Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public reaction.. Has your experience been....

• 04-01-2011 8:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

Good, bad or indifferent to the job and you as a soldier?.

I'm not adding a poll otherwise we risk a spill over from the clusterfook from another forum.

I was thinking during the last few days, having read and replied in the thread in AH, that in 25yrs service my experience with dealing with the public has been nothing but positive.

On learning I'm a soldier a stranger usually responds overwhelmingly positive to me, usually the first question is "have you been abroad?".. And older people have told me ''you've the cut of a soldier'' (this I take as a huge compliment).

What has your experience been like, both as a member of the RDF & PDF?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

RDF for me, It has been positive too, always along the lines of "cool" and "where can I join" only time anything negative was said was when going for Range practice I always got the same reply from friends etc "It is/it will be raining and freezing/snowing outside this morning/tomorrow"....Sure it is always freezing at the Range. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I spent 2 years in the RDF when I was in school (it was the FCA when I was there :D). I used to get a bit of very lighthearted stick about it from friends etc, but it never phased me because I was so very proud to be wearing the uniform of an Irish soldier. It was my goal to be a soldier and it proved to be a great stepping stone. The response I got off peers, friends, teachers etc was a very positive one, they always knew I would end up as a soldier and I loved it.

When I joined the PDF (straight after my leaving cert, thank feck cos there are more points on my fence than there are on my LC!!......and I dont have a fence:)) people that knew me closely were very supportive, people that had not seen me in a while were surprised, no one had a bad word to say.

Support for my career choice grew further when I was in Recruit Training and I tried to explain to people what it was like and how tough it was. Civvies really dont get it no matter how many times you explain stuff and I dont blame them. People were impressed and bewildered with the complexities and challenges of military life. I first served overseas when I was 19, my friends couldnt comprehend why I was going, never mind where I was going.

In the first 9 years of my military career I have never heard a bad word uttered by the public about the DF. However in the last two years things have changed. We are now the "evil Public Sector" and our role is to waste the taxpayers money. Its my fault that people dont have a job. Its my fault that patients are on trollies and chairs in the A&E instead of beds. Its my fault that the country in bits.

I wanted to be an Irish soldier. I wanted to have some connection with great Irish warriors of the past. From the mythical Cúchulain, to a High King of Ireland, to continue the legacy of all the brave Irish men who fought and died for other nations and causes throughout history and mainly for the participants of the foundation of our great State. Many of these latter people died to allow me the choice to wear an Irish uniform.

I love this country and I believe in its people. We are a unique small speck on the planet but we as a nation, throughout history have contributed so much to civilisation and I am proud of that. The only thing I can do is continue to serve my county and its people, in any way that is needed.

In recent times I have been heavily verbally abused by people because I am a soldier and as a consequence, a Public Servant. I dont mind, I can take it. People need someone to blame, il be that guy if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

RDF here. For the most part it has been positive. It's usually just a "Ah yeah, fair play." . Doing things like the Easter GOH, or National Day of Commemoration that the public see you, if they know the difference between green and black. Even down to a bus driver letting you on for free now and again :):o Or getting kids wanting to know what it's like or what gear we have or what I do out on the ground or the joys of carrying an 81 barrel up and down cemetery hill.

You will always get the gobsh!tes who go on with the likes of fools carrying arms, or rapid desertion force. I like to think that these are guys who quit during recruit training because the mean corporal shouted at them. Or lads trying to stare you out of it on the Luas. The most negative, that I can remember, was being informed that I was a murdering rapist tanner which was certainly news to me to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭BuckJamesRogers

For me it's been mostly positive. Got a free bus trip once and people have shaken my hand and things like that. It's cool enough :) When I was in America it was a different world though. People would thank me for my service and buy me drinks and things. Free subways (the transport ;) ), free taxi ride, free bus tickets and things!

Worst I've heard was not me but someone I was talking to, they were called a baby killer :confused:

EDIT: RDF here btw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

For me it's been mostly positive. Got a free bus trip once and people have shaken my hand and things like that. It's cool enough :) When I was in America it was a different world though. People would thank me for my service and buy me drinks and things. Free subways (the transport ;) ), free taxi ride, free bus tickets and things!

