Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gig posters...

• 10-01-2011 9:26pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Guys I'm doing a course in graphic design and I have a project to do for next week. We can do any form of poster for print or web - makes sense for me to do a gig photo. I need a few idea of good gig posters that I can use for ideas etc. It's using photoshop, we have not got to the Illustrator big yet, so its more jpg graphics not vectors etc.

Can anyone post any cool gig posters or point me to where I can find a few?

And is anyone here any good with photoshop? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭dubsbhoy

I've done these and been hired for a few more down the road.........if you like them i'd love to help, if not you can fuk off :D

You can't see it but i've used over 30 images in this
    update.jpg

Shouldn't be posting this one yet let me know when you have seeing it so i can delete
    March_Vaults_plain_box.jpg

rushflyer.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭dubsbhoy

i learned 90% of photo shopping from this guy http://www.tutvid.com/

He has a youtube channel too

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Sweet thanks dude

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

This one is pretty cool...

5doc-poster.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

These are full of design yumminess:

http://flyergoodness.blogspot.com/

http://www.smashingmagazine.com/

http://www.smashingmagazine.com/search-results/?q=Posters&submit=&client=pub-6779860845561969&forid=1&channel=3942503296&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&safe=active&flav=0000&sig=ZKMPj-qL6g57hzX6&cof=LH%3A50%3BLW%3A138%3BL%3Ahttp%3A%2F%2Fmedia.smashingmagazine.com%2Fcdn_smash%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2Fimages%2Flogo%2Flogo.gif%3BS%3Ahttp%3A%2F%2Fwww.smashingmagazine.com%3BFORID%3A11&hl=en&sitesearch=&sitesearch=www.smashingmagazine.com

Just remember to prioritise your information - Have a clear hierarchy of information: Name, venue, date, etc.

Make sure that the information doesn't look too crowd, make sure that the eye can move about the poster without being overpowered. Don't do effects for the sake of doing efects.

Have fun with it.

Actually, that was a google image search for the term 'cool gig posters' - some genuinely good stuff there too...

http://www.google.ie/images?hl=en&source=imghp&biw=1375&bih=827&q=cool+gig+posters&gbv=2&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Diego Smartly

Always like the ones Test do:
    Test_SAND_Nov.jpg

Test_RED_Sept.jpg

Test_DMay.jpg

I'm a big fan of subtlety, less is definitely more.

Always like the ones Test do:
    Test_SAND_Nov.jpg

Test_RED_Sept.jpg

Test_DMay.jpg

I'm a big fan of subtlety, less is definitely more.

They are really lovely posters. IS there are a website link to these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Diego Smartly

They are really lovely posters. IS there are a website link to these?

Don't think they've a website for the night/promotion. I know they have a Techno related blog though: http://www.testindustries.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Made this one earlier on tonight:

meroslash.jpg

Previous ones:

148181_178532525493121_132262083453499_639542_8123227_n.jpg
    62189_158732344139806_132262083453499_513528_2165867_n.jpg
    29486_132882103391497_132262083453499_361520_1457451_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Flyers thesedays for the most part look to be lacking in orginality and design there are some good ones like the ones posted above though, here are some vintage flyers from the 90's

this is one of the most well known and iconic flyers ever

FANTAZIA

911231ny91flyer1hv8.jpg

jonnny68 wrote: »
    Flyers thesedays for the most part look to be lacking in orginality and design there are some good ones like the ones posted above though, here are some vintage flyers from the 90's

Ah jonny, they're terrible. I thought when you said vintage flyers you were going to pull some of the Designers Republic flyers or something like that.

Here's some quality vintage flyers:

blech_redbrownboy_warp_8jun96.gif

warp_blech_x3_jan_feb_98.jpg

ark_31jul93_a.jpg

hacienda_21may88.jpg

fac51_creamofmanchester_24jun94.jpg

fac52_hacienda10_21may92.jpg

would you go away outta that man those flyers are some of the best ever designed.:eek:
    Ah jonny, they're terrible. I thought when you said vintage flyers you were going to pull some of the Designers Republic flyers or something like that.

Here's some quality vintage flyers:

blech_redbrownboy_warp_8jun96.gif

warp_blech_x3_jan_feb_98.jpg

ark_31jul93_a.jpg

hacienda_21may88.jpg

fac51_creamofmanchester_24jun94.jpg

fac52_hacienda10_21may92.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

148181_178532525493121_132262083453499_639542_8123227_n.jpg
    That's not the image that I picture when I hear "Slashing through the snow" :D

this is one of the most well known and iconic flyers ever

FANTAZIA

911231ny91flyer1hv8.jpg
    Ah jonny would you stop. If it's not the music that was better "back in the day" it's the flyers. Those yokes are awful.

I have some great flyers from back in the day. But I think you're confusing nostalgia with any sort of design merit.

On an old skool website some years ago this Fantazia flyer was voted the favourite flyer of all time so you'll excuse me mate if i strongly disagree with you, each to their own and all that.;)
    BaZmO* wrote: »
    That's not the image that I picture when I hear "Slashing through the snow" :D

Ah jonny would you stop. If it's not the music that was better "back in the day" it's the flyers. Those yokes are awful.

I have some great flyers from back in the day. But I think you're confusing nostalgia with any sort of design merit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

LOL!

On an old skool website some years ago this Fantazia flyer was voted the favourite flyer of all time so you'll excuse me mate if i stgrongly disagree with you, each to their own and all that.;)

On a jamlovers website some years ago jam was voted the favourite thing to put on bread......OF ALL TIME.

