Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Antisocial behaviour

• 06-01-2011 5:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5 insertgirder

Firstly i live in a small neighborhood that borders on a football field. The neighborhood itself is ok but the football fields attracts all sorts of antisocial behavior. For example many times footballs have repeatably landed in our back gardens-sometimes breaking glass which we than have to pay for ourselves. Other times the people who play football will climb over our walls into our back gardens to get the footballs-these people are complete strangers-surely this is illegal?

Secondly where does the law stand in relation to noise pollution? Again those people in the field will often have late night 'discos' in their clubhouse-often during weekdays going from 9pm-4am some nights. The noise keeps you up. The road leading into the football field is also often used as parking space for random vans and trucks-we can often hear the comings and goings of vehicles during the day and sometimes in the early morning.

Oh and i dont know is this is relevant but the people who socialize in the football field are all working class types-i dont thinks they have actual lives-hence the antisocial behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭mcgarrett

Oh and i dont know is this is relevant but the people who socialize in the football field are all working class types-i dont thinks they have actual lives-hence the antisocial behavior.

Section 21 (3) of the Ferocious Appearances Act 1992 provides a power of arrest without warrant for those working class types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

It's certainly not relevant in a legal forum....

=========================
    Bunreacht na hEireann

Article 40.

All citizens shall, as human persons, be held equal before the law.
    =========================

Maybe there's a "Let's put these knackers in their place" forum but I guess since you've only just registered and that's your first and only post perhaps you haven't been able to find an appropriate outlet on boards.ie for your snobbery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 insertgirder

Ok personal attacks aside what can i do about these problems?

Its too noisy to sleep at night and sometimes people climb over the walls into our back gardens. What would you do in my situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

If someone climbs over your wall in to your property, you can call the Gardai and report someone trespassing.

With the loud music/late drinking, you can speak to the Gardai (during office hours), and find out who in the local station deals with the alcohol licensing. When their license is due for renewal, you can lodge a complaint (assuming they are selling alcohol on the premises).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭unattendedbag

1. Put barbed wire or broken glass on the wall.
    2. Double glazed PVC wondows. I dont know of any football that can break these.
    3. If the clubhouse serves alcohol the get onto your local superintendent about enforcement of liquor licensing laws.

1. Put barbed wire or broken glass on the wall.
    2. Double glazed PVC wondows. I dont know of any football that can break these.
    3. If the clubhouse serves alcohol the get onto your local superintendent about enforcement of liquor licensing laws.

Point 1 - it's illegal to put broken glass on your wall, with the intention of hurting someone.

Put that black grease muck (whatever it is) on the tops of your walls, it's not harmful and it'll stop them hopping over

bluewolf wrote: »
    Put that black grease muck (whatever it is) on the tops of your walls, it's not harmful and it'll stop them hopping over

That stuff is brilliant and works a treat. :D It's anti-climb paint or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭unattendedbag

Paulw wrote: »
    Point 1 - it's illegal to put broken glass on your wall, with the intention of hurting someone.

What about a small sign on the wall saying "The top of this wall contains broken glass. Climb at your own risk"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

What about a small sign on the wall saying "The top of this wall contains broken glass. Climb at your own risk"

The glass will still be on the wall with the intention of causing an intruder harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Firstly i live in a small neighborhood that borders on a football field. The neighborhood itself is ok but the football fields attracts all sorts of antisocial behavior. For example many times footballs have repeatably landed in our back gardens-sometimes breaking glass which we than have to pay for ourselves. Other times the people who play football will climb over our walls into our back gardens to get the footballs-these people are complete strangers-surely this is illegal?

Secondly where does the law stand in relation to noise pollution? Again those people in the field will often have late night 'discos' in their clubhouse-often during weekdays going from 9pm-4am some nights. The noise keeps you up. The road leading into the football field is also often used as parking space for random vans and trucks-we can often hear the comings and goings of vehicles during the day and sometimes in the early morning.

Dont really see where the anti-social behaviour is. Have you cantacted the club?

If they're always climbing over your wall, it's probably because they don't know you care. Before calling the gardai or taking legal action, would you not just try going out to them and saying "here lads, I'm not ok with you kicking the ball into my garden and then hopping my wall to get it, I've had to replace broken windows a couple times and I'm starting to get annoyed. Try to keep clear of my garden, ok?"

If they keep doing it, then it's time to take action with stopping them getting over the wall or calling the gardai etc. I'd think it was pretty antisocial on your part to just allow them into your garden numerous times and then all of a sudden without saying anything you start putting up barbed wire and calling the gardai. I'm not saying that talking to them will stop them, but give them the benefit of the doubt first of all, they could just be alright lads who don't realise that you see them entering your garden as an offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Raywalsh21

We are having a serious problem with kids and teenagers playing football on the street. Now I can Hear you think , this guy is an old crank, let the kids have a bit of fun

A bit of fun, kids playing ball, i've no problem with that.

The real problem is, far more serious, we have footballs belting of our windows, cars etc continuously, my van and my wife's car have been damaged by the balls recently.

It's not just the kids kicking the ball around, these balls are been kicked to the height of the house and hitting bedroom windows when. Our kids are asleep in bed.

I have had the Garda up the the house on several occasions, which was a waste of time.

Loosing all reason with this situation.

Can anybody tell me what I can do.
    Also, is it legal to play football on the street?