Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wellies

• 13-01-2011 5:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭

Well lads I shredded my wellie the other day on barb wire fence :( they weren't exspensive wellies and did the job. So now I have abit of money together and have decided to invest in a proper pair. Any thoughts on were to buy or what type? I want a pair of camo wellies so if you could recommend a few places. I've checked Lakelands,ebay,shoot.ie and Lucan- but still no joy :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

don't go near cabellas, i was in you position three weeks or so before the season started and ended up canceling the order. check out wellies.ie i got a grand pair of dunlops on there for seventy or so euro, and they were very snappy delivery.

do you mean you tried that gunshop in lucan beside the used car place? pat in there is a bit spuraddic in his stock and doesn't seem too interested in ordering stuff in for some reason. . . but yet comes accross as a nice bloke. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭dos29

Not camo, but I'd recommend a pair of Muckboots."The Esk" is the ones I have and I find them savage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

dicky82 wrote: »
    don't go near cabellas, i was in you position three weeks or so before the season started and ended up canceling the order. check out wellies.ie i got a grand pair of dunlops on there for seventy or so euro, and they were very snappy delivery.

do you mean you tried that gunshop in lucan beside the used car place? pat in there is a bit spuraddic in his stock and doesn't seem too interested in ordering stuff in for some reason. . . but yet comes accross as a nice bloke. :rolleyes:

Yea cabellas have unbeliveable gear, I was in their shop in Nevada and i was there for about three hours:D but as you said there not great internationally shipping products :( .....I've always wondered why UK or Europe don't have one, I say it would make a killing....

Yea pats shop in Lucan I was on about, same thing I have come across, I tried ordering some things threw him but in the end give up,but nice bloke.
    I will check out that website but may try up north, there's a place in Newry which is a big shop for fishing and shooting but forget them name of it...

Just looking a camo pair thou:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 gameshooter

I ordered a pair of insulated hunting boots from cabelas and recieved them within 10 days no problem,they are one of the best investments i ever made! totally waterproof breathable and are like walking in a pair of hiking boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

I got a pair and they came in 7 day's,made in China and the most comfortable boot I ever had,but I only got 2 seasons out of them as the seams split.

http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/8711/2011011313thjan20110007.jpg

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/1015/2011011313thjan20110004.jpg

http://img638.imageshack.us/img638/7612/2011011313thjan20110006.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

dos29 wrote: »
    Not camo, but I'd recommend a pair of Muckboots."The Esk" is the ones I have and I find them savage.

I agree muckboots are great, mine cost bout €80, White's Agri in Luxk stock them. Great warm boots in the cold winters :D

dicky82 wrote: »

tfox wrote: »
    I agree muckboots are great, mine cost bout €80, White's Agri in Luxk stock them. Great warm boots in the cold winters :D

Yea Muckboots look like the dogs bollox, will take a scout round tomorrow to see can in see a pair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

i have a pair of togi got them in home field and stream in enniskillen for 70 euro in sale. great comfy wellie that is neoprene lined so doesnt sweat and keep feet warm even in the snow. they seem to be holding up ok and i even use them for concreting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭ianoo

Agile parcours,,,,bought a pair 5-6 years ago and still going strong ,,when they do give up the ghost i'm gonna get another pair ;);)

ian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

marlin vs wrote: »
    I got a pair and they came in 7 day's,made in China and the most comfortable boot I ever had,but I only got 2 seasons out of them as the seams split.

http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/8711/2011011313thjan20110007.jpg

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/1015/2011011313thjan20110004.jpg

http://img638.imageshack.us/img638/7612/2011011313thjan20110006.jpg

my wellies from cabelas split aswell, 2 yrs old, rang them they said post them back they can replace them or give me a refund, cost e44 to post them back to cabelas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

brought a pair of hunter barmoral neo of johnnorris.co.uk 1st pair only lasted 7 months sent them back and they sent me a brand new pair very comfy wellie could walk 4 ever in then and the neoprene made them very toasty in the cold weather:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

check out the equestrian shop in maynooth they have all the top brands,.....hope this helps kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭AL 555

