Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nerves gone over football trial!

• 14-01-2011 12:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭

Not sure if this is the right place to put this. Anyway, ive a football trial coming up in the next few months with a bigish/smallish english football club. I had for years been trying to get spotted by any football club willing to look, attended every trial where possible, and finally gave up/grew up. Recently i got a call out of the blue asking would i be interested in going over 'across the water' for a two weeks trial. Its was so unexpected. This is the last craic of the whip at this for me now, and as ive been given this great chance i dont want to balls it up. I have to control the nerves, their the only thing that will fcuk this up for me. advice anyone:)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Em, i dunno where this would fit in, so i understand the confusion. maybe personal issues?
    i could fire the thread over that way if you wanted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭heffomike54

Deep Breaths man, try not to let it weigh on your mind as this will affect you massively. It's normally when you forget about something like a job that everything falls into place for you. Good luck and let us know how it goes for you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

Nerin wrote: »
    Em, i dunno where this would fit in, so i understand the confusion. maybe personal issues?
    i could fire the thread over that way if you wanted?
    Yeah! ok. Thanks! I just dont want to be putting up threads where their not supposed to go!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭dabestman1

don't sweat it, everybody gets nerves, deep breaths and good luck in the trial, could be a big star, the irish soccer team could do with a few of those

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Moved :)
    hope you get advice here, if not i'm sure the mods know where it should go

dabestman1 wrote: »
    don't sweat it, everybody gets nerves, deep breaths and good luck in the trial, could be a big star, the irish soccer team could do with a few of those
    Yeah but when it comes to football, i get them really bad. Its only football that i get this nervous about. Everything else in my life is just a piss in the park(for want of a better term). Also doubt trap will be looking at league one, when he's looking for the next irish star. In my dreams!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭bertaluchi

Hey there, don't want to big you up too much here, but if you've been asked to go over it's because
    they thought you were good enough. There's an endless supply of lads that want to play for these
    teams, and they won't waste their time on people that can't play to that standard. They've seen you play.

Like any employer, they won't bother trying to train someone that they think CAN'T do the job. What
    about bringing someone over with you? Calm you down or wreck your head?

Don't rule out the good stuff. Players develop at different ages, maybe you'll get on a roll!

Good luck chief. Really hope you get to play your best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Monkey Allen

Manchester Uniteds Bebe should be an inspiration for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭iceman777

You're an athlete, so to calm yourself down, why don't you hit the gym hard until you go i.e. light weights and keep the cardio workouts going as well? Going cycling, swimming and jogging will release your stress and also keep you fit so it's a win-win situation.

This will help you be prepared and also by keeping occupied, you'll stop worrying.

As you've played a lot, I think once you cross the white line, you'll be happy to get out there and play. All you can do is your best at that time and that'll be good enough for you.

Let us know how you get on. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭CdeC

hey fella,
    Really exciting opportunity. My advice, treat it like a job opportunity. Remember you want to impress them off the pitch with your commitment, attitude and determination as well.

Do some reseerch on the club, find out their history, and also there season to season record and also players and current management.

get yourself in a good rhythm of sleeping early and training now. Get up early, go for a jog, I'd imagine they'll work you hard for the two weeks so no harm in having your body reasonably prepared.

Most Importantly get in touch with anyone who has gone through similar, even if they are over there and you don't know them, maybe on facebook. One thing that is invaluable is the advice of people who have gone there before.

Best of luck,
    hope it works out.
    C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Pebbles68

This guy helped me a lot. I know hypnosis isn't everybody cup of tea but I know he specialises in sports hypnosis http://www.aidansloan.ie/sports-psychology.html
    Best of luck with the trial

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Dude, go - play your ball - no fear. As you said this is your chance. Get out on that pitch and play your game. And when you're ealking off each day be able to say you couldn't have put more into it. If you're happy with how you play, that's all you can ask for.

I'd hope the nerves will be dissipate once you get your first tackle in or make your first pass.

And that said, make sure you make your first pass, it's what i focus on in evey game, get a touch early on the ball, get your head up, make a simple pass.

Either way, good luck and let us know how you do. I have a little brother and i'd love him to get offered a trial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Listen to the advice given by the coaches once you get over but make sure you play your game.

Your not there to make friends your there to do a job for you.

The nerves will disappear once you get on that pitch and start to play, its two weeks so plenty of time to make a good impression.

Best of luck and keep us updated.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Just keep training and practicing the way you normally do it. They want to have a look at you for a reason, and that if for what you have... Make sure you're fit, and keep faith in your ability. You can do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭trebor28

i dont know much about the soccer side of things but would know a bit more of gaa.
    1. this is your opportunity to get what you want.
    why would you be nervous. some nerves are good but dont let them get to you too much or they will only harm you.
    you are afraid of failure at the moment, why?
    what happens if you fail, you go back home to what you have been doing already.
    you do not want this, therefore why would you be nervous about going home to do what you are doing now??
    now is your chance to take the bull by the horns, if this is what you want take it with both hand/feet and dont look back.

