Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV3: Cocaine Wars

• 05-01-2011 1:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭

Cocaine Wars chronicles the shocking story behind Ireland's deadliest gangland feud. Based on the best-selling book by crime journalist Mick McCaffrey, this 4 part series will lift the lid on the Crumlin/ Drimnagh drug feud that has left 16 young men dead in tit for tat killings.

The series speaks to families who have been affected by the bloody fallout and reveal how the next generation of gangsters have vowed to continue the mayhem.

Did anyone watch this last night?

I'm usually not a fan of TV3 produced crime shows but this one seems a little different and I'll be tuning in to watch the next few episodes.

My only gripe with it was the "accent's" of the actors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Watched it last night, huge meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Yllut

Did anyone watch this last night?

I'm usually not a fan of TV3 produced crime shows but this one seems a little different and I'll be tuning in to watch the next few episodes.

My only gripe with it was the "accent's" of the actors.

Same old crap. The same Guards the same Journo's this must be the 5th crime
    program with the same content.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭ciaran_h

Same journo's spouting same ole ****e and running the area down IMO. The book is one of the most sensationalized pieces of cr@p I ever read. Everything that happens in the area gets attributed to this feud- people fighting in pubs etc. It's a great tabloid story but doesn't bear outthe reality of (good) life in Dublin 12........and since half of these lads hail from the coombe, dolphins barn tallaght etc why the f##k do they insist on associating all this cr@p to 2 areas

And it was badly narrated and acted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 umpalumpa1

watched the same old rehashed newstory..do these people (journalists) realise they are fuelling the fire, or do they give a damn ??
    so many young men have lost their lives and families have been left behind to pick up the pieces..what makes me laugh is the journalists that cover these stories are been fed suspicions and hunches from gardai that have been unable to solve the majority of these killings..and in many cases there are hidden agendas behind these press releases..
    anyway i read the book and it full of inconsistancies...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭ciaran_h

umpalumpa1 wrote: »
    watched the same old rehashed newstory..do these people (journalists) realise they are fuelling the fire, or do they give a damn ??
    so many young men have lost their lives and families have been left behind to pick up the pieces..what makes me laugh is the journalists that cover these stories are been fed suspicions and hunches from gardai that have been unable to solve the majority of these killings..and in many cases there are hidden agendas behind these press releases..
    anyway i read the book and it full of inconsistancies...

couldnt agree more - these hacks are glorifying petty thugs and making it sound like some high living existence.

they're all trying to emulate the great paul williams (another one who doesnt let the truth get in the way of a good story) - unfortunately the only ones who swallow it are impressionable young fellas....