Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fuertenventura

• 11-01-2011 1:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭

Hey all,
    Going to fuertenventura on Saturday, wondering if any ones been there before and if so I've a few questions:
    Is it cheap to get to corralego from the airport, didnt get transfers and just booked flight and accomodation.
    Whats the price of drinks,food, etc?
    What are the best pubs, restraunts, etc
    Any replies would be most welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭dabestman1

its about 3 euro a pint, that was 2 years ago, maybe some1 else has been there been more recently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭maximalistic

I was there over Christmas in Corralejo. Whereabouts are you going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

I was there over Christmas in Corralejo. Whereabouts are you going?
    Oasis Dunas in Corralejo, any good there... what the price of a pint there?
    any good pubs, restraunts, etc???
    leaving 2 morrow, so replies would be great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭black & white

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056145103

Pints are cheap, think between 2 and 3 Euro in most places. As my post in the attached links says, I strongly advise hiring a car. It's a beautiful island and is well worth driving to El Cotillo in the north west and Costa Calma/Jandia in the south. Sotovento ( sp?) near Costa Calma is worth a trip on it's own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Blizzard

I completely agree with black & white - hire a car. We used autoreisen (do a google search). It's much cheaper to rent from the airport than to pay for transfers to/from Corralejo only to find that you'd like a car to get to the beach/beautiful sand dunes nearby and is much easier/quicker than walking or by taxi. If you rent a car for 2/3 days in Corralejo you'll pay almost the same as renting for the week. Oh, and the drive from the airport to Corralejo is pretty straight-forward and you should get there in 40 minutes. Nice drive by the coast for most of it.

El Cotillo is worth a visit to their beach and for lunch, and I would try to do the other towns black & white mentioned when we visit again in the future. We also visited Caleta de Fuste but after going there we were quite happy that we were staying in Corralejo as we didn't find much there really. We were also travelling with young children which is why we didn't venture too far but the car was so worth it for getting to/from the beach. It is a very easy drive (straight run really) from the airport in about 40 minutes.

Restaurants we ate at and liked are:
    Poco Loco for chargrilled steaks and chicken fillets. Loved the prawns in garlic starter. (Located as you walk down main street towards harbour area.) Some reviews give this place bad comments but I can only say that on the couple of trips we've made to Corralejo and the few times we've eaten at this restaurant it was very good every time.
    La Fragata is another good one that offers really good 'dinner for two with a bottle of wine' deals. This one might be harder to find, but it's passed the harbour area restaurants, around a corner - overlooking the harbour also. If you ask someone you should find it or keep wandering around.

For more info that you might find helpful on Corralejo check tripadvisor. Here's a link http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurants-g580322-Corralejo_Fuerteventura_Canary_Islands.html

The waterpark is also nice for a day, expensive from what I remember though and it's conveniently located in Corralejo.

Have a great time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭maximalistic

Ah Oasis Dunas, my brother stayed there before, quite nice apparently... Well Corralejo is comparatively small compared to Puerto Del Carmen in Lanzarote for instance. We got a private bus up from the airport we just walked to a load of buses to the right when we came out of the airport, ended up paying a tenner a head which is grand, cant remember the name of the company to anything though.

Like the lads said pints can range from 2 to 3 euro, the spanish beer Tropical is sold on tap in alot of places for 2 euro and is actually quite nice.Theres one bar in particular I remember called "Weirdos" off music square that had dirt cheap drink, although it always full of english expats but decent enough craic. If you like live music Cafe Rock is really good, granted pints are at the 3.70 but considering theres no cover charge I didn't mind because the band were really good. The nightclubs aren't great, the centro comerical has two but imo they were horrible, Wakiki which is off the main strip is quite good though.

The food is quite good over there I'd highly recommend the Steakhouse (the second on the left) in music square, the food there was excellent and we went back twice. If you want an Indian, there's Jaipur off a side street on the top of the main strip, be wary that you don't go into Amber next door, its also an Indian but I've heard less than favorable reports about the place. Well I hope ya have a nice trip!