2.heard of this before and i think it works, has for me.
    Catastrophication.
    its a makey up word so dont worry about that.
    what it means is that, you think of the worst that could happen. and then you realise that that wont happen and it relaxes you.
    i.e
    so you go over, your in your hotel and your alarm doesnt go off, hence you are late to the club. then you find out you forgot your boots, ****.
    then you have to ask for boots but they have none in your size. ****.
    then you go and play in your socks, and the ground is muddy and you look really bad, ****.
    then you eff one of the coaches, he hits you a box, you fall and break your ankle, then when the ambulance comes they load you up but they crash on the way to hospital and you break your arm. frick.
    in hospital you end up contracting some rare disease and spend moths in hospital trying to get yourself better form the disease let alone your broken limbs.
    now you thikn to yourself what are the chances of all these things happening ???
    about 10 trillion to 1.
    you laugh at the thoughts of it and it relaxes you.

sounds stupid i know but it works. make up your own story.

3. first thing i would do when i get over there is ask the coach or whoever is in charge of you what is it exactly they want from you. it makes a good impression on them and you will also know what to do cause they have told you what they want.

4.as someone said already, prepare.
    fail to prepare then prepare to fail.

5. what position do you play?
    try and show that you can do more than one thing.
    i.e. if you are a winger, dont just run into the corner all day and cross the ball. nobody likes a glory hunter.
    vary it up. cut inside sometimes, pass inside to a midfielder, try and play one twos, move around defend, tackle etc.

6.there will probably be a few others in the same boat as you, ie on trial, so therefore you are not the only one, take solace in that.

7. its for two weeks, so dont burn yourself out in the first day. try to impress them but do it over the course of the 2 weeks.

8. be punctual, dont be smart, dont be afraid to ask a question, even if it sounds stupid, or everyone else is afraid to ask.

thats all i can think of at the moment.

i wont wish you luck, make your own luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Not sure if this is the right place to put this. Anyway, ive a football trial coming up in the next few months with a bigish/smallish english football club. I had for years been trying to get spotted by any football club willing to look, attended every trial where possible, and finally gave up/grew up. Recently i got a call out of the blue asking would i be interested in going over 'across the water' for a two weeks trial. Its was so unexpected. This is the last craic of the whip at this for me now, and as ive been given this great chance i dont want to balls it up. I have to control the nerves, their the only thing that will fcuk this up for me. advice anyone:)?

This bit. Looks to me like you finally relaxed and Played your own game instead of trying to hard to impress. Someone saw and liked the real you as a Player. Not the guy who has been trying to impress people.
    That first day you tog out, visualise your home pitch on a miserable wet Irish winters evening and dowhat comes natural.
    Good Luck

Jaysus! thanks everyone. I didnt know if putting up this thread was going to be of any use to me, but i must say, great advice and support. Really is! I have to say, im looking at things different as a result of reading the posts here. The nerves will be there im sure, but hopefully because im bit older now since the last trial(i was only a baby then), it might be different this time around. Im defo not the same person i was four years ago anyway. Starting to look at the glass half full now, i should be grateful for the chance, and should be not worrying about what i will and wont do right when im over there! Thats just a stupid way to be thinking, when i think about it. Thanks again! LIFESAVERS!:)

I have also got back into the daily 4 hour training, starting this morning.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Detour

Well done, great achievment even to be asked over. The advice on this thread is pretty good. Just to add one thing - they'll not only be looking at your football, they'll be looking at your attitude too. How you approach training, how you get on with the other lads, do you train with a smile on your face. All that stuff is going to come into it too, so just be aware.

All the best mate, hope it works out for you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

You should start preparing now. Start eating decent meals, get your fitness up to the right level and keep playing (doing keep-ups, practicing crosses etc) as much as you can. Don't worry about nerves, once you are on the pitch they go away, it's all about being in good condition. Hard work for a few weeks but it will be worth it. Even if you don't get it at least you'll have given it a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Monkey Allen

One thing that you probably dont need to be told but is worth mentioning is that you are on trial to prove you can be of value to a team, not as an individual. Therefore, mixing well with the other trialists will prove to be a better experience as in a practice game, you'll receive the ball more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Well i can only repeat a story that I heard about Jim McLaughlin, former Dundalk manager. Apparently he was a handy winger in his time, and one game his manager came to him and said there's a scout from United has come all the way from Manchester to watch you. McLaughlin went out and played, making sure he didn't f*ck up, only to see the manager who told him that the scout left after half an hour. "Why did he do that? I didn't make a single mistake"

"Aye son, but you didn't play either" was the answer.

So play your game, and if you make a mistake just make it up later, like someone missing a tackle and running back to win the ball.

Best of luck . . . . . unless it's Citeh you're going for :P

Well i can only repeat a story that I heard about Jim McLaughlin, former Dundalk manager. Apparently he was a handy winger in his time, and one game his manager came to him and said there's a scout from United has come all the way from Manchester to watch you. McLaughlin went out and played, making sure he didn't f*ck up, only to see the manager who told him that the scout left after half an hour. "Why did he do that? I didn't make a single mistake"

"Aye son, but you didn't play either" was the answer.

So play your game, and if you make a mistake just make it up later, like someone missing a tackle and running back to win the ball.

Best of luck . . . . . unless it's Citeh you're going for :P
    Naa! you would do well to hear 'Blue Moon' being sung in our house on a saturday afternoon! Maybe when hell freezes over!!:D