebay...

.. last time I tried Gamestop, they tried to give me a scandalous €1 per used DVD! :eek:

Told them feck off, and sold a couple on eBay and Adverts for €4 - €5 each on average.

Was in Gamestop awhile back and a girl was selling a stack of DVDs, there were 25-30 there and the grand total she was offered, 6.50. Some of the DVDS she had they were only offering her 35c, I told her she would be much better off selling them on ebay but she was pretty adamant to get rid of them there and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭johndoe99

Gamestop is the worst, i bought Spiderman 3 on bluray in the waterford store (New) for 11.99. 1 week later i saw the trilogy in Golden Discs so i bought it, broght Spiderman 3 back to gamestop, the girl scanned it and said we'll give you 80c for it, my jaw literally hit the floor.

I'd like to know how they come up with this pricing.

Snake Plisken if you can tell us what County your from, members may be able to tell you of 2nd hand shops etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

thanks lads for the suggestions I'm in Lucan, Dublin, don't like the sound of Gamestop, would like a place that would that you could walk into and get a fair price, the thing that puts me off ebay is working out the postage, ok standard dvd might be a certain price but say your selling off boxset or a couple of series then it gets messy.

Send me on a list of what you're looking to get rid of, may well be something of interest there which I'd buy from you at a fair price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Frank Grimes Jr

:( 500 is a nightmare to sort out.

I had 40 or 50 DVD's to shift. Music concert DVD's I got what I thought was a fair price on ebay. I'd imagine limited release Disney would also sell OK as should stuff like Criterion Collection. Postage is a killer for boxsets, adverts.ie might work out there. Most DVD movies are near worthless, checkout Amazon.co.uk Marketplace, I was buying mint used dvd's for £0.01, getting them delivered for €3.30. Paypal's minimum transaction fee of 35c ruled out selling em cheap on ebay - (you're main market on ebay is the UK and the native UK sellers selling price is inclusive of shipping) and negotiating multiple deals on adverts simultaneously was too head wrecking for the expected return. I just gave them away to family. If Gamestop offered €1 per DVD I'd have taken it with bells on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Mightn't suit you with such a large number but I've been using Play.com's Playtrade to list some unwanted DVDs. You can decide how much you're asking and this must cover postage. Play also take a percentage but to date I've made about 20 quid on six sales. Happy enough with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Lads, thanks for the advice I'll compile a list have lot of sci-fi/horror etc as I said a good lot is Region 1, a few tv shows as well e.g. full seperate boxsets of X-Files/Milllenium, couple of seasons of 24 & CSI Las Vegas etc as mentioned above they are more difficult to sell online due to postage costs.

Is it worth going to a sunday morning car boot sale and trying to sell there or would that be a waste of time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭thecelt

Car boot sale, it cudnt hurt to try, if you get a list together let us know on here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

I might take a few off ya if I could see a list.