Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is she interested or not

• 12-01-2011 6:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,223 ✭✭✭

hello people,

i jus signed up there this evening and want to throw this little story out to ye to see what ye think.... not sure if this is the right forum but i'll drive on anyway

a month ago a girl came along chatting to me in a bar... then disappeared again half an hour later.. i thought no more of it... a couple of days later i log onto facebook and she has looked me up and left a message explaining her disappearance.. a week later i replied saying that there was no hard feelings... again i thought no more of it... she replied back giving me her number and telling me to get in touch... i leave it a couple of days and i get in touch... we went for dinner, drinks and ended up in a well known niteclub in dublin... i stayed at hers that nite... grand job..

i go home for xmas we text and chat a bit on the phone... she invited me to a family wedding new years eve.. i couldnt go as i was somewhere else for new years.. we went to an event on the sunday evening where i met her brothers and sisters.. good night too... she stayed with me that night and the following day we spent it with each other... she brought me out to her local pub for a while...

i tip back home we chat on the phone and text (max 1 maybe 2 texts per day) she couldnt add me as a friend on facebook so i added her and she tags a photo of me with her....

i came bac from home sun night and its a bit of a spin so she rang me and we chatted away to pass the drive.. grand job again... only that she tels me she prob wont be able to see me this week as shes fierce busy....

i had been first to text her most days so monday i let her be the first! and she did text late that night and rang me shortly after... i hadnt the phone on me so i missed both...

yesterday i suggest the cinema... and well i got the working late and tired excuse.... she asked what was i doing friday night.... i told her i was around.... asked what had she in mind.....

havent heard from her since.....................................

to be honest i think shes bored and has had enough of me.. i know myself i've given in too easy to what she wants to do.... id say its curtains.... not too bothered either but im just wondering what ye guys think.....

story is long winded... wanted to include as much as possible..

if ye have any suggestions to keep the show on the road let me know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

I can't give you definitive advice, but I can tell you what I would do. (I'm assuming you're into her and not just trying to get a few more nights with her. If you are then I can't help ya. Not that I'm judging, I'm just sh*te at that kinda thing.)

I'd ring her up and say look, you're a nice girl, but I want you to know I don't want to play games, so either we're on or we're off. I wouldn't make it sound like you want to see her all the time or anything, I wouldn't say I want to be exclusive, but let her know that I like to keep things clear, and I want to see her and want to know for definite she wants to see me. And by see I mean take it as it comes, casually go out for a bit to see if there's anything there, but no messing around playing games.

If she's vague and shirks the question, that would be that, generally I have no time for time people who are wishy washy. In my eyes, she'd be a time waster, plenty of fish in the barrell.

But there's a 50:50 chance she's gonna say she's not interested or be vague in her answer, so it's up to you whether you want to take that risk. That's why I wouldn't say this is advice, more just how I would handle it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,223 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

thanks for your reply trog....

guys bit disappointed that there has over 300 views and only one reply...

surely a few would like to offer an opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭canonball5

hello people,

to be honest i think shes bored and has had enough of me.. i know myself i've given in too easy to what she wants to do.... id say its curtains.... not too bothered either but im just wondering what ye guys think.....

U either like her enough to chase her or u don't.It sounds to me that she is into u,so u are the only one who can make the decision.U seem to have spent a lot of time together and maybe she is not look for anything serious.Just might only be looking for a bit of fun:D.Hope it goes well and keep us updated!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭smileyscientist

hello people,

i jus signed up there this evening and want to throw this little story out to ye to see what ye think.... not sure if this is the right forum but i'll drive on anyway

a month ago a girl came along chatting to me in a bar... then disappeared again half an hour later.. i thought no more of it... a couple of days later i log onto facebook and she has looked me up and left a message explaining her disappearance.. a week later i replied saying that there was no hard feelings... again i thought no more of it... she replied back giving me her number and telling me to get in touch... i leave it a couple of days and i get in touch... we went for dinner, drinks and ended up in a well known niteclub in dublin... i stayed at hers that nite... grand job..

i go home for xmas we text and chat a bit on the phone... she invited me to a family wedding new years eve.. i couldnt go as i was somewhere else for new years.. we went to an event on the sunday evening where i met her brothers and sisters.. good night too... she stayed with me that night and the following day we spent it with each other... she brought me out to her local pub for a while...

i tip back home we chat on the phone and text (max 1 maybe 2 texts per day) she couldnt add me as a friend on facebook so i added her and she tags a photo of me with her....

i came bac from home sun night and its a bit of a spin so she rang me and we chatted away to pass the drive.. grand job again... only that she tels me she prob wont be able to see me this week as shes fierce busy....

i had been first to text her most days so monday i let her be the first! and she did text late that night and rang me shortly after... i hadnt the phone on me so i missed both...

yesterday i suggest the cinema... and well i got the working late and tired excuse.... she asked what was i doing friday night.... i told her i was around.... asked what had she in mind.....

