Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Importing without an MOT

• 07-01-2011 9:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭

Quick question, if I buy a car without an MOT from Britain with the intention of importing and registering it here is it possible?

I can't remember if the rules state it has to be MOT'd or if I can just NCT it once here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

as far as i know it does have to have a valid mot to be nct,d, dont quote me but about 75% sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Quick question, if I buy a car without an MOT from Britain with the intention of importing and registering it here is it possible?

I can't remember if the rules state it has to be MOT'd or if I can just NCT it once here

You can NCT it here. The UK MOT means nothing here. The only thing is driving the car back to the boat with no MOT. You know what there like over..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

-Corkie- wrote: »
    You can NCT it here. The UK MOT means nothing here. The only thing is driving the car back to the boat with no MOT. You know what there like over..

Aye and knowing my luck I'd get stopped at the port entrance

Just a car has popped up that I want to investigate bringing back.

Nothing special enough to risk getting in trouble for though

Aye and knowing my luck I'd get stopped at the port entrance

Just a car has popped up that I want to investigate bringing back.

Nothing special enough to risk getting in trouble for though

I know. They took a car of me before because I hadnt all my paperwork..:rolleyes: I was doing 110 but they couldnt do me for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Not sure on the legal consequences over there of driving a car with no MOT but I would imagine if it's for export and you have 4 fully road legal tyres, all lights working, clear visible number plates, all insurance documentation and no sharp body panels sticking out the Police will send you on your way.

Of course if you are driving like a tool and get caught speeding or acting the maggot that's another story.

Not sure on the legal consequences over there of driving a car with no MOT but I would imagine if it's for export and you have 4 fully road legal tyres, all lights working, clear visible number plates, all insurance documentation and no sharp body panels sticking out the Police will send you on your way.

I'd not take the chance though.

Just speaking to the guy and it should be easy to MOT it if I want to drive it back.

Now lets just see if it makes any kind of financial sense :)..............or if I can just justify it to myself :D

Just speaking to the guy and it should be easy to MOT it if I want to drive it back.

Now lets just see if it makes any kind of financial sense :)..............or if I can just justify it to myself :D

Anything nice John...

Afraid not although it is an early MGF, no. 2500 off the line.

I just can't seem to find one here thats cheap and in reasonable condition although my mind tells me they should be cheaper.

There is a written off one on dd for €1500 :eek:

In total I'd be looking at having it back and registered for a grand

Possibly I'm loosing the plot though and insurance companies are giving me the run around

Afraid not although it is an early MGF, no. 2500 off the line.

I just can't seem to find one here thats cheap and in reasonable condition although my mind tells me they should be cheaper.

There is a written off one on dd for €1500 :eek:

In total I'd be looking at having it back and registered for a grand

Possibly I'm loosing the plot though and insurance companies are giving me the run around

Nice one. Have you tried Buy and sell. I was looking for a Merc 600. The cheapest one I seen was 5k for a 92. Found one on donedeal for 1500.
    Must find money now and more space..:)

Nice one. Have you tried Buy and sell. I was looking for a Merc 600. The cheapest one I seen was 5k for a 92. Found one on donedeal for 1500.
    Must find money now and more space..:)

I never thought of BuyandSell.

Since Donedeal came along I've only been checking it.

I reckon a reasonable one should be around a grand. I was looking for an MGB but I got pissed of with the descriptions not matching the car

Examples being the conservative use of 'slight bubbling' = has that been resprayed brown? , 'professional respray' = nice white engine, 'very original' = very expensive and full of filler

Incidently if anyone has an MGB or MGF PM and be realistic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

MOT has sweet feck all bearing over here.

Just be wary of driving the car to the ferry port in the UK without a valid MOT. They have alot of ANPR cameras on the motorways and in their patrol cars.

Try Google aswell you wouldnt know what you would find..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

bazz26 wrote: »
    MOT has sweet feck all bearing over here.

Just be wary of driving the car to the ferry port in the UK without a valid MOT. They have alot of ANPR cameras on the motorways and in their patrol cars.

...it has less-than-feck-all, it's useless.

Re moving it to the port, well, my 0.02 is that some of the Forces over there are more likely to pull you enroute to the port, tbh, as they know it's fish-in-a-barrel ......we Paddy's will always pay to keep going to get the Ferry. And North Wales 'finest' are not known for latititude......or personality......

OP - can the owner not get an MOT on it for you - it's not a big deal to get done, tbh.....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    OP - can the owner not get an MOT on it for you - it's not a big deal to get done, tbh.....

