Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car accident settlement

• 08-01-2011 9:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭

I was in a car accident a few months back where i injured my back and neck.I was offeres a settlement from the insurance company.The solicitor recommended that i should go to the Personal Injuries Assessment Board as i would get more,What do you think i should do.has anyone been in this situation before?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

fire_man wrote: »
    I was in a car accident a few months back where i injured my back and neck.I was offeres a settlement from the insurance company.The solicitor recommended that i should go to the Personal Injuries Assessment Board as i would get more,What do you think i should do.has anyone been in this situation before?

You Will only get more if you have a major life changing injurys, like something that causes you to have to change jobs or quit work.
    Solicitor is only one thats will benefit the most

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭fire_man

It is not life changing,i had to get physio for a few months and could not drive for a few weeks,do u think i should accept what i was offered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

I think the PIAB publish a a list (should be on their web site)which details the min/max range they will offer for each type of injury. Why not check this and see how the offer from the insurance company compares?

It is not life changing,i had to get physio for a few months and could not drive for a few weeks,do u think i should accept what i was offered?

If the offer was around 12 to 15k accept

the offer is about half that.

I know person same type of accident, off work 1 month, physio for a year and half, and about a grand in medical costs got offered 10k, settled with piab for 15k plus medical costs

do you know if the solicitors fee comes off the Settlement i was offered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

to me the question really is, do you think the offer is fair to compensate u for the injuries u sustained???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭timogen

Personally i would just look to have my out of pocket expences to be paid if the offer is over that i would be happy to take.
    Or if you want to try and screw for every penny you can get, don't ever complain about the high price of your insurance premium.
    The question is was the offer fair?

do you know if the solicitors fee comes off the Settlement i was offered?

Ask them, is the offer + costs

ya i think its fair,i had alot of bills but this settlement will more than cover it so i think i will take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

goto PIAB ... what have you got to loose?

you are getting money anyway - let the assessment board decide what they think is appropriate then choose to accept or reject..... the insurance company only have their interest at heart - the less they pay out the better for them.

PCPhoto wrote: »
    goto PIAB ... what have you got to loose?

you are getting money anyway - let the assessment board decide what they think is appropriate then choose to accept or reject..... the insurance company only have their interest at heart - the less they pay out the better for them.
    You should say the less they pay out the better for everyone.
    The more they pay out the more insurance premiums go up,You can be damn sure it won't be the insurance company that will be out of pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

timogen wrote: »
    You should say the less they pay out the better for everyone.
    The more they pay out the more insurance premiums go up,You can be damn sure it won't be the insurance company that will be out of pocket.

valid point .... but for the op - if he has suffered injuries they usually never clear up (pain during cold weather etc etc)

I've suffered injuries and was compensated .... before PIAB was set up .... I still have difficulty with my arm/shoulder .... especially in the cold weather.... and its been about 10yrs since my injury.

ya i think its fair,i had alot of bills but this settlement will more than cover it so i think i will take it.
    I would, it's not definite that you would get extra money and a few people have been known to get less.
    Bills paid few quid in the back pocket=:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Bills paid few quid in the back pocket=:)

Its designed to compensate you for a loss you have suffered not to give you a few quid for your back pocket

OP did you ever get that engine for the Honda or was it to heavy?

Do u have an engine for me?

No just remembered a thread about carrying one in the boot of your car.

Sorry this is way off topic

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Its designed to compensate you for a loss you have suffered not to give you a few quid for your back pocket

OP did you ever get that engine for the Honda or was it to heavy?
    I would put the few quid extra down as for pain and suffering as he was bound to have a little pain if he couldn't drive for a week.

But thats not what its there for.

Its there to compensate you for losses arising from an incident not because you feel a bit sore (not suggesting OP is taking advantage of the system)

Everyone would put a different value on it and you would end up with massive payouts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Go to PIAB OP. That settlement is a rubbish sum. I am not going giving out legal advice here but I know thats crap...;)

But thats not what its there for.

Its there to compensate you for losses arising from an incident not because you feel a bit sore (not suggesting OP is taking advantage of the system)

Everyone would put a different value on it and you would end up with massive payouts
    Did you read the start of the thread,I said if the offer covered his expences he should except the offer the insurance company made.
    Or do you think he should reject the offer from the insurance company and tell them it was too generous.

Did you read the start of the thread,I said if the offer covered his expences he should except the offer the insurance company made.
    Or do you think he should reject the offer from the insurance company and tell them it was too generous.

If the OP has ongoing issues with his injuries he is entitled to more than expenses,

Did you read the start of the thread,I said if the offer covered his expences

No you didn't.