Hmmm... this a turnup for the books! Its usually women that come on with this prob!!!!
    This is from a ladies prespective:
    Ye both seem into each other but maybe you should take it at face value- that she is very busy at work and cant fit anything else in at the min. If the dates went as well as you say you have no reason to expect anything else. However she could have been after snaring you:p or couldhave bumped into someone else. How long since you heard from her??

I would veer away from the advice suggesting ringing her up and asking are ye exclusive. Red flag if shes having doubt. It will have her running a mile:eek:

Just sent her a friendly txt/ or call and ask her how her work is and if she has any free time coming up because you'd like to do x y or z together. If she replies with a positive answer yr laughing and if not well at least you tried and now you know the story. No harm done- Next Please!:cool:

Let us know how you fare:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭blackbird98

or maybe she just want to take it one step at a time.....maybe she thought it was moving too fast.

add this to the fact that she is busy in work.....I wouldn't write it off just yet.

If you like the girl then stick it out for a while, she could be genuine.

If she didn't like you, she'd have just finished with you. Realistically, you weren't together long enough for you to be emotionally attached, so it would have been easy for her to finish with you

Well folks,

No reply came tues evening.. I text her again on wed as she had said she was headin somewhere that day and I had text her to let me know she arrived safe… and there was no reply so that evening I rang her (bad bad idea) and i got a little bit thick with her for not replying… and she got thick with me.. at the end of it I just told her that if she wanted to see me again to text me otherwise not to bother….

Ten mins later she text me that she was around if I wanted to head to the cinema or something….. I declined as I was somewhere else that night…

To my surprise she rang me last night and we chatted for a bit…. We’re supposed to meet up tonight…. We’ll see…..

I couldn’t be arsed anymore so im enjoying the craic of it… and I have a plan B and C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭canonball5

Well folks,

No reply came tues evening.. I text her again on wed as she had said she was headin somewhere that day and I had text her to let me know she arrived safe… and there was no reply so that evening I rang her (bad bad idea) and i got a little bit thick with her for not replying… and she got thick with me.. at the end of it I just told her that if she wanted to see me again to text me otherwise not to bother….

Ten mins later she text me that she was around if I wanted to head to the cinema or something….. I declined as I was somewhere else that night…

To my surprise she rang me last night and we chatted for a bit…. We’re supposed to meet up tonight…. We’ll see…..

I couldn’t be arsed anymore so im enjoying the craic of it… and I have a plan B and C

Well dude,maybe ur better off with ur plan B,C,D.That girls sounds very nice and u seem to think ur a bit of a player.I'm sure she will see this soon enough though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭flikflak

You have known this person one month and they are inviting you to family weddings and taking you to meet their family?

It all sounds a bit frantic to me. 4 weeks in and all this drama has happened.

People have their own plans and lives and after knowing them for 4 weeks you decide that after not replying to 2 texts that you are going onto girl B and girl C.

Hmmm chill out and let things happen naturally and not be worrying if someone does not text you back. You should be getting on with your own life not hanging on for a reply.

4 weeks - I have had mould I have known longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

hello people,

If I was her I 'd think you're not too bothered.

1.She did the running in the beginning, which might make her think that you wouldn't have bothered with her if she hadn't chatted you up first!
    2.You then took a week to reply to her facebook message.
    3.You didn't reply to her text or phone call on that Monday when you didn't text first.
    4.You asked her to go to the cinema after she had told you that she's extremely busy this week.
    5.She then asked what you're doing Friday, you replied saying that you're 'around'. Very vague and non commital.

If the above 5 things happened to me, I'd take it as a sign that the guy 'is just not that into me'. I'd cut my losses and forget about him rather than chase him like a desperate bunny boiler. This may be the case here with the girl you're seeing.

not a player... just happened that way thats all...

ringing her was a bad bad bad idea.... prob after turning her off...

im not gonna get worked up over it whatever way it goes

thanks to everyone for the bits of advice

appreciated

awaywithyou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Well folks,

Ok so it's obvious from this post that you enjoy having this girl running after you. Fair enough, but be well aware of a few possible scenarios

1. You really like her, you're thick because she didn't text you back and now you're teaching her a lesson. She'll see through it and drop you like a hot potato.
    2. She likes you now because you're playing games with her. A person who likes game playing is usually a person with self esteem issues. You'll end up having to get a restraining order because she'll think you're playing hard to get when you tell her you're breaking up with her.
    3. The both of you really like each other, you're both game players so you'll wreck each other's heads - in essence, you deserve each other!

Maybe you'll sort it out with this girl, but that won't happen til you stop the game playing.