Worst I've heard was not me but someone I was talking to, they were called a baby killer :confused:

EDIT: RDF here btw

Thats amazing, two memories from the USA.

Once in the Manhattan Mall, NYC I was buying an iPod in Radio shack and the lady serving noticed I'd an army bag with me (my ID was in the ID tag holder). I explained that I was an Irish soldier and not American, didn't matter I got a discount.

Another time getting on the Staten Island ferry - same bag & ID, free ride!.

Of course at home I've never had similar, but my experiences with Joe Public has however always been positive and flies in the face of the tiraid of abuse the moderators in After Hours allowed us take.

Thats amazing, two memories from the USA.

Once in the Manhattan Mall, NYC I was buying an iPod in Radio shack and the lady serving noticed I'd an army bag with me (my ID was in the ID tag holder). I explained that I was an Irish soldier and not American, didn't matter I got a discount.

Another time getting on the Staten Island ferry - same bag & ID, free ride!.

Of course at home I've never had similar, but my experiences with Joe Public has however always been positive and flies in the face of the tiraid of abuse the moderators in After Hours allowed us take.

I know, right?
    I was in Macy's in Jersey and the sales assistant mentioned the 10% off for tourists so I went to check it out and they asked for proof of nationality but all I had was my Garda age card and she seemed quite reluctant but then I remembered the RDFRA card (:rolleyes:) and there was absolutely no hesitation. Same mall I was getting something to eat and the girl serving asked why I was in NY/NJ and I mentioned the parade and us marching in it and she gave me 50% off. It's kinda strange :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

RDF here,and friends of the family are always really interested to hear of my time in the RDF. From my Recruit training to my NCOs course.

Everyone asks me about the NCOs course,and at the time I thought nothing of it,it was only after telling people what I was doing during our 3 weekends and 2 weeks that they commented on how hard it sounded that I really began to understand the effort myself and others in the RDF put in. Yes the organisation may be flawed structurally, but it has a lot of highly motivated and ready and willing people looking to get involved,and when people take the time to listen to those involved they can see this too.

I recently had a South African man come up to me in town and comment on me being in the Army and say well done to me,he had crossed from the other side of the street to do so!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'd appreciate it if you wouldn't take snipes at the after hours moderators and the way they moderate seeing as we afford you and the rest of the moderators on this site the same courtesy. If someone started a thread in after hours complaining about how you or any other moderator on this site moderated their forum I'd lock the thread and tell them to take it to the help desk. The fact that you carried over your grievances with the after hours mods (I think it's safe to say that it's more me than the rest of them) and making sniping comments about the ah moderation and the posters of after hours has actually caused me to lose a little respect for you, which I'd never thought I'd say seeing as I think you're a pretty decent guy.

For the record, I actually do hold you guys in quite high a regard. As a whole that is, I have no doubts there are a few wasters and muppets among your ranks but you have that in every walk of life. I have a couple of friends (well they're friends of a friends but I've had many a good night drinking with them :)) who are in the IDF and loads of friends who were/are in the FCA. I've never been to Lebanon, Afghanistan, East Timor, Liberia or anywhere else ye've served but I've seen enough about these places to know that serving there is no walk in the park. Ye guys have a tough job and you do a lot of good in the world so fair play to ye for doing it. P.S. I don't think it's possible for me to hate anyone who uses a P90. Those things are shít cool, loved them every since I seen one way back when in an episode of stargate. I couldn't believe they were real when I found out, I thought they were just made up for the show.

In case anyone is wondering why the comments in the after hours thread were left in place, I'll explain why. People like to rant and whinge about things. If we stopped them whinging about you guys being lazy bastards who do nothing but engage in arse scratching contests, then we'd have to stop them whinging about every other group of people or organisations. We'd have to stop them whinging about politicians being corrupt or useless, taxi-drivers, bus drivers, ryanair, public sector, old people, young people, stupid people, smart people, animals, children/babies etc. etc.

