Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Radio hoax in the US: Do you recognise this Irishman?

• 11-01-2011 5:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭

Does anybody recognise this accent? (go to 1.08.33). The name of the guy is apparently Barry and his partner, who was behind the phone prank, is named Geraldine.

Olan McGowan on Mooney this afternoon played it and it's taken from a radio show in the US when the radio host put on an Indian accent, pretended to be a government official, and interrogated the Irish guy about his relationship status. He has a north Leinster/south Ulster accent.

It was very, well, interesting (ahem). I wouldn't say he gets many invites to racial equality meetings!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm not sure but I think it's Barry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

'real player required'

bollix to that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

To watch this clip you must have Real Player installed on your computer.

how bout no

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

My PC crashed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

That's years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Yeah that's ancient!

I don't think racist Barry will be in a rush to out himself publicly either :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭carolmon

why are you all against Barry.......his child was called a bastard!!! would wind any parent up!!
    Can't understand his partner agreeing to this tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭MightyMighty737

That's ancient. Hilarious though!

It's Elvis Duran and the Morning Zoo on z100 in New York. The phone taps used to be available on iTunes, dunno if they atill are though as mine hasn't updated in ages.

Seriously? Real player? I mean does anyone actually even use that anymore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭AntiMatter

Sounds like a Cavan town accent.

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Seriously? Real player? I mean does anyone actually even use that anymore?

Feckin RTE still use it.

It should have gone the way of blink tags and shockwave player

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

That's been about a while, hilarious all the same.

He's from Cavan town...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

RTE up to date as usual I see...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

What a wank3r.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭CrinkElite

sink wrote: »
    'real player required'

bollix to that!

Have you tried the real alternative?

http://www.free-codecs.com/real_alternative_download.htm

does the job but unfortunately, the version I have installed doesn't appear to let you skip ahead. :confused:

Much better than that other steaming pile of excrement though!