On an old skool website some years ago this Fantazia flyer was voted the favourite flyer of all time so you'll excuse me mate if i strongly disagree with you, each to their own and all that.;)
    Ah jonnny seriously...

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Ah jonnny seriously...

tis true mate;)

anyway ill leave it at that.

Ah jonny, that flyer was made by blind people as a revenge attack against the sighted.

tis true mate;)

anyway ill leave it at that.

I believe it's true alright, but is that seriously your answer? Can you not see how pointless it is as an answer?

It's like saying a Ford Focus fanclub vote the Ford Focus as best car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Or jeff voting for himself as the best journalist, philosopher, sociologist, anthropologist, music critic, film critic, literature critic, historian, orator, scientist & soon to be physicist & chemist.:pac:

Well I vote myself to be the most satanic robot on the forum…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Well I vote myself to be the most satanic robot on the forum…

Satanic android not robot......jeeesus:rolleyes::D

I don't get flyer, it's like Dali meets Tron meets Star Wars. It doesn't exactly relate to the night very much.

Satanic android not robot......jeeesus:rolleyes::D

Hey Android's dream of electric sheep just like Robots do…

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Actually I always quite liked the simplicity of the Nightflight posters too

18157_1336205567023_1287615576_31007724_8157697_n.jpgn1287615576_30279430_739.jpgn1287615576_30263373_8236.jpg8924_1252514034787_1287615576_30773066_6945022_n.jpg
    8924_1246700809460_1287615576_30756865_5157015_n.jpg8924_1236486874118_1287615576_30723450_5238415_n.jpg4578_1162513144821_1287615576_30463306_6245303_n.jpg7030_1255984721552_1287615576_30783435_267897_n.jpg

Zascar wrote: »
    Actually I always quite liked the simplicity of the Nightflight posters too

18157_1336205567023_1287615576_31007724_8157697_n.jpg

I don't know… If I was going to chop off the top of his head like that I would have had planets coming out of it…

And what's with the type? There's no perspective done on it at all!

LOL!!!

Now that's a flyer…

[IMG][/img]18157_1336205567023_1287615576_31007724_8157697_n.jpg

Or jeff voting for himself as the best journalist, philosopher, sociologist, anthropologist, music critic, film critic, literature critic, historian, orator, scientist & soon to be physicist & chemist.:pac:

the irony is I do all those things as an aside from my unspectacular music career.

Andy... brilliant, just brilliant. But I could use even more perspective, oh and some more grid lines too, you can never have enough of those!

Jeff, I really don't understand why you continue to delay your inevitable move into politics.

I should probably work a real job at least once in my life before doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

This one is pretty cool...

5doc-poster.jpg

Here's one for you regarding Ross Wilson, he is the author of a song that for many IS the Australian National anthemn. It came out when I was a kid (back when god was a boy in 1971) I fell in love with it and bought the record. To this day you're still likely to hear the record on radio, television and sporting events all over Australia. Classic Oz rock.

I give you, the Eagle Rock

(that's Ross with hair singing).
    Uncool though it may be to say it, I still love this song. in 2008 I almost cried at a footy game in Sydney when the home team came out and the song played.

Bibliography :p
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eagle_Rock_%28song%29

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 drewdo

I think the direction to go in is to keep things simple, keep the information clearly visible, and hierarchy is very important....whats the most important info etc...

Here's some I did for 'Delay' and 'Technotic', they wanted a kind of underground industrial feel to them. They Didn't need to be plastered with music imagery as the audience intended will know who these guys are. So the event your designing for is important also...So, pinpoint your audience, Layout simple and clean and judge what info is most important...

Hope this helps...I do ramble on......

Andy... brilliant, just brilliant. But I could use even more perspective, oh and some more grid lines too, you can never have enough of those!

I gave you a little alien monster godammit! Is that not enough?

Ha ha, only just clocked that there.

Been trying to find an old thread with different flyers on it with no luck. Anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Cheers, but it's a specific thread on here. Looking for something I uploaded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

old gregg wrote: »
    Here's one for you regarding Ross Wilson, he is the author of a song that for many IS the Australian National anthemn. It came out when I was a kid (back when god was a boy in 1971) I fell in love with it and bought the record. To this day you're still likely to hear the record on radio, television and sporting events all over Australia. Classic Oz rock.

Uncool though it may be to say it, I still love this song. in 2008 I almost cried at a footy game in Sydney when the home team came out and the song played.

its nothing on Beds Are Burning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭EvolutionNights

Here are some I created over the last few years.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sonkite/

old gregg wrote: »

I give you, the Eagle Rock

(that's Ross with hair singing).

Ha, and here was me thinking I'd just found some random image of a dude from Australia! Learn something everyday!

As mentioned already, love the old Designers Republic stuff, it was great to get a book full of it with the Warp 20 year box set back in 2009.

Always loved the Temple of Sound flyers (back in the day) also... only a couple of these scanned, forget where I've seen them posted elsewhere. Anyway, probably far too '1995' for ye lot.

DECtos-1.jpg

dectosehdgfs.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

Here are some I created over the last few years.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/sonkite/
    seen some of these before and attended a few of those events, great work there mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭EvolutionNights

Cheers Gregg. Hope you had a good time at our nights.

Really like this, poster by a bloke I know:

180557_490213442675_687977675_6380682_8357525_n.jpg

Clever. Although it loses points for the smallness of the font at the bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭raymann

isnt this one by peter saville like a proper iconic bit of design:

http://www.worldinmotion.net/newsroom/pictures/2003/factoryposter.jpg

http://www.oliver-wood.co.uk/fac.htm

bet it was a good night anyway!