Also what would removing the comments actually accomplish? For example, there was a thread a while back complaining about the ESB giving free electricity to it's employees. People complained saying that it was no wonder we had the highest electricity prices in the EU. Turns out it wasn't true and even if it was irish electricity prices are in or around the EU average and the ESB aren't allowed set their own prices so if they wanted to half the cost of electricity here they wouldn't be allowed do it. What would deleting those comments have done? All it would have done is removed them from view. Whereas when they are still there people can come along and show those people that they are wrong and educate them. Sure some won't listen and blabber on regardless but some will.

TL;DR? You guys rawk! People whinge and if we stopped them whinging about one thing we'd have to stop them whinging about the rest. If someone posts something that is incorrect, then show them the error of their ways.

I'd appreciate it if you wouldn't take snipes at the after hours moderators ....

TL;DR? You guys rawk! People whinge and if we stopped them whinging about one thing we'd have to stop them whinging about the rest. If someone posts something that is incorrect, then show them the error of their ways.

Ok, first off I shouldn't have said anything about the moderators in AH in this thread.

TL;DR -nope I read it. What happened in AH wasn't a someone whinging, it was tirade of abuse. Corrections were madewhere applicable only to be totally ignored and abuse continued, so much so infact that during yesterday I was in the city (Dublin, in uniform) and for the first time in my career I actually questioned did the public really have such a low opinion of me that they may have thought I was even close to half the things we were called in that thread - hence this thread, but to finish this.. I didn't start this thread to take a shot at the AH moderators, who I believe I've a good relationship with (mostly). It was started to get the opinion of the lads here who serve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bill2673

"it has caused me to lose a little respect for you, which I never thought I'd say as i actually think you're a pretty guy"......

what the heck is this? Oprah? Jerry Springer....

good thing ya didn't post that on After Hours; they'd rip you to pieces for this sort of stuff.......they'd rip you to pieces for a lot less ;)

Back on topic, I'm not in the army (although I do have a family connection, my uncle was one of Irish Guard at Kennedy's funeral).....I was in Pakistan a few years back and met a number of UN people there near the Afghan border and was very pleased to hear all the great things that they had to say about Irish/ UN peacekeepers they had come across over the years.

Bill2673 wrote: »
    "it has caused me to lose a little respect for you, which I never thought I'd say as i actually think you're a pretty guy"......

what the heck is this? Oprah? Jerry Springer....

good thing ya didn't post that on After Hours; they'd rip you to pieces for this sort of stuff.......they'd rip you to pieces for a lot less ;)

I'd rather that was dropped now, it was an error of judgement on my behalf mentioning the AH moderators here, in hindsight I'd rather it was deleted but its been qouted and there's nothing I can do to take it away now - damage is done.

Moving right along and back on topic hopefully..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I can't think of a reason why the Irish public would have a low opinion of our military.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Morlar wrote: »
    I can't think of a reason why the Irish public would have a low opinion of our military.

I can. But that is in no way a reflection of the personnel, more a reflection on the lack of investment from successive governments.

But, imho, the AH thread was the usual puppets that slag Irish football, the public sector, the government etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I can. But that is in no way a reflection of the personnel, more a reflection on the lack of investment from successive governments.

As mentioned that is not the fault of the Military but the govt & I think we can tell those 2 apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Morlar wrote: »
    As mentioned that is not the fault of the Military but the govt & I think we can tell those 2 apart.

I agree, it wasn't my intention to imply otherwise.

The problem is, some people can't see that distinction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I agree, it wasn't my intention to imply otherwise.

The problem is, some people can't see that distinction.

Exactly. These are the people that usually ignore the fact that most other public sectors in this country are a complete black hole for money which the Government keeps trying to fill. The DF is efficient with what little funds it gets yet still gets the usual "its a waste of money" line thrown at it.

But bringing the thread somewhat back OT, once people talk to those in the DF they soon get an understanding as to the time and effort put in by those serving,often without little monetary gain.