Heres what I took exception to
    few quid in the back pocket

Followed up by you advising the OP to inflate his claim which I assume is called insurance fraud.

I've no issue with anyone getting what they deserve but sure adding a few quid onto the end of a claim for your back pocket isn't right. If he has on going issues thats different but thats not what I think your suggesting with your 'couldn't drive for a week line'

Its the reason our premiums are so high

-Corkie- wrote: »
    If the OP has ongoing issues with his injuries he is entitled to more than expenses,

Agreed but we are talking about what was referred to as a 'few quid for your back pocket' which is very very different

Personally i would just look to have my out of pocket expences to be paid if the offer is over that i would be happy to take.
    Or if you want to try and screw for every penny you can get, don't ever complain about the high price of your insurance premium.
    The question is was the offer fair?
    johnnos1984 this was my first post to the op on this subject you just choose to take bits out of my later post to try and make something that's not there to be honest if you read all my posts on this thread you will see that. Tell me where i was saying to inflate claims in that post?

Timogen apologies I missed this post and picked up on your later one.

I'll get off my horse now :o as I've been owned on this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

according to here http://www.injuriesboard.ie/eng/Statistics/ the average is 22,000 which i say is about right

Ya thats about right. Vouched expenses would be on top of that then..

johnos1984 this was my second post to the op i agreed he should take the offer the insurance company has given him. Where do you get the insurance fraud? as i told him not to look for more than he was entitled.
    It's not fraud to except what the insurance company offer if your doing nothing illegal like feigning injury.

Timogen I've just apologized for misreading the thread and missing your first post.

I don't know what you hope to achieve at this point?

The quote which is linked to your question is clearly highlighted in an earlier post, I'm not re-quoting it.

PM me if you want to discuss it further but I have admitted I missed your first post and misread the situation and I have apologies publicly so I'm not sure what you want now.

John

Timogen I've just apologized for misreading the thread and missing your first post.

The quote which is linked to your question is clearly highlighted in an earlier post, I'm not re-quoting it.

PM me if you want to discuss it further but I have admitted I missed your first post and misread the situation and I have apologies publicly so I'm not sure what you want now.

John

I think one of you got wires crossed somewhere. He thanked your post above.

Timogen must of posted and deleted it when he noticed.

I was quoting the post.

Anyway issue closed and a rare apology issued :o

John
    I think we were writing at the same time and took down the post as soon as i seen the one you posted, didn't get it down before you had read it though.As we were in agreement on this issue. I see the stakes have been raised since our posts with lads looking for 22,000 grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 injuriesboard

Have a look at the InjuriesBoard.ie website here http://injuriesboard.ie. This will give you an idea how claims are processed, timelines etc.

This link http://www.injuriesboard.ie/eng/Estimator/ will give you access to the Book of Quantum which the Board uses as an aid in assessing the compensation which a claimant may be entitled to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

OP, I think you should take the advice of your solicitor over the advice from strangers on the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭rescue16

Have a look at the InjuriesBoard.ie website here http://injuriesboard.ie. This will give you an idea how claims are processed, timelines etc.

This link http://www.injuriesboard.ie/eng/Estimator/ will give you access to the Book of Quantum which the Board uses as an aid in assessing the compensation which a claimant may be entitled to.
    How old is this estimator ??? Come on in all fairness who came up with these figures no wonder 90% of claims still go to court !!! Its time to update this so called estimator !!

rescue16 wrote: »
    How old is this estimator ??? Come on in all fairness who came up with these figures no wonder 90% of claims still go to court !!! Its time to update this so called estimator !!

The Estimator is a graphical representation of the Book of Quantum. Both the Injuries Board and the courts are obliged by law to rely on the BoQ when making compensation awards.

90% of cases do not go to the courts. In 2002/2003 around 33,000 cases were lodged with the courts each year. In 2009 only 14,000 cases were lodged with the courts, a fall of around 20,000. Of the 14,000 only around 10% actually go to a hearing.

Intresting. Do you work for them or just intrested in that area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭rescue16

In 2002/03 piab was not set up am i right ?? So every tom dick and harry could make a claim in court with hardly no proof at all. This changed when piab was set up because to be honest piab are fairly tough in there reports which is a good thing but and i say but there estimator is way off and with the way the resession is going any offer that piab are coming up with people are taking the lump sum and running and they might not be recoverd fully but for those who dont take it as they think it is not enough for the pain and stress and loss of earnings they have incountered have gone to court as piab estimator is not relistic sorry if i have got some spellings wrong:D

Intresting. Do you work for them or just intrested in that area.

Yes. I work at the Board and I contribute here occasionally to point posters to sources of useful information.