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭brianfrancis45

ianoo wrote: »
    Agile parcours,,,,bought a pair 5-6 years ago and still going strong ,,when they do give up the ghost i'm gonna get another pair ;);)

ian

+1 on that. Before Christmas got a pair of Aigle Parcours ISO wellies ( Euro 139.99 from www.sportsden.ie with free next day delivery). Neoprene lined boot and great in the cold weather. Also like the way they fit close around the ankle as I do a fair bit of shooting in bogs. When you get stuck up to the calf in boggy ground and try to pull your leg out. a normal wellie is inclined to come off . The Aigles stay on so no hopping around the bog like a deranged man with only one boot
    on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

Yip I have the same wellies. Fantastic. Keep your feet warm when standing in a cold river fishing or out hunting in the snow. Had them for six years now and they are still going strong. Swear by them.

Mallards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭johnner1

Dunnes stores had camo rubber wellies a few weeks back 15euro if thats what you really want, check them out;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I find the Aigle Paracours a good boot. I got mine in Sportsden, Navan.
    You can get them with an adjustable side strap if your calves are well developed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭sean raff

the only problem with expensive boots they too shred like cheapo wellies with barbed wire.
    i have a pair of dunlop paid bout 50 euro 4yrs ago

Went to the local horsie shop today and I got a pair of Sherwood Wellies today, there the exact same as jack Pyke boots and are a nice fit. I was set on Camo ones but they were looking ridiculous money €135. I was speaking to the lad in the shop and he said most lads were buying these Sherwood Wellies before the season and hadn't heard anything bad about them. €45 a pair, I got one size bigger so I can put thicker socks on if need be but there lined to keep warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭pejay

The best boots I ever had were "snowbee" boots they have loads of little sharp studs on the soul. they make it so easy to climb a slippy bank or get up a ditch easy or if you were walking on icy road or any thing like that they are great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Deerspotter

brought a pair of hunter barmoral neo of johnnorris.co.uk 1st pair only lasted 7 months sent them back and they sent me a brand new pair very comfy wellie could walk 4 ever in then and the neoprene made them very toasty in the cold weather:D

I have these boots too and are the most comfortable shoe I have ever had and would wear them all day if fashion dictated!

Have put up many many miles on them on all terrain in all weather - you won't get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Antoennis

Spunk84 wrote: »
    Went to the local horsie shop today and I got a pair of Sherwood Wellies today, there the exact same as jack Pyke boots and are a nice fit. I was set on Camo ones but they were looking ridiculous money €135. I was speaking to the lad in the shop and he said most lads were buying these Sherwood Wellies before the season and hadn't heard anything bad about them. €45 a pair, I got one size bigger so I can put thicker socks on if need be but there lined to keep warm.

I bought the Sherwood Wellies two years ago in Birr. Only lasted about 3 weeks and came away at the seams. Have Dunnes best now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

I got lidl's best 2 years ago. Grand job. Light, comfortable and good grip. I put foam insoles inside them and since then there like wearing runners!

Antoennis wrote: »
    I bought the Sherwood Wellies two years ago in Birr. Only lasted about 3 weeks and came away at the seams. Have Dunnes best now!

Well ****, I hope they bloody last or I'll lynch the lad I was talking to today:mad:...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭TimMac

I too am in the market for a new pair of wellies I am getting sick of wearing plastic bags for socks!

what do ye think of either of these?

http://www.countryattire.com/products/hunter-original-wellington-boots--black.html

http://www.wellywarehouse.co.uk/dunlop-thigh-fishing-wader-green-p-1859.html

would love to get these but cant justify spending that kinda money.

http://cgi.ebay.ie/Muck-Woody-Max-Cold-Conditions-Hunting-Boot-All-Sizes-/180500970438?pt=US_Men_s_Shoes&var=&hash=item6fc25d4402#ht_1244wt_905

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

For me there is no comparison between the Hunter original and the Aigle Paracours. Similar price range £55 stg V's €79. The Paracours for me are a better boot.