Its good to see the press office trying to keep the DF in the public view with the likes of Twitter, Facebook and Youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

I'm not in the army lads but I'll just say I respect everyone of yous. It's not an easy job and it's a job in this country that a lot of people love to slate, but everyone of you does a tough job which requires a lot more discipline, practice and fitness than most areas on civilian life.

You go abroad to help others and in doing so put yourselves in danger, see things very few people would see let alone should see and make a real difference to peoples lives in the process. I plan on joining the army once I've finished uni, what army I join I don't know but I know for a fact I'll certainly join one.

Don't listen to people who slate you, yous do a hard job for low pay, much respect to each and everyone of you who is serving or has served, regardless of what army.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

PDF here.

In my 3 years serving, it's been a mix of both really. On the good side tell me about the respect they have for me for doing the job, have had people stop me in the street and shake my hand etc. and even during the recent cold snap, I got a chance to help people who needed help.

On the other side, while out performing ACA duties we were called everything from **** to being told to "Get that ****ing snow out of my way" etc. having the usual arseholes talking nonsense about being Free Staters etc.

In all fairness though, I didn't join this job to have people pat me on the back. I joined because I wanted to challenge myself, serve my country, do a job I'm personally proud of and join an organisation that has served this state since it came into existence.

I got to take part in the Easter Rising Commemoration in 2010 and I can honestly say I was brimming with pride while standing in front of the GPO. How many people in Ireland get to pay their respects in such a manner?

While I was running around Ft. Davis last year carrying over 60lbs of kit, I was having the time of my life and testing my own abilities... How many people are capable of doing the same?

When I became a 2 Star Private and finally gained the priviledge of wearing the black beret, it was one of the best days of my life. When I passed out as a 3 Star, seeing my family brimming with pride and knowing what I had accomplished after seeing so many not able to hack it, it was the best day of my life.

I wake up every morning and get to wear a uniform with the Tricolour on it.

Personally, I don't give a **** what anyone has to say to me about my job. The nice comments are nice to hear, the flutes making snide comments, not quite as nice but so what?

I'm proud of my job and the organisation I serve.

Poccington, take as a compliment and not me throwing a break.. But you've an old head on young soldiers, I'd have never guessed you had only 3 yrs service.

Well done, your certainly on the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Not Defense Forces and never have been but thought I'd post.

In the past, before my present posting, I regularly was assisted by the defence forces in aid to the civil power, and for a much longer stint at another stage. I have to say the professionalism show by all week in, week out was of the highest class. Always friendly, always up for a chat but when the job was being done....game face was on.

All the public don't like my profession.....can't think of any reason why ANYONE would dislike the DF. Well done lads, I have utmost respect for ye all.

I have utmost respect for ye all.

I think its mostly the same from the lads in the DF, on and off duty.

Whenever I'm driving past a Garda on (army vehicle) I'll always give a nod and its always returned and 50/50 its the Guard who initiates the acknowledgement.

When I'm off duty & in civies I'll always do the same if passing a guard on the street, usually just a nod of the head.

I train with your lads in the Garda Judo team out in Westmanstown on Wednesdays, great bunch of lads.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'd have to disagree with you there. I think the main reason is that all the equipment and pay comes from tax money and they see it as a waste of money. The same way that some of people in America give NASA abuse and the same things said about the public sector get said about the army e.g. lazy and paid too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Army guys are damned hot. Much sexier that the gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Cool Running

RDF here.

Have always found Ive got a positive reaction from the public. Any time Ive been marching in the parade or coming back from training in uniform it's been positive.

Get a bit of slagging sometimes off friends but it's usually just a bit of craic. If anyone keeps slagging the DF I usually just say to them that they wouldn't last two minutes in it and explain to them about parades, room inspections etc

Had one incident on my last camp when we were doing a map reading course. Three members who were PDF were coming down a lane when stopped by locals and asked why they were on private land. As far as we knew it was Coillte, anyways the locals started to give out to the lads asking them why they were doing map reading and that they should all be given pay cuts. One of the NCOs simply said that we just do what the minister instructs us to do.

