Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you a begrudger?

• 12-01-2011 10:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭

Apparently begrudgery is rampant in Irish society but if you ask the local commoner about it they deny that they are spiteful and only wish well on others -

So boardsies are you a begrudger?

A few examples, how would you feel about:

-You have a crap job and your friend just got a new well paid job.
    -Your neighbour buys a new 2011 car
    -Your friend gets a new good looking and really cool BF/GF
    -Your friend lost loads a weight

well examples are endless so post some examples of your begrudgery or if you arent a begrudger at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

fkuk you

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

bank workers got bonuses i didnt, complain til the government is forced to stop them.

few about alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

In everyday life I wouldn't be a begrudger whatsoever. If someone gets a new car/job/bf it flies over my head and I couldn't give two shíts what they do with their life.

On hte other hand, once you are Irish and on my TV/Radio/Paper for anything successful, I see nothing but your flaws and hate your guts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I don't really care enough to begrudge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

When something great happens to someone I like, I'm honestly happy for them....

When something great happens to someone I dislike....I can get the auld begrudging head on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

It depends. If its someone that I like, then I'm happy for them. If its someone that I dislike, then I'm not happy for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

yeahimhere wrote: »
    When something great happens to someone I like, I'm honestly happy for them....

When something great happens to someone I dislike....I can get the auld begrudging head on.
    Hive mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Meh... Irish people begrudge themselves. They/we are not happy unless we are putting ourselves and someone else down.

I'm sick of people complaining about our country. Sure it has some flaws but compared to most countries (yes I said most!!), we have it great. I for one am glad I live here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

I wasn't but then I saw how magnanimous you all are. W*nkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

bank workers got bonuses i didnt, complain til the government is forced to stop them.

few about alright

You weren't privy to the whole 'taxpayers being forced to bail-out the banks' thing? No?
    And you consider it 'begrudgery' that bankers paying themselves bonuses didn't sit well with many people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

I'm definitley not. I'm happy enough with myself. Good looking, witty and independent. Eff all y'all

You mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Apparently begrudgery is rampant in Irish society but if you ask the local commoner about it they deny that they are spiteful and only wish well on others -

well examples are endless so post some examples of your begrudgery or if you arent a begrudger at all!

Oooooh look at you and your 800+ posts.

I suppose you think you're great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I'm not a begrudger no and I can't stand some people trying to drag others down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Begrudgery, the slap in the face after the compliment....:p
    He deserves it, lets see how long he keeps this one!
    Isn't it gorgeous, really suites 'em, the colour is very ghey!
    Awww the best of luck to them, word must have gotten out about the win he had on the local lotto!
    Doesn't he look great, he's falling away to an elephant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

No i wouldn't say im a begrudger. I just have an instant dislike for someone who is more successful than me. Regardless of how genuine or decent that person is or how worthy they are of their success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

In recent times here, the phrase appears to be tactically deployed to discredit people who don't like the same Irish celebrities or otherwise wealthy/famous Irish people as you.

So you can't actually think Michael O'Leary is a tit - it's actually due to a deep-seated inferiority complex because he's wealthy and successful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

At the tender age of 22, I already have come across a hell of a lot of begrudgery, and am ashamed to say that I have begrudged before. It's built into me, but I'm trying to stop.

The first thing most Irish people do when they see a successful person is to look for a flaw. I mean, if I had a euro for every time I've been told that a professional rugby player is an a*sehole by someone who knows someone who knows said player, I'd have enough money to leave this town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Feckin' begrudgers, they think they're so big with their airs and their graces, not regular, standard, God-fearing airs and graces but big old fancy airs and graces. Feckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Yes -- I await with baited breath for all those well to do people to f*ck me.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I had never heard of "Irish begrudgery" until I started posting on Boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

It's the person who want's everything but begrudges anybody , anything that you really want to fall on their arse ,were talking begrudgers right ? :pac:

In the unlikly event I should win the Lotto I wouldn't want to many people to know , or preferably nobody at all .That way I get to discreetly give to those deserving , while preserving my sanity and keeping my life intact .;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

No i wouldn't say im a begrudger. I just have an instant dislike for someone who is more successful than me. Regardless of how genuine or decent that person is or how worthy they are of their success.

