Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your first car?

• 07-01-2011 9:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭

Inspired by a nostalgia thread on another forum..... What was your first car?

The first car I owned was a '91 Fiesta. I loved that car. 1.1, non fuel injected with a 0-60 time of 8.4 wet weekends. Top speed was probably about 95 on a good downhill, but the acceleration was so poor past 70ish I never actually found out. But it was fun to drive and never left me down. It even started on the first turn after I had abandoned it to go live in London for a few months. It did everything asked of it, inluding bringing a huge fridge to the dump - possibly it's slowest journey ever. I had the front seats pushed as far forward as they would go and probably looked like Donkey Kong in the driver's seat, but the thing was still hanging a mile out the boot. We had it well tied down but I had one of the buddies hanging on to in in the passenger seat just in case.....

The first car I bought was a '96 GT-Four. I loved that car. 2.0, fuel injected, turbo charged, 4wd rocket of a car. At least it seemed that way to me at the time. 0-60 in 5.6 seconds and a top speed limited to 136mph. I got the limiter removed, and took it to about 140mph to be sure it was gone, but I was coming up to traffic at that stage and I never did get the chance to max it. The speedo only went to 115mph anyway so I'd have had no idea what the top speed was.

The handling was something else too, with a fancy rear diff and suspension that would have cost a fortune to replace if it ever went wrong. Lapped the 'Ring in 9:52. I put on bigger spoilers go improve stability at high speed with the intention of bringing it back for another go, but never got a chance. I kept it for almost seven years before trading it in towards the end of '09.

It's funny, my new car is faster and better in almost every way, but it's just a machine to me. I miss my old cars :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

1987 Dihatsu Charade.

all 3 cylinders going like the clappers, steering wheel wobbling like a fat chicks arse being slapped, wind and rain entering in torrents through the bent door frame, front seats leaning into each other as the high quality plastic ratchet for seat position wore away.
    The emulsion paint touch ups weathering, ice growing on the inside during cold weather.
    Clingfilm flapping in the wind.

Hang on lads, the wind is behind us and it a down ward slope, pull in the wing mirrors and we might get 70 out of it!
    Good times, great car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

1991 Fiesta Van 1.1L, my first car and I loved it! 91 SO 66 the fella before me had put a body kit on it and big fat alloy wheels. So fat infact, that they wore a hole in the plastic cover in the wheel arch from trying to full lock when parking, moving out etc. It looked ridiculous, was probably quicker to walk at times and started falling apart but I loved it.

1990 Rover 414Si, she was red :D
    Was 1999 and I was 18, a few weeks after finishing the Leaving Cert.

Came close to buying a Mk4 Escort, thank feck I didn't or I could be in an ST220 Mondeo or some other lardy ole yoke to handle now !! Chuckle chuckle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭doOh

Mitsubishi Galant '98 2.0 petrol. Loved it to bits i still fancy Galants, too bad they dont do them for europe anymore :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

First car I drove was a Toyota Corolla car/van 1990. First car bought was a Honda civic 1996 1.4l saloon, first van, a Toyota Hiace 1985 with 400,000 miles on the clock. :eek:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

1989 Mk III Fiesta 1.1L 5 door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

First car I owned was a Peugeot 106 Rallye 1.6, how I survived that car I'll never know as it was driven flat out everywhere(Kildare town to CIT in Cork in 1hr 50ish mins, pre bypass days) in hindsight it was pure lunacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

1982 mark III Escort XR3 feckin loved it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭annie.t

Toyota Corolla '90 1.3 - loved this car to bits. Very reliable but rust was killing the body.
    garagephp.jpg

First car I owned was a Peugeot 106 Rallye 1.6, how I survived that car I'll never know as it was driven flat out everywhere(Kildare town to CIT in Cork in 1hr 50ish mins, pre bypass days) in hindsight it was pure lunacy.

Red Cow roundabout to Patrick's Quay - 2 hour 10 mins in 2004, just the Kildare bypass ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

1981 Mark I Fiesta 1litre 3dr in red. Cost me 1200 in 92. Sold it to a mate a yr later with about 130k miles on clock and he said it kept going for another 60k.
    Biggest problem was the rain. Any bit of moisture on the distributor cap and it would konk out. Had to keep a spare set of points and timing light in the boot at all times and they would have only got about 4mths out of a set

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    1981 Mark I Fiesta 1litre 3dr in red. Cost me 1200 in 92.

Interesting to see car prices then relative to now, IR£1200 was a huge wad of cash back in 92.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

1976 Ford Escort Mk II van, one previous owner, a hundred lousey drivers. Belonged to a security company. It was a canal car, didn't like leaving Dublin, lost the gearbox in Doolin and the brakes failed on the Conor Pass. Plenty of room in the back though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

1972 VW Beetle 1300. I think I replaced nearly every part on that car over the 8 or so months I had it. Pay day was spilt between food money to Mom, repair money to Beetle and beer money to me! Not bad from less than £45 a week!

I was dead jealous of my mate who had a Cortina GL.. we used to call it his "Shagging Palace".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

91 D 40613, the white wocket as we used to call it.

Little 3 door 1l Fiesta brought across from england by some soul way before i got my hands on her. Paid £2500 for her in 1997 and she was a great little thing, loadsa character. Many a night were spent in the Fiesta Inn all over the country.

Got kidnapped outside my place of work and murdered in a field that evening. Cremated that night.

My second car was a 1.25l Fiesta 1999, little zetec engine, and man i loved that car. Would love to have a spin in one today, a smile is appearing on my face even thinking about it!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Wedgie

'76 Fiat 127

Bought it in '87, so you can imagine the state it was in.

Cost me £ 100.00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

'98 March. All the bells and whistles on it as it was a Jap import. Bought it in the middle of '00 with 8k miles on it. Passed my test in it, brought me my freedom, got my first speeding ticket (:eek: - was doing 45 in a 30 mph speed zone :o:D) and then when the aul points came in it earned me two of those. (Passed out a slow unmarked cop car at the end of a continous white line coming onto a 2 mile straight stretch with no cars oncoming but the Garda was pissed I'd passed him.)

Still have it almost 11 years later and it now has approx 81k miles on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

92RN22, red fiesta as well (bit of a trend developing here), drove the tar out that car all over the country, never let me down. I think it's still on the go round Sligo somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

02 yellow Fiat punto Dynamique (looked like the sport but with boggo engine), loved it, great little car, had all the goodies: sun roof, alloys, recaros decent stereo etc. I still regret selling it :( I've often harboured thoughts of an Arbath, all the yellow perril needed was a bit more power :D

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

1998 Rover 400. Good starter car - elec windows, sunroof etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

1991 Nissan Sunny 1.4 LX with 90k miles on it at the time. Heater vent didn't work which was a pain in the winter and had to replace bearings in 2 wheels. Bought it for £3500 and sold it 11 months later for £2900.