Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lost key to Gun Safe

• 05-01-2011 11:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭

As the title suggests I have lost the key to my gun safe, Twas last seen about three years ago, That'll tell ye how much shooting I do:).

It's a Warmflow 2 gun cabinet, I think that the locks were Chubb.

Any Idea's or anyone know a good locksmith to pick the lock in West Waterford area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Might be a stab in the dark, ring warmflow and quote the bar code on the cabinet. Failing that let us know how difficult it really is and how long it took you to Jemmy it open.

The cost of a locksmith could be dearer than a new safe?:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭session savage

The cost of a locksmith could be dearer than a new safe?:(

... but cheaper than a new gun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Big Lar wrote: »
    As the title suggests I have lost the key to my gun safe, Twas last seen about three years ago, That'll tell ye how much shooting I do:).

It's a Warmflow 2 gun cabinet, I think that the locks were Chubb.

Any Idea's or anyone know a good locksmith to pick the lock in West Waterford area.

the only lock smiths i know of in dungarvan are there by spar at turn off down to the unicare side of the shopping centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

MY dad did the same thing we rang a locksmith .........worked out cheaper to buy a new safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

there should of been 2 stickers with a series of numbers on it, thats your code for a locksmith to make the keys. Try underneath safe maybe there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

i always knew you looked like a cat burglar spunk:D:D

im not sure what your talking about:rolleyes::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭clivej

I thought the whole idea was that your not able to get into the gun safe without the keys.
    I'd say the barcode is on the inside.

Looks like a job for the hole saw and jigsaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Big Lar

That lad in the locksmith is not a locksmith at all by all accounts, so he sent me on to a Tony chap in Waterford City who does everything except gun safes would you believe.

I shoved in the screwdriver beside the lock and to my surprise there is a lot of give in the side walls, But the feckin screwdriver broke so its nailbar time tomorrow.

I am trying to get in causing not too much damage I hope cos I think I left the spare key in there for safe keeping dont ya know :D

P.S. Couldn't find the serial number

P.P.S. Thanks for the suggestions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭tonytoc11

My uncle lost the keys to his safe too so he got onto the manufacturers of the safe and quoted the serial numbers of the keys and they sent new ones no problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

l have a couple of kilo,s of dynamite,:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

ronn wrote: »
    l have a couple of kilo,s of dynamite,:D

might not have a gun to use after though:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

if you take a pic of the lock, i might be able to help you out one of my many other hobbies other than shooting is picking locks. i'd do it for 50quid and train fair down to ye:D

Well to make a long story short, The old safe is gone to heaven.

Forced my way in with a nail bar didn't I ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

How long did it take and was it difficult PM me

Well luckily enough I had not gotten around to bolting it to the wall :) and it was free standing in the hot press, so I was able to take it outside and lie it down flat and work on it from there.

I was able to force the sides away from the door lock by putting the nail bar down between the door and the side wall. I was quite surprised at how easy it was.

The safe reminded me so much of Gordon Ramsay- Looked tough but when you really got down to it: It was pure s**t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭dos29

Big Lar wrote: »
    I was quite surprised at how easy it was.

The safe reminded me so much of Gordon Ramsay- Looked tough but when you really got down to it: It was pure s**t.

Not knocking ya or anything, but it does speak volumes for actually having it bolted to the wall. I hadn't got round to mine either but it'll be done fairly rapid now I tell ya! :eek:

In fairness had it been bolted to the wall the job could have turned out very messy.

The new one is fixed to the wall thou, God Bless Hilti Guns :D

Well Jesus so much for being "SAFE":eek: ,