No no, that's begrudgery exactly.

In answer to the OP, I'm always delighted to see friends or even friends of friends do well, though it's never really nice to see a complete D*ck head getting a run of luck you know they don't deserve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

It's a lazy cliche, that whole 'ah yis are all a pack of begrudgers' guff.

Oft spouted by Hiberno-clones who remain in situ after concerts to sing 'ole, ole,' etc.

Rant over.:)

It's a lazy cliche, that whole 'ah yis are all a pack of bedgrudgers' guff.

Oft spouted by Hiberno-clones who remain in situ after concerts to sing 'ole, ole,' etc.

Rant over.:)

What's a Hiberno-clone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

RichieC wrote: »
    What's a Hiberno-clone?

People who think, just 'cos I'm Irish, I'd be happy to talk Man Utd when we cross paths on holiday.

OK, it's pure begrudgery, I've been outed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Op i have to say out of your list, the one i find in my opinion most people begrudge the most is:

with:
    coming a close second,

people seem to care so much about things other people get, rather then worrying about their own, so what if your neighbour has a new car, who cares how they got it, what has that got to do with you? unless of course they use it to run you over....

don't be a begrudger people! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Saruman wrote: »
    Meh... Irish people begrudge themselves. They/we are not happy unless we are putting ourselves and someone else down.
    I'm sick of people complaining about our country.

Depends on what the definition of a begrudger is. If I had to define one, I would say someone who is resentful of anyone who has done well for themselves in any shape or form (small stuff included) even if the person in question is a good, deserving person.
    I don't think there are many with that kind of attitude and I do agree with others here that the word can get thrown out lazily - for example, even if someone expresses their dislike of a particular band, "begrudger" gets trotted out, or "What songs have you ever written?" etc. On that basis, nobody should therefore be allowed have a negative opinion on anything ever.
    Also, if a really successful person is a prick, their admirers can accuse their detractors of being begrudgers, yet if the person in question is a prick, they're a prick, success or no success.
    And I don't think there's anything inherently flawed about thinking a person who is e.g. horrible to others at work and sails up the career ladder isn't deserving of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

well examples are endless so post some examples of your begrudgery or if you arent a begrudger at all, but he insulted me and my family once! so there are no gates holding me from posting this!

Well hear me out..
    I have a friend who makes plus 90 grand a year... he is gay, he paid two guys 50 euro each on a night to see their cocks!
    he's an arrogant prick who thinks hes better than most people around him...
    I dont begrudge him, but I wish I had his money... I come from a nice lookin family and he doesnt!
    Some people have one thing and not another!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Iguana Bob

Latchy wrote: »
    It's the person who want's everything but begrudges anybody , anything that you really want to fall on their arse ,were talking begrudgers right ? :pac:

In the unlikly event I should win the Lotto I wouldn't want to many people to know , or preferably nobody at all .That way I get to discreetly give to those deserving , while preserving my sanity and keeping my life intact .;)

id want everyone to know so i could lord it over then and make them do demeaning things for money
    i inspire begrudgery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭LukeS_

I'd be more jealous than anything else I think...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

It depends on the person.

If my neighbours are really nice people, good neighbours, good hard working people who work hard to earn what they have then I wish them the best having a new 2011 car, big tv, foreign holidays, whatever. If they earn it I say fair play.
    We'd all probably be a little jealous if we cant afford the same but I won't begrudge it.

If however my neighbour somehow has a new car, foreign holidays, iphones, new laptops, the works and you know for a fact they have hardly worked in the last 5 years then we all know they can't actually afford such stuff and you have to wonder where this money is coming from, (neighbour 1's taxes perhaps?). Same if they are not nice people, treat others badly, lie, steal, cheat, whatever.
    Then yes, I'd very much begrudge them. My style is to be honest and work for everything you have and if you do, you deserve it. If not then I don't see why I should feel happy for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

LukeS_ wrote: »
    I'd be more jealous than anything else I think...

but why?

you have nothing to be jealous over, the same items are available to you if you want them....

i worked damn hard for everything i have, and its paid off with the things i have, why would i be jealous because someone has a bigger car then me?

i bought the car i wanted and you have the same choices available to you if you work hard enough for them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I'm definitley not. I'm happy enough with myself. Good looking, witty and independent. Eff all y'all

You mad?

