Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rubbish at playing online

• 04-01-2011 9:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38

Hey guys,
    I'm a complete noob to online gaming. I got an xbox for Christmas and have completed the campaigns on both Modern Warfare titles.
    So yesterday I decided id get myself a Gold membership and start playing online. I did not think it would be this hard! I seem to be getting killed from all round!!
    My problems are that I cant seem to find my enemies and when I do they instantly kill me like they'r waiting for me to arrive! lol. And any time i seem to go anywhere i either get sniped or shot from someone hiding somewhere! I also find it hard to distinguish who's on my team and who's not. I try using the map for help but don't find it much help.
    Any advise for a complete noob would be greatly appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭James2693

Practice? You've only had a week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Benrobjohn

Welcome,you should play with some people from boards,and you will get the hang of it pretty quick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

1. Combat training.
    - Get used to all the guns, I recommend AUG, FAL, Famas/Ak47u, AK47 for primary weapons. For secondaries try Python/CZ75 dual wield.
    -Get used to all the perks and their benefits. To start off I recommend Hacker (for knowing where claymores are).
    -Get used to the maps. Certain maps have really high traffic areas. Array has a long walkway to the west that is nearly always being contended. Get used to buildings and their sight lines.
    -Get used to CoD and the pace of the game in general.
    -Pick beginner difficulty and once you try out most of the maps, see how to get on in medium to track how much you've improved.

2. Play mercenary teamdeathmatch.
    Parties aren't allowed in MTDM and generally the standard is a notch lower compared to regular TDM as a result. It's not really fair that people as new to Black Ops like yourself are having to fight against some 5th+ prestige players that have everything figures out, but it's not going to change now.

3. Play smart.
    Watch corners, you quickly learn this. Don't be Rambo running out into the front all guns blazing, try keeping to the walls/corners and check turns before taking them. Throw flashbangs/concussions before you take a corner, and if you get a hitmarker, there's obviously a person there that you can kill. A silenced weapon will help you for the first while keeping you off the enemie's radar.

4. Use Hardline/Flak Jacket.
    Hardline will make you require 1 less kill for a killstreak, thus helping you level faster by gaining more exp. Try running a Spy Plane (3), SAM Turret (4) and Napalm Strike (5) as I do. The SAM Turret takes down enemy aircraft and yields a ton of exp in the long run. Flak Jacket reduces the damage dealt from enemy equipment and grenades and people that use it swear by it, really handy for objective game types such as Demo and Sabo.

5. Follow players, sometimes.
    Follow the general path taken by a higher player but hang back. They're more likely to find someone than a new player like yourself as they'll be familiar with the maps and traffic routes. Obviously don't pick the guy that's gone 1-15. If you go into a friend's theatre mode and watch how they play and react to the evolving game you'll pick up alot of tips.

If you're having trouble finding people, try using a motion sensor. It'll give you a small circular sweep and show enemys within that radius.

Throw your name up here, and be proactive in adding people. You'll have more fun at least in a party and generally do better when playing with people you know as opposed to randomers. Say you're from Boards when you're adding people aswell.

I should add that I'm an average player but I get by :pac: KDR doesn't matter as much as those pre-pubescent 13 year olds make it out to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 overthebar1

Leeg17 wrote: »
    1. Combat training.
    - Get used to all the guns, I recommend AUG, FAL, Famas/Ak47u, AK47 for primary weapons. For secondaries try Python/CZ75 dual wield.
    -Get used to all the perks and their benefits. To start off I recommend Hacker (for knowing where claymores are).
    -Get used to the maps. Certain maps have really high traffic areas. Array has a long walkway to the west that is nearly always being contended. Get used to buildings and their sight lines.
    -Pick beginner difficulty and once you try out most of the maps, see how to get on in medium to track how much you've improved.

Parties aren't allowed in MTDM and generally the standard is a notch lower compared to regular TDM as a result. It's not really fair that people as new to Black Ops like yourself are having to fight against some 5th+ prestige players that have everything figures out, but it's not going to change now.

3. Play smart.
    Watch corners, you quickly learn this. Don't be Rambo running out into the front all guns blazing, try keeping to the walls/corners and check turns before taking them. Throw flashbangs/concussions before you take a corner, and if you get a hitmarker, there's obviously a person there that you can kill. A silenced weapon will help you for the first while keeping you off the enemie's radar.