Some people will naturally give out about anything and the army is an easy target because the majority of people don't know a lot about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Not a soldier by any stretch of the imagination. 20 year old college student and browser here.

Have to say ever since studying History I've gained enormous respect for soldiers. I think it's one of the bravest, toughest and selfless jobs and probably so rewarding that one could hold. When you see all that cheesy stuff in America about the troops getting saluted by civillians and the like, I don't see why that can't be carried out over here. To hear our soldiers getting insulted is an utter disgrace and it tells you an awful lot about the people hurling abuse.

Remember if there's a conflict or emergency, everyone will look to the Defence Force and its soldiers to save them. I've no doubt you folks will do your jobs. I can't say enough about soldiers and I respect them, but moreso you guys hugely.

Top thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭newby.204

I think the reason we do get abuse is that by and large most civvies havent got a clue about the army in any respect, they dont deal with us at all, the only time they might is if they see soldiers outside banks on escorts and outside of that most of them think we do nothing. By and large we are not a militarised society we never have been and we never will. The "we are neutral brigade" dont really help much either, now im not saying by any means that i want to be sent to war torn parts of the world by any means but if you sign up it has to be accepted as a risk, as much as there is a risk that you may find yourself in a position where you may or may not have to shoot/kill someone.

Im from a barracks town so there is no real reaction to me being in the army, every bollox and his dog is, and if they arent they are related to or know someone who is in. The only thing that does bug me, and i sappose its just ignorance if the job, is the ridiculous questions i have been asked about my job, and also when i do give people some insight into what i do, the old paddy the pig mentality comes out and to paraphrase, i am apparently "full of it"

newby.204 wrote: »
    is the ridiculous questions i have been asked about my job, and also when i do give people some insight into what i do, the old paddy the pig mentality comes out and to paraphrase, i am apparently "full of it"

I think we all get that.. They ask questions and don't really like the answer, usually its to do with oversea's experiences.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

A lot of the time you are in a no win situation with some people.

They just don't like the military full stop, and they'll lambast you for being a 'dad's army'. Then if you explain we are a professional defence force, who serve overseas with some of the best equipment in the world and pound for pound could put it up to any other light infantry force, then all of a sudden they are lambasting you for being a complete waste of money.

Then the type of abuse in After Hours was just a manifestation of internet tough guyism. As you said Makikomi, its a rare occasion that you receive anything but the height of praise and admiration from Joe Public when you are out on the street.

As for America, I was over there on Veterans day, and took full advantage of the 25% off everything in the mall :D Although I did find the putting of the military on a pedastal over there does take it a tad bit far. I was at two basketball games and at half time 50 or so new entrants were paraded infront of the crowds and cheered for being heroes of the nation. It was all very North Koreanesque.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Don't understand why you would get anything less than respect from the ordinary citizen tbh.

Personally it really pisses me off to see DF people referred to as "free staters", using such as a slur, by what can only be described as idiots and retards.

Also this is a post I wrote in a politics thread a while back when people were saying we should disband the army. I think it sums up nicely that we in fact don't do 'fcuk all'.
    yekahs wrote:
    Our defence budget for last year was around 700 million. Sure its a lot, but in the grand scheme of things its a pittance of the budget. Disbanding our DF would be a purely a political ploy, and not a genuine effort to save money.

The thing about an army is, its like an insurance policy. Its there for when something goes wrong in the country, then the army can fill the breach.

A lot of the work the army does is something that you won't see. Anyone who has taken money out of the atm, the likelihood is, it was delivered there safely by the DF. Last year alone there were over 200 call outs of the EOD(Explosive Ordnance Disposal) teams. Of those call outs about 70 were viable devices. Thats a lot of peoples lives, and property that were potentially saved. Theres a constant armed presence in Portlaise prison where the countries most dangerous prisoners are contained.

The navy alone has intercepted over 1.7 Billion worth of illegal drugs coming into the country. A huge amount of money is saved by the fishery protection offered by the DF. The Air corps provide an air ambulance service. Just last week two lives were saved by this service. Last year 80 air ambulance missions were carried out.

