Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any ideas what to use attic conversion for

• 13-01-2011 1:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭

:(. ok got attic converted complete with shower and bathroom ( small ). To cut a long story short , got it done for my daughter as she wanted to go to collage and needed to come back home. Now she's going to a different place , so i have a room with a view:o. What to do with it now though, any ideas..thanks

otherwise my hoarder hubby will soon fill it up with junk that's needed..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

porn stash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Sex den

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Sex den

Ffs I was just about to type that.....spoilsport :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Trying to go one better than Josef Fritzl?

I'd know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Put in massive skylights so the room is well lit in the evenings, then get yourself a big telly and a crate of beer to relax. Oh and one of those lazyboy chairs, personally this is my dream retirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Hide some Jews

Spare guest bedroom? Entertainment room... set up tv/dvd/speakers and a few bean bags etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Basement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

I don't care about your attic, anne frankly I don't care about you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Are you looking for someone to rent it? How much would you want a month?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Leave it entirely empty. Just put a big red button on a stand in the middle of it. Itll freak the shit out of any visitors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

jimthemental said it right, and a pool table if space permits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭dollyk

Put in massive skylights so the room is well lit in the evenings, then get yourself a big telly and a crate of beer to relax. Oh and one of those lazyboy chairs, personally this is my dream retirement.
    ;) We have 3 in it lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Keep your daughters collages in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

Entertainment room. Flat screen tv. Surround sound. Popcorn machine. Mini fridge. Awesome couch of some sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

dollyk wrote: »
    :(. ok got attic converted complete with shower and bathroom ( small ). To cut a long story short , got it done for my daughter as she wanted to go to collage and needed to come back home. Now she's going to a different place , so i have a room with a view:o. What to do with it now though, any ideas..thanks

Your daughter could use it as a studio, where she can glue bits of photos and magazine clippings to the walls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

grow some weeeeed , maaaan

Are you looking for someone to rent it? How much would you want a month?
    was thinking of renting to students in the summer, but dont like the idea of strange people in my house :eek:

bonerm wrote: »
    Keep your daughters collages in it.
    :D ha ha need to go back to school myself so.

God took me a few mins to cop on to this .tut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

1. Start up a B&B
    2. Drill holes in the floor of the attic room
    3. Install spy cameras
    4. ??? Start up a website offering streamed content @ €10 p/h
    5. Profit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

keep a famous novelist you rescued from a car crash in a blizzard up there

you could be his "number one fan"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

:D ha ha need to go back to school myself so.

If you do well there, you can then go on to collage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

1. take up darts
    2. Keep exotic animals / snakes
    3. Get a sexy lodger
    4. Start collecting antiques
    5. Put a large trainset up there
    6. Get two sexy lodgers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭mariaf24

You could turn it into an office. If your work or life does not require an office then you could turn it into an office anyway, to make yourself look and feel important.

mariaf24 wrote: »
    You could turn it into an office. If your work or life does not require an office then you could turn it into an office anyway, to make yourself look and feel important.

You could also lure a homeless person in off the street, lock em in the office, and they could be your secretary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Turn it into a safe room. That way you'll be prepared for the upcoming zombie apocalypse.

mariaf24 wrote: »

I think i will do this. :rolleyes:Hmm like the feeling important bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

-Home astronomy
    -Pool room
    -Cinema room
    -Reading room
    -Guest bedroom
    -The when I had a fight with the missus and pretend to go to a hotel to allow things to cool off, but really am thinking "that bitch be cheatin'" so am hiding in a chance to catch her in the act after which I will kill them both and put them up in the attic then burn the attic down hoping the rest of the house doesn't catch fire thus limiting the damage to the useless room (now that you don't need to spy on the devil whore any more) while destroying the evidence, room
    -Party room
    -Sex room
    etc.

One of those normal everyday uses I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Indoor "garden"... all you need is UV lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Absurdum wrote: »
    grow some weeeeed , maaaan
    Don't even think of doing this unless you fit heat resistant mylar. :p

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1346193/Police-raid-cannabis-factory-discover-home-guinea-pigs-Simon-Kenny.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,182 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Get loads of leather bound books and clad it in rich mahogany.

That way you can tell everyone you have an apartment with many leather bound books and smells of rich mahogany.

You could even smoke cigars up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

make a gym, a sexy gym!

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    make a gym, a sexy gym!

would that not cost a fortune ?:confused:

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Sex den

Damnit. I was going to say sex den :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

would that not cost a fortune ?:confused:

All you need is a big inflatable
    mattress
    and a red light bulb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

Make it a gentlemans club.
    Install a bar, small fridge and icemaker, have a "smoking lounge", some books (or very good wallpaper that looks like books), one of those fake gas fireplaces, a couple of grand chairs, some old framed maps on the walls, etc.

When your friends are around and the mrs is annoying you, just say "I think us gentlemen should retire to my study" or whatever.
    Brandy, whiskey, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭El Nino09

Flowers !!! Then you have a book ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Elbow

Hire 1 or 2 high class whores.
    Charge them rent for the attic space
    Take 50% of their earnings

Start a new webcam site called "craic in the attic"

Before you know it you'll be Madam DollyK & rich rich rich :D

El Nino09 wrote: »
    Flowers !!! Then you have a book ;)

:eek: do you mean i should lock my grandchildren up ??

biko wrote: »
    All you need is a big inflatable
    mattress
    and a red light bulb.

ok so what is a spoiler ?:confused: sorry im oldish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Inverse Fritzl!