Hardline will make you require 1 less kill for a killstreak, thus helping you level faster by gaining more exp. Try running a Spy Plane (3), SAM Turret (4) and Napalm Strike (5) as I do. The SAM Turret takes down enemy aircraft and yields a ton of exp in the long run. Flak Jacket reduces the damage dealt from enemy equipment and grenades and people that use it swear by it, really handy for objective game types such as Demo and Sabo.

Follow the general path taken by a higher player but hang back. They're more likely to find someone than a new player like yourself as they'll be familiar with the maps and traffic routes. Obviously don't pick the guy that's gone 1-15. If you go into a friend's theatre mode and watch how they play and react to the evolving game you'll pick up alot of tips.

If you're having trouble finding people, try using a motion sensor. It'll give you a small circular sweep and show enemys within that radius.

Throw your name up here, and be proactive in adding people. You'll have more fun at least in a party and generally do better when playing with people you know as opposed to randomers. Say you're from Boards when you're adding people aswell.

I should add that I'm an average player but I get by :pac: KDR doesn't matter as much as those pre-pubescent 13 year olds make it out to be.

Thanks a million. I'll try take all that on board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

In general stick to your teammates, most of them will be fcukwits but people that have been playing for a while will usually head straight for the busy spots on the maps. Are you mostly playing Black Ops or Modern Warfare 1 or 2?

If its MW2 or Blops then add a few of the lads on here, theres plenty on xbox, jump into a game with them and you'll be fast learning the ropes, the learning curve on the online mode is insane, i almost gave up a few times at first but stuck with it, its massively rewarding once you get to know the maps and start getting really good games, once you get your first big killstreak is a hugely satisfying feeling, so stick with it :) go here as well callofduty.wikia.com as its a great database for leaning the lingo of the weapons, killstreaks and maps. and watch some youtube vids, really helpful to see what other people do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

practice man, it takes years to get good and you never stop getting better.

bmw535d wrote: »

wouldnt say years, a good few weeks befoe you get good, a few months before you get to boards player standard :pac:

krudler wrote: »
    wouldnt say years, a good few weeks befoe you get good, a few months before you get to boards player standard :pac:

Well said :p
    Years, definitely not. Unless we're talking about me, fvckin' eons to even come close :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

practice, practice, practice. keep at it. it may be disheartening, being raped all the time, but you'll slowly get better. there's a very steep learning curve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,946 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Even thou its pissing me off of late, ghost should be used by newbies, it will reduced deaths by a large %

Also watch theatre alot and get good ideas from good players

I'm one of these inconsistent players so I'll try give you some advice.
    Concentrate, try be aware of the map and use spy plane as much as you can.
    Predict, Try predict the other teams movements eg....learn the maps hotspots and camping areas.
    Relax, just enjoy the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

krudler wrote: »
    In general stick to your teammates, most of them will be fcukwits but people that have been playing for a while will usually head straight for the busy spots on the maps. Are you mostly playing Black Ops or Modern Warfare 1 or 2?

If its MW2 or Blops then add a few of the lads on here, theres plenty on xbox, jump into a game with them and you'll be fast learning the ropes, the learning curve on the online mode is insane, i almost gave up a few times at first but stuck with it, its massively rewarding once you get to know the maps and start getting really good games, once you get your first big killstreak is a hugely satisfying feeling, so stick with it :) go here as well callofduty.wikia.com as its a great database for leaning the lingo of the weapons, killstreaks and maps. and watch some youtube vids, really helpful to see what other people do.

I lol'd hard :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Leeg17 wrote: »
    1. Combat training.

3. Play smart.

Far from average mate, you play the objectives like a champ.

Sorry about the double post

***Dons the El Nino shield***

:)<3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭papajimsmooth

1) If your not using a silencer your gonna die alot. Use warlord to get an extra sight if you need it.
    2) Spy plane should always be your first killstreak
    3) Use hacker on nearly every class until you get the hang of how people plant claymores and the usual places they put them. Gaymores will kill you alot when your new
    4) I would recommend ghost as your first perk for a while as it will allow you to move around unnoticed and get the jump on people. Make sure if your sneaking around that you dont follow anyone who isnt in a gillie suit.
    5) Learn the difference between strategic positioning and camping. You dont want to be hiding in a corner with your silencer and ghost waiting on people to run by, but you do want to capitalize on vantage points and high traffic areas.
    6) Learn how to use your secondary grenades, nova gas is great for blocking a corridor of advancing enemies. Decoy grenade will show up on a recon plane so feel free to throw one into a room and kill the enemies going in looking for you.
    7) Flash grenades and stun grenades will stop enemy equipment for going of, and you will know they are because you will be using hacker:cool:
    8) Campers rarely move so make sure to throw a grenade where they were last time. If you throw a stun grenade and you get hit detection he is still there.
    9) If an enemy is on the floor above you shooting out the window stand underneath the window and cook of a grenade, the crosshairs pulse i think it explodes on 4 pulses so leave it till 3, the throw it up through the window so it hits the roof and lands on top of him.
    10) Have fun, thats why we play the game and some people tend to forget that.