/begrudgery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Saadyst

Since I moved to Ireland (from Scotland), I've learned what begrudgery really is. You guys have taken it to an art form in this country. No-one escapes. Everyone is guilty of something, and their entire life is worthless if they make a single tiny mistake that someone finds out about.

But I suppose people who don't begrudge won't have anything to really say about someone else, so it's mostly the whinging you hear!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

stovelid wrote: »
    In recent times here, the phrase appears to be tactically deployed to discredit people who don't like the same Irish celebrities or otherwise wealthy/famous Irish people as you.

So you can't actually think Michael O'Leary is a tit - it's actually due to a deep-seated inferiority complex because he's wealthy and successful.
    Pet hate of mine too. I don't hate Jedward because I'm a begrudger, I hate them because they're ****.

But there is a solution:

Invoke the recently devised Fiachra's Law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

stovelid wrote: »

what if you met Micheal O' Leary casually and had no idea who he was? if after meeting him you came away with a negative impression of him( assuming during the conversation there was no mention of his wealth or what he did) it's hardly fair to say that the negative opinion of him is due to begrudgery. in other words it's possible to dislike people for who they are irrespective of their level of income. although you are probably right for most people who dislike him it's not his personality that is the problem

Hope you kept the receipt for that sarcasm detector, mate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

As I said, I won't begrudge anyone anything they WORKED for can get afford within their means.

If my tax money and other peoples misfortune is the ONLY reason other people who's live's are sitting on their backside then yeah, I think it's fair to say they don't deserve it.

Maybe begrudgery is high in Ireland due to do much of the above stuff going on. You see people who don't even work fulltime jobs walking around with iPhones and the most expensive laptops and stuff, heck, stuff I can hardly afford working 60hrs a week.

Maybe the rest of us are the silly one's for being honest hard working people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Hope you kept the receipt for that sarcasm detector, mate.

Yes pace2008. I offer no excuses, such as it's hard to idenitfy sacrasm online- that's just an excuse people use to make themselves feel better for not spotting when someone is being sarcastic, I should have spotted he was being sarcastic.
    There is no way back from this I fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Copper23 wrote: »
    Maybe the rest of us are the silly one's for being honest hard working people.

Got it in one there, champ. Welcome to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I begrudge people that put in very little work but seem to do well enough.

Really bloody irritates me.

If someone has put the work in though, fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭benj

i like to see people doing well for themselves and its nice to se people trading up to a bigger house/car etc :)
    BUT its a different story when i see a dirty lowlife scumbag asshole driving a new car when everyone knows he robbed his neighbours money or sold drugs etc.....then my blood boils :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭figarofigaro

Jesus was perfect. He only had 12 friends and one of them was a hater.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭lawhec

Begrudger is a state that exists in everyone at different levels. A bit like happy and sad. We often wonder how some people achieve certain goals or success and wonder why we can't do them or aren't capable of doing so but they can. I think the problem in Ireland regarding it is that Irish society in general is too cynical to play the "glad game" and as a result is more willing to wear non-positive thoughts on their sleeves, probably goes along with the cute hoor mentality. There is at least a degree of honesty and being upfront in that even if it can be quite brutal at times. But the actual level of begrudgery in Ireland I think is overstated. I find that most Irish people are happy for those who have done well for themselves in an honest fashion. Maybe the scepticism is a bit too much at times and I think people confuse that with begrudging.

Yes pace2008. I offer no excuses, such as it's hard to idenitfy sacrasm online- that's just an excuse people use to make themselves feel better for not spotting when someone is being sarcastic, I should have spotted he was being sarcastic.
    There is no way back from this I fear.
    It happens to the best of us, but in fairness, I though the preceding sentence was a bit of a a giveaway:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

Yeah, I am. Like others have said if something good happens to people I like then I'm happy for them. If it's someone I don't like then I will begrudge them.