Then overseas we provide invaluable support to troubled nations. We are recognised as an extremely professional and effective peace keeping force. Also, its worth noting that the UN pays the government for soldiers and equipment, so UN missions do not cost the state money, and allow our army to keep current and well practiced.

During the last decade, or so called boom times, when the public sector as a whole swelled and spent extravagantly, the DF reduced its numbers, modernised its equipment (paid for by selling off properties) and reformed work practices. The DF is seen as a model organisation for its leading HR practices, care of personnel, reduction in waste, both financially and in literal terms. In the coming years if the public service is to reform, they could do well to look to the defence forces as a place to see how actual reform looks. The organisation is unrecognisable from 20 years ago. The money we do get, we spend very well. We are always in the bottom three for defence expenditure, yet we manage to be in the top 3 per capita for troops serving overseas.

Also, I don't think the argument that other groups could fulfil the DF's roles better hold water. If you were to hand over the job to An Garda Síochana you would not save money. A member of the armed AGS units earns far far more than a soldier in the army. Also they do not have the benefit of a 6 decades of overseas service. Why bother adding bureaucracy and red tape by having 10 different organisations doing 10 different jobs, when the DF can do them all?

Is there room to improve and provide even more value for money? Absolutely, and I guarantee that the DF will, as usual, be at the front of any public sector reform. One thing about the DF is when they are told to do something, they do it, as is evidenced by the fact that they are the only part of the public service who actually reformed through the benchmarking years. Is there a case to disband the army? I don't think so anyway...

(Obviously I am a member of the DF, but I don't represent them in any official capacity, I'm just a soldier who is proud of the army)

yekahs wrote: »
    Also this is a post I wrote in a politics thread a while back when people were saying we should disband the army. I think it sums up nicely that we in fact don't do 'fcuk all'.

Nice one mate. What kind of response did you get back?

No one responded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Its hard for me to contribute without starting a neutrality debate. I think a succession of Irish goverments have failed the Military consistantly in the states history.

An ADF mate of mine encountered Irish trooops in Timor and re-called them in glowing proffesional terms. Being Irish that conversation made me feel proud.

My folks met the Irish Naval service in Cairo, Eqypt when they docked there. He also said what a great credit those guys were.

Sadly I dont think I will ever see a day like Anzac Day* is here for you guys in Ireland but never think your efforts or hard work go un-noticed.

*http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anzac_Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Pyridine

I was in the FCÁ for 5 years a long time ago when I was finishing in school/starting college. In general the response was always positive but you'd get the odd snide remark but to be honest I was never so gung-ho about the whole thing so I'd just laugh it off.

It gave me some really funny memories though. I always found that the dress uniform brought "trouble"! :D

Standing at the bus stop in Rathmines having done a ministerial gaurd my friend and me were just chatting away. Two auld lads come up and start poking and prodding us and inspecting the crossed rifles on uor lapelles!! We were both thinking "What the ****!" but they just wanted to know what they meant so when we explained it was infantry they were happy and plodded away.

At the same bus stop, again in the dress uniform, a woman came up and asked "so are you a soldier?" Not wanting to explain the whole RDF/PDF thing I just said yes. After that she started to rave at me about the kids playing football in the church grounds and how the army should "sort them out!" She then drew my attention to the add for Special K on the bus stop and satrted to go on about the whore in the photo. At this point the young couple who were also standing at the bus stop started to get really anxious and eded away. Turns out anyway that she wanted the army to storm all the ad agancies and kill all the ad men (and women) and also storm the universities as her son didn't get enough points for engineering in UCD. I just told her I'd mention it to my CO and see what he said. She turned around then and said "that's a REALLY good idea!" As my bus was coming she tried to grab my arm to continue the conversation but I was too fast. :D

