Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Effects of Sauna or Steam Room After a hard exercise session ?

• 11-01-2011 5:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭

hi , just want to know if this has happened to any of ye guy out there ? Yesterday straight after bout 7km interval session i went into the shauna , i would have left a few minutes earlier but someone started tellin me a story , when i eventually got out , i felt so nauseous , i had to go and sit down for bout 10 min till i overcame it , this has happened me before but not quite as bad as yesterday .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Seres wrote: »
    hi , just want to know if this has happened to any of ye guy out there ? Yesterday straight after bout 7km interval session i went into the shauna , i would have left a few minutes earlier but someone started tellin me a story , when i eventually got out , i felt so nauseous , i had to go and sit down for bout 10 min till i overcame it , this has happened me before but not quite as bad as yesterday .

Did you hydrate? was possibly down to dehydration after your interval session. Always advised to get a bit of carbs and protein into you in the first half hour to hour after high intensity training as well as some water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Only guessing but your core body temp would have been elevated from your intervals and also you were more than likely slightly dehydrated. The heat in the Sauna would have increased both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

ive never experienced been nauseous while dehydrated ,is this one of the symptoms ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

no but i did once go into the jacuzzi after a long/hard swim and immediately went into cramp in both legs! Couldnt move, just sat there in agony lol

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Shauna in the sauna?

Bambaata wrote: »
    no but i did once go into the jacuzzi after a long/hard swim and immediately went into cramp in both legs! Couldnt move, just sat there in agony lol

never get to go in the jacuzzi , usually hogged by gym goes who like to spend most of the time boiling themselves in it .

robinph wrote: »
    Shauna in the sauna?
    thanks robinph , :o , please no dirty thoughts !

ive never experienced been nauseous while dehydrated ,is this one of the symptoms ?

Nausea is quite common side effect of mild dehydration doesnt always occur but can in some cases

ecoli wrote: »
    Nausea is quite common side effect of mild dehydration doesnt always occur but can in some cases
    thanks will bear that in mind for tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

I've had this happen a load of times, nothing to worry about. It even says on the list of instructions outside the sauna in my gym: Do not use sauna directly after intense exercise.
    So many times I've stayed in there way too long listening to the old boys tell stories. I'd come out and be light headed, feel a little ill, but it passes fairly soon. There was some feckin' eejit who stayed in it for 45minutes straight one time, he collapsed and they had to get an ambulance for him. No laughing matter, maybe, but if you knew the bloke in question you'd crack up. He's a donkey.

tunguska wrote: »
    I've had this happen a load of times, nothing to worry about. It even says on the list of instructions outside the sauna in my gym: Do not use sauna directly after intense exercise.
    So many times I've stayed in there way too long listening to the old boys tell stories. I'd come out and be light headed, feel a little ill, but it passes fairly soon. There was some feckin' eejit who stayed in it for 45minutes straight one time, he collapsed and they had to get an ambulance for him. No laughing matter, maybe, but if you knew the bloke in question you'd crack up. He's a donkey.

This piece will make that man in question seem like a genius:

http://en.terra.com/latin-in-america/news/man_dies_in_sauna_competition/hof10959

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

Does the sauna not inhibit recovery after intensive exercise, hopping into a cold river would be better for the legs.

i always thought the steam room would be harder to stick out than the sauna but i was way more rattle after 10min in the sauna than ive ever been in the steam room

i always thought the steam room would be harder to stick out than the sauna but i was way more rattled after 10min in the sauna than ive ever been in the steam room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

I doubt you were dehydrated after 7k, unless you were at the start. Probably would take more than 10minutes to recover to.

My theory- you're hot going in, body is trying to cool down already and is suddenly in a hot environment. Maybe the story teller had whacked a load of water on the coals so you can't sweat very well. So the blood vessels in the skin dilate up to cool the body down, Blood pressure drops and you feel sick and maybe lightheaded.

Once you leave, the body can cool down quickly and everything gets back to normal.

Either way I hope you kept to sauna etiquette and heaped a litre of water on the heater just before you left! I usually say "that'll heat you up lads" as I do it on the way out.

thanks mrcreosote , was lookin for an explanation like that , ya did feel light headed too , and my heart was racing , it was like i was goin to faint , think i will stick to the steam room , def more managable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Im probably stating the obvious but it has'nt been brought up yet........

Its very important to bring a large bottle of water into the sauna....while in sauna drink regularly ....Also before going in decide how long u wish to stay in..... lets say for example 10 mins..If ur feeling uncomfortable at any time u can (a) leave altogether or (b) leave, have a cold shower and return for the remaining few mins...Staying hydrated is of the utmost importance..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Pablo_

that happens to me good few times, but I put it down to my own mistake, going in hot, blood pumping and then baking yourself in 70 C or whatever the temp is in there.

I always put it down to the blood expanding, not just dehydration. only so much the body can take....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

:cool: Ahem!, people tend to sweat in saunas, so if you have already lost sweat throught strenous exercise, then losing more sweat may tend to do what ? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Everyone gets so hung up on dehydration.

Do you really think that you'll get that dehydrated that you'll nearly pass out after a 7km run and a few minutes in the sauna? And then miraculously improve in 10 minutes after leaving it? That level of dehydration would take hours to replace.

When jockeys look to lose 2-3kg they'll be in the sauna for up to 2 hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Just occured to me, maybe it was what he was talking about that caused the nausea :D