Aye as said earlier he is happy enough to do it its just a matter now of working out if it is worth it.

Insurance will dictate that now, insurance companies are being a pain in the Áras as I had hoped to get cheap insurance as its only a weekend car seems though I'll be paying full wack as I only have 1 years NCB after a smash in 2009

Still they were happy to insure my last classic cheaply when I had no NCB. Go figure :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Aye as said earlier he is happy enough to do it its just a matter now of working out if it is worth it.

Insurance will dictate that now, insurance companies are being a pain in the Áras as I had hoped to get cheap insurance as its only a weekend car seems though I'll be paying full wack as I only have 1 years NCB after a smash in 2009

Still they were happy to insure my last classic cheaply when I had no NCB. Go figure :rolleyes:

LOLOL........it's only now you've figured that out ?? :eek: :D

No such thing as 'only a weekend car' on this island, I'm afraid, insurance-wise.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    LOLOL........it's only now you've figured that out ?? :eek: :D

AXA were happy to insure me after the accident when I had no NCB for less than the year before......its only now THEY are figuring it out even though I told them at the time and they had all the info in front of them.

I was more pissed of when I realised as he told me they would of cancelled my insurance in the event of an accident. He wasn't willing to accept it was their fault when I pointed out the info came from their system. Given it was a situation I never faced I didn't mind too much.

By weekend car I mean I don't fancy paying full insurance for a car I'll only use at weekends.

Classic insurance is reasonable generally as it acknowledges the chances of a claim are limited as you don't drive the car near as much as a standard main family car

an mgf isn't old enough to be a classic though, try setanta, they will mirror your years ncb on a 2nd car. The f may well be more to insure than the passat though. Wouldn't be arsed myself though. A reasonably priced one in fair nick will pop up closer to home if you're patient

RoverJames wrote: »
    an mgf isn't old enough to be a classic though, try setanta, they will mirror your years ncb on a 2nd car. The f may well be more to insure than the passat though. Wouldn't be arsed myself though. A reasonably priced one in fair nick will pop up closer to home if you're patient

It was just something which cropped up this evening but I have been keeping an eye out.

That one in Jason O'Briens was gone before I got a chance to view it.

I had been keeping away from the newer stuff because of insurance and tax. I must look in to getting more quotes.

I've never had any of the newer stuff so it may well be time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Just to echo what some previous posters have pointed out. Anyone considering driving a car with no MOT across the UK for export needs to be very careful that they don't encounter the North Wales Heddlu on their way to Hollyhead. They're not known for their flexibility and the car could be impounded.

As stated thats not what I intend to do.

I just wanted to know if I needed it for registering, I could be taking it back on a trailer ;)

As stated thats not what I intend to do.

I just wanted to know if I needed it for registering, I could be taking it back on a trailer ;)

100 per cent doesn't matter over here for registration seasons if it has mot or not :)

Simple question, simple answer (and not forgetting the others who said it earlier)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

no they wont.dont risk it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

it does make a difference. If the car has no MoT the NCTS will inspect it for roadworthiness. Not a full NCT you understand but it needs to be raod legal with no maojr rust apparent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

You do (according to NCTS) need an MOT cert when importing a car over 4 years old. I had taken my disc off my windscreen (NI import where you have to display the MOT disc) and they made a point of asking me for my certificate.

From NCTS website:

9) For vehicles over 4 years old, an unexpired roadworthiness certificate confirming that an equivalent to the NCT test has been passed. The vehicle will be called for a roadworthiness test (NCT) shortly after registration.

It's NCTed regardless.

I don't know what they'd do if you didn't have the MOT (they don't go into too much detail about that) but they definitely look for it now. My most recent import was last month via the new NCTS route, when I imported the one before directly through Revenue as far as I can remember they didn't ask about the MOT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭NWPat

If you do drive a vehicle without a valid MOT in the UK it will usually invalidate your insurance, and if you are stopped by the police, you will be liable to face prosecution for MOT non-compliance(Car will be taken from you). The only time you may drive a car without a valid MOT is if you are driving to a pre-arranged test appointment or to a garage that will carry out repairs that are required for your vehicle to pass the MOT test. Having said that you probably won't get stopped, its a bit of a gamble realy.

corktina wrote: »
    it does make a difference. If the car has no MoT the NCTS will inspect it for roadworthiness. Not a full NCT you understand but it needs to be raod legal with no maojr rust apparent.

HIs question was can he still import the car though, which he can. He may not be able to drive home from the nct centre if they reckon its dangerous though.