Remember if things arent going you way you can always make a class that has a grenade launcher with hardline and the rcxd for cheap enjoyable kils :D

Watch youtube videos. Guys like TmarTn and ONS1AUGH7 have some great series' that really help you get better.

LakesKeane wrote: »
    I lol'd hard :D

Its true though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

bmw535d wrote: »

Thats not working for me , i'm getting worse with age :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Play Ground war and there are more players playing so therefore its easier to find someone to shoot. It also introduces you to maps with specific references to areas when you get to play domination.

Don't be afraid to camp in a corner till you get the hang of an area. Its not going to make you a popular player at the start but you'll start moving about when you get better. You'll find the regular routes of other players and will see how they move and this will help your game.

Always try pay particular attention a map and when starting off try to get familiar with a particular area of a map, and make it your own. When you have that conquered move to a new area, and eventually you will be familiar with lots of different areas. Having played domination in Ground war this will help you familiarize yourself with certain areas by the flags that are located in them.

After that its down to finding a gun that you feel comfortable with and practice practice practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

If playing with Black Ops go with Assault Gun with these perks.
    Ghost or scavenger/Sleight of hand/Marathon or Ninja

Pay particular heed to the challenges to get the pro versions as they give you a huge advantage...
    Ghost pro renders you invisible to all planes/helis/spy planes (essential for hardcore)
    Scavenger pro gives you extra ammo as well as resupply both lethal and tactical grenades.
    Here is one of the most important ones - Sleight of hand, the pro version gives you an extremely fast aim down the sight which gives you an extra second when coming up against another player who is also aiming down the sight. The opposite to this is steady aim which gives you better accuracy shooting un-aimed and the pro version gives you faster aiming after running. I definitely recommend sleight over steady though...it's important that you get the first shot off and 1 second makes a huge difference, then again I play on the pc and I reckon most xbox games will use steady aim from what I see..

Ninja again is critical on hardcore maps..your footsteps are hugely reduced noise-wise and the pro version means you make no noise and enemy footsteps are louder.
    Marathon I use on normal mode to give me that extra sprint...pro version gives you unlimited sprint.

Also tactical insertion is fantastic...I never used it in previous COD games but it really comes into it's own on Black ops..always put it somewhere the enemy is not likely to look or close to an objective...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Robby91

Decoy grenade will show up on a recon plane so feel free to throw one into a room and kill the enemies going in looking for you.
    I don't see Decoy Grenades being used much so I'm not certain of this, but I thought they showed on radar with/without a Recon Plane because of the noise they generate.

As regards perks to use, I personally find that Flak Jacket - Hardened - Hacker (currently each are at Pro) is a very worthwhile combination.
    • Flak Jacket giving you the ability to survive a grenade (launcher) hit [if you've played on Nuketown, I'm sure you've seen the hail of explosives that rain down in the first 10sec :P], or Claymore that would've otherwise killed you is quite helpful IMO and once Flak Jacket gets to pro, you take massively reduced damage from fire (to the point where you can walk through a Napalm Strike without dying)
    • Hardened's normal benefit may not be all that good for you until you get accustomed to gauging where abouts an enemy would be behind a wall (such as people shooting from windows, while not being in direct Line of Sight), but the Pro version reduces the flinching effect that occurs which gives you a greatly improved chance of winning a fight if someone gets the first shot on you (since your crosshair won't be pointing at the sky :))
    • As people have said already, Hacker is just plain awesome - while Flak Jacket would save you from dying to a Claymore, you can always just avoid the damage altogether and Flash/Concussion Grenade ahead of you, or shoot it through the wall and knock some health off any nearby enemies :P

Although, Ghost probably would serve you better than Flak Jacket while you are learning to play, just to keep your visibility to the enemy (on radar, at least) to a minimum - dying to grenades and such isn't exactly uncommon but deaths to a gun are far more likely so you may as well hide yourself from the guns :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

I'm a keen MW2 player and would have to admit some level of addiction. It is tough at first. you have less weapons and everyone seems faster and stronger. It takes time. In relation to MW2 I would say the following: -

1/Learn the maps, knowing how people move around the map and getting a feel for the flow of battle is paramount. most maps are 2 sided with two teams starting at each end, one team will get the first kills and the losers will start respawing at the other end, turn around and head back. over the course of a game there will be choke points that are regulaly used. see what other players do.

