Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Questions about Father Ted

• 06-01-2011 2:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭

Just a couple of questions about Father Ted. We're watching it here and just to satisfy a bit of curiosity.

1. Where is St Clabbert's in real life? The outside scene where the lads park the car and run in.
    2. What would the Chinese have had against Hitler?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

What would anyone have against Hitler? Sure he never did nothin' to me! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Sure Hitler was a grand fella, kept himself to himself really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Hitler wouldn't be up at 3am in the morning listening to JUngle music and drilling holes in the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Hitler was an ally of Japan when the Japanese killed millions and millions of Chinese people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Yillan wrote: »
    1. Where is St Clabbert's in real life? The outside scene where the lads park the car and run in.

Most likely somewhere in Clare, thats where they did nearly all of their outdoor shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

It's also not so much that they had something against Hitler. It was Ted seemingly appearing like a mad racist, the best known of whom is Hitler.

No idea where St Clabbert's is.

I don't think St Clabbert exists - did a search and nothing is coming up. Or do you mean where it was filmed? It could be Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

I don't think St Clabbert exists - did a search and nothing is coming up. Or do you mean where it was filmed? It could be Clare.
    Yeah, it's probably some house near Kilfenora. For more ted answers go to http://www.feck.net/splange/ftfaq.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

The recent Small, Far Away documentary seemed to suggest that all exterior shooting was done in blocks of weeks on location in Clare so I'd agree with boneyarsebogman that it's probably somewhere around the county.
    All interior shots of the Parochial house were doing in front of live audience at Channel4 studios in London.
    I'm not sure about other interiors like the Eurosong set, All-Priests Over-75's Five-a-Side gym, John & Mary's shop etc. I assume a lot of those were probably locations near London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭glengirlie

Hi All,

Am looking for the Father Ted theme tune to download for something and I cannot find it on itunes. I know it was done by Neil Hannon and The Divine Comedy but only the rejigged version is on itunes.

Any ideas

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 madraj55

Hitler wouldn't be up at 3am in the morning listening to JUngle music and drilling holes in the wall.

You have to give him that, credit where it's Jew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

glengirlie wrote: »
    Hi All,

Am looking for the Father Ted theme tune to download for something and I cannot find it on itunes. I know it was done by Neil Hannon and The Divine Comedy but only the rejigged version is on itunes.

Any ideas

Cheers

Not the theme tune,but a decent song none the less :D

http://soundcloud.com/balboamusic/father-jacks-dubstep-adventure

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Hi All,

Any ideas

Cheers

Unfortunately I'd say Songs of Love is all you're going to find on iTunes or the shops! Can't see any mention of an official soundtrack online anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

My mate recognised the area in the opening sequence as that of Fanore in County Clare, quite a bit of the series has been filmed there, I think parts of it have been filmed in the Arran Islands too, especially Inisheer.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Hi All,

Any ideas

Cheers
    Only the bit played during the opening titles:
    http://www.televisiontunes.com/Father_Ted.html

And everyones favourite, "My Lovely Horse"
    http://www.televisiontunes.com/Father_Ted_-_My_Lovely_Horse.html