Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Process for running for the Dail?

• 10-01-2011 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭

A friend of mine who would always have had a great interest in Irish politics has become increasingly incensed by what has been going on in this country for the last few years and has indicated that they are thinking about running for election themselves.

They are not and never have been part of any party so they are new to this kind of thing. I'm just wondering if anyone on BOARDS know when to find the process for getting your name on the ballot sheet as a starter?

OneKeano

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I'd start here anyway: Nominating a candidate and Setting up a party.

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

A friend op? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

jaysus Roy's only out of a job a couple of days and he's back in the hunt ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Voltwad wrote: »
    He's still on the ball trying to score a win! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Wide Road

Voltwad wrote: »

Brilliant, however there is at least one guy posting on a canvassing thread that has never, wait for it, Canvassed. My advice for this thread is for the poster to set up their base as soon as they can because the election is around the corner. A base is needed and the rest will follow. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

I wouldn't think that it would really be possible to get enough exposure before this election, unless you're already well known locally. But the next one would be more likely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 318 ✭✭brendankelly

JOIN FIS NUA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭onekeano

LOL!!! thanks lads - especially Hard Copy!!!

Nope, sadly I won't be going forward, even though the thought did cross my mind but I have been asked to get seriously involved in the campaign of a neighbour so why not! :eek:

My own thought process in the event of going myself was to do Reggie Perrin type campaign ie. abstentionism (because there are way too many TDs talking ****e anyway) and donate salary to Simon or some other charity, claim no expenses as I would be working full time in my real job anyway and I'd promise to hold NO clinics and wouldn't be scouring the death notices for funerals to go to :p .

So, not for me this year but I don't mind giving some time to other independents who have similar views ie. national politics rather than local because the current system is obviously seriously broken. :mad:

Thanks again,

Roy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

onekeano wrote: »
    My own thought process in the event of going myself was to do Reggie Perrin type campaign ie. abstentionism (because there are way too many TDs talking ****e anyway) and donate salary to Simon or some other charity, claim no expenses as I would be working full time in my real job anyway and I'd promise to hold NO clinics and wouldn't be scouring the death notices for funerals to go to :p .

Vote for me and I won't bother to do my job? Won't meet constituents and won't attend the Dail?

Best you don't run

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Who do I go to or what local office do I visit, to get a a nomination paper?

I've decided to make some noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

You need to get in touch with your local authority, according to Citizen's Information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭onekeano

Vote for me and I won't bother to do my job? Won't meet constituents and won't attend the Dail?

Best you don't run

so the current model works where you go to your local pub on a Saturday morning to see your TD (or minister) about some form which can be done at any Citizens Advice bureau? or else meeting your TDs at every funeral cos they are afraid the other TDs in the area might get an edge?

How many of these idiots do you think we need - 166? Based on the number I see in the Chamber on Oireachtas report I would have thought 50 would be loads - and at least I wouldn't be trying to milk the taxpayer or keeping a job open for 20+ years thereby depriving a graduate of a permanent job.

Roy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Biggins wrote: »
    Who do I go to or what local office do I visit, to get a a nomination paper?

I've decided to make some noise.

I look forward to hearing "in before Biggins" at the beginning of every dail debate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Fair play to those who are standing up, trying to do something about it and getting stuck in.

Slap on the back lads. No matter how it goes, you all deserve it.Time the people of Ireland took the country back.