2/ Find a technique that suits you. I'm an a assault rifile person that needs slight of hand to give me an edge to get kills. others use speed and shotguns or pistols, then there is the dreaded sniper. perks make a huge difference.

3/ adust your controller sensitivity to a higher setting slowly over time. This will be difficult to get used to but all the really good players have high sens settings which means they can spin and turn and aim in a fraction of the time you would on normal settings.

4/ go round corners carefully and always put your sights where the enemies would most likley be where your heading wherever you travel.

Finally dont get disheartened. It takes time and peole like me have been playing for ever and just getting a little better every time.

I use the scar(and red dot) + thumper or stinger. flash + semtex, slight of hand, stopping power and commando. it's a good all round combo that works for me.

PS - if your dying before using your nades then start using them, toss long into rooms and round corners where you think folks might be. if you see the cross, rush and get the juicy kill. mmmm flash kills, sweet.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Lantus wrote: »
    I'm a keen MW2 player and would have to admit some level of addiction. It is tough at first. you have less weapons and everyone seems faster and stronger. It takes time. In relation to MW2 I would say the following: -

1/Learn the maps, knowing how people move around the map and getting a feel for the flow of battle is paramount. most maps are 2 sided with two teams starting at each end, one team will get the first kills and the losers will start respawing at the other end, turn around and head back. over the course of a game there will be choke points that are regulaly used. see what other players do.

2/ Find a technique that suits you. I'm an a assault rifile person that needs slight of hand to give me an edge to get kills. others use speed and shotguns or pistols, then there is the dreaded sniper. perks make a huge difference.

3/ adust your controller sensitivity to a higher setting slowly over time. This will be difficult to get used to but all the really good players have high sens settings which means they can spin and turn and aim in a fraction of the time you would on normal settings.

4/ go round corners carefully and always put your sights where the enemies would most likley be where your heading wherever you travel.

Finally dont get disheartened. It takes time and peole like me have been playing for ever and just getting a little better every time.

I use the scar(and red dot) + thumper or stinger. flash + semtex, slight of hand, stopping power and commando. it's a good all round combo that works for me.

PS - if your dying before using your nades then start using them, toss long into rooms and round corners where you think folks might be. if you see the cross, rush and get the juicy kill. mmmm flash kills, sweet.

A lot of sensible advice as is the other posts but had to pull ya up on that part.

Using Youtube as reference.
    Jawz and Socertes both use 5 and 3 sensitivity and they are two of the very best Youtube players around. Both take part in competitive gaming too.

I personally use 3-4 all the way going back to COD2 and my scores are just dandy for the most part.

Some players are comfortable at 2 and others are at 10. Experiment yes, but
    there is no shame using a low sensitivity. If anything, too many people use a high one because they hear of this misconception that all the best players use it. Think Hutch(or Woodysgamertag) even said it himself recently he had to turn down his one from 8 to 4 for BOPS.

I played on 5 to 7 in MW2, had to go back to 3 for Blops. Most pros use 2 to 4. That doesn't mean that'll suit you though. Start at around 3, move up to 4, play around for a while, if you're comfortable, move to 5. Once you get out of your comfor zone go down one lower and that *should* be the sensitivity that suits you. Sensitivit feels very differend in Blops compared to other games, can't put my finger on it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

A lot of sensible advice as is the other posts but had to pull ya up on that part.

Using Youtube as reference.
    Jawz and Socertes both use 5 and 3 sensitivity and they are two of the very best Youtube players around. Both take part in competitive gaming too.

I personally use 3-4 all the way going back to COD2 and my scores are just dandy for the most part.

Some players are comfortable at 2 and others are at 10. Experiment yes, but
    there is no shame using a low sensitivity. If anything, too many people use a high one because they hear of this misconception that all the best players use it. Think Hutch(or Woodysgamertag) even said it himself recently he had to turn down his one from 8 to 4 for BOPS.
    I don't know tbh, I've been considering lowering mine but I'm fairly comfortable on a high one and when you think about it, being able to turn faster than the other guy is a huge advantage and when I started out (COD 4) I didn't know about look sensitivity and since I heightened it I've become much better, but obviously practicing probably played a huge part in it.

The thing about higher sensitivity is it's only advantageous to you if you can handle it. I can't aim for ****e at a higher sensitivity therefore it doesn't give me an advantage. If you can handle it, more power to ya :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Agreed that Blops and MW2 are different regarding sensitivity. I used to hover between 9 - 10 on MW 2 and now I'm just getting used to 7 on Blops.

I find the higher sensitivity is easier for sniping because when you catch someone from the corner of your eye running across the map you want to get him before he gets behind cover. Other than that, there's no major benefit.

Although it is also nice when someone shoots you once and you turn around like the tazmanian devil and headshot him :pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Liam O wrote: »
    I don't know tbh, I've been considering lowering mine but I'm fairly comfortable on a high one and when you think about it, being able to turn faster than the other guy is a huge advantage and when I started out (COD 4) I didn't know about look sensitivity and since I heightened it I've become much better, but obviously practicing probably played a huge part in it.

Well again, most people cannot handle a higher a sensitivity despite using 8+. Very few actually get an actual advantage by using it. If anything it's very slight for those who can handle it.

I'm sure in MW2 for example I'm sure there were tons of players with a higher sensitivity(I was medium, so 3? Not sure) and I still won more battles than I lost and that is in regards to both good ol pub stomping or comp matches.

Probably helps I'm one paranoid SOB though so I'm always fully expecting someone to be near me, gives me the edge more often than not when a battle is fair(ie: no BS noob tubing or stuff of that nature).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

I only learnt about sensitivity a short while ago. I was going to put up a post to find out what most of ye guys are using. Interesting to read this thread.

I'm still using 2. I moved up to 3 for a while and had some pretty good results with it. It's back down to 2 now as I use a shared account, most of the guys were freaking out when it was up to 3, so I put the default back down. I change it the odd time.

I did try going up to 4 and 5 but couldnt aim at all at that level. I honestly have no idea how people use the really fast levels.... but it bugs the crap out of me that ye can :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Play in a party with some mates, talk to each other over the mics where you see an enemy or got killed by one.

Class setup:
    Like others have said, use a silenced weapon, not m16 though as it's pretty tough to use silenced. Any automatic assault rifle silenced is good. Others have mentioned their choice previously. The disadvantage of the silencer means you don't get a sight for a gun unless with Warlord (gives you 2 options) so it can be awkward at first. SMGs aren't as suitable to be silenced but they can kill quicker up close. Ak74 is all you'll need. LMGs initially are poor but once you get the m60 try it and the stoner. Sniping is tough as you again have poorer guns initially and lack the pro perks to make the most of the class. Also avoid IR sight at all costs for all classes. Shotguns aren't my cup of tea so others can talk about them.

If you find yourself killed while reloading or run out of bullets, then maybe use sleight of hand or dual mags (doubles starting ammo). Extended mags work better on LMGs. Also be on the lookout for guns, change your secondary, especially at a lower level where you don't have access to all guns. There are few things more satisfying than picking up a silenced ak47 with dual mags and you have sleight of hand on.

Perk choice:
    Hardline gets you a spyplane in two kills so that helps you loads to improve your kills/death ratio which is usually a good indicator for keeping track of your improvement as a player.

Ghost is also the most important pro perk initially when starting so try get it done. Flak Jacket is right beind it, but is more important for domination game modes. Also Sleight of hand is the best secondary perk for most situations. Tertiary perks you should try are Hacker; see all equipment/turrets so no more finding claymores the hardway. Marathon is also very useful. Ninja with Ghost is also very good combo.

Kill streaks:
    Choose low level killstreaks, if you managed to accrew all 3 in a life, you've done well. Spyplane/Counter/Napalm is very useful. Kill 4 people call in counterspy only. Just before you get a fifth kill use the UAV and then napalm their spawn. Just watch where you put your own napalm. Napalm on objectives is very useful too.

I found the transition from 3/4/5 to 3/4/8(blackbird) fairly easy when in a party and more than likely your teammates killstreaks will aid you also, providing they don't use rcxds instead of spyplanes.

There is a learning curve and it takes time and perseverance at times but you'll improve. Everyone starts at the bottom. This quote from layer cake sums it up:
    You're born, you take sh*t. You get out in the world, you take more sh*t. You climb a little higher, you take less sh*t. Till one day you're up in the rarefied atmosphere and you've forgotten what sh*t even looks like. Welcome to the layer cake son.