Never forget being in the back of the trucks heading to Kilbride and a coach full of young school kids stopped in traffic on the other side of the road. They were all hunched around the window looking at us with our rifles and one of them eventually got the courage to wave over. We all waved back and suddenly every kid in the coach started to wave really energetically. Coming back from that range it started to hail stone and the corporal on security was getting lashed out of it. The hail stated to go into the breech of the Gustav SMG (yep it's THAT long ago!) so he held it outside the truck, upturned it and tapped the hail out onto the bonnet of the car behind. The driver looked a little shocked and then pissed himself laughing! :D

The funniest and most embarrassing though again came because of the dress uniform. On the bus heading home, just keeping to myself. Bus stops and a family, mam, dad and 2 kids start to make their way to the exit. The dad goes, "did you see the army man?" and one of the kids says yeah enthuasiastically, while the other says "no" and starts to cry because he didn't get to see me. Bus pulls off but gets stuck in traffic about 5 metres from the stop so what happens next. Daddy lifts little Jimmy up to my window so he can have a good gawk. Scared the sh1t out of me!! :D

Anyway sorry for the long reply! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 regulardave

Pyridine wrote: »
    I was in the FCÁ for 5 years a long time ago when I was finishing in school/starting college. In general the response was always positive but you'd get the odd snide remark but to be honest I was never so gung-ho about the whole thing so I'd just laugh it off.

It gave me some really funny memories though. I always found that the dress uniform brought "trouble"! :D

Standing at the bus stop in Rathmines having done a ministerial gaurd my friend and me were just chatting away. Two auld lads come up and start poking and prodding us and inspecting the crossed rifles on uor lapelles!! We were both thinking "What the ****!" but they just wanted to know what they meant so when we explained it was infantry they were happy and plodded away.

At the same bus stop, again in the dress uniform, a woman came up and asked "so are you a soldier?" Not wanting to explain the whole RDF/PDF thing I just said yes. After that she started to rave at me about the kids playing football in the church grounds and how the army should "sort them out!" She then drew my attention to the add for Special K on the bus stop and satrted to go on about the whore in the photo. At this point the young couple who were also standing at the bus stop started to get really anxious and eded away. Turns out anyway that she wanted the army to storm all the ad agancies and kill all the ad men (and women) and also storm the universities as her son didn't get enough points for engineering in UCD. I just told her I'd mention it to my CO and see what he said. She turned around then and said "that's a REALLY good idea!" As my bus was coming she tried to grab my arm to continue the conversation but I was too fast. :D

Never forget being in the back of the trucks heading to Kilbride and a coach full of young school kids stopped in traffic on the other side of the road. They were all hunched around the window looking at us with our rifles and one of them eventually got the courage to wave over. We all waved back and suddenly every kid in the coach started to wave really energetically. Coming back from that range it started to hail stone and the corporal on security was getting lashed out of it. The hail stated to go into the breech of the Gustav SMG (yep it's THAT long ago!) so he held it outside the truck, upturned it and tapped the hail out onto the bonnet of the car behind. The driver looked a little shocked and then pissed himself laughing! :D

The funniest and most embarrassing though again came because of the dress uniform. On the bus heading home, just keeping to myself. Bus stops and a family, mam, dad and 2 kids start to make their way to the exit. The dad goes, "did you see the army man?" and one of the kids says yeah enthuasiastically, while the other says "no" and starts to cry because he didn't get to see me. Bus pulls off but gets stuck in traffic about 5 metres from the stop so what happens next. Daddy lifts little Jimmy up to my window so he can have a good gawk. Scared the sh1t out of me!! :D

Anyway sorry for the long reply! :)

Howdy Doc!

Were you there when we were standing at the bus stop in Rathmines and the woman leaned out her car window to shout "Murderers!" at us as she drove past?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Originally Posted by regulardave

Howdy Doc!

Were you there when we were standing at the bus stop in Rathmines and the woman leaned out her car window to shout "Murderers!" at us as she drove past?

Nah I missed that one....laughed at the stories though. What a muppet! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Poccington, take as a compliment and not me throwing a break.. But you've an old head on young soldiers, I'd have never guessed you had only 3 yrs service.

Well done, your certainly on the ball.

Nice one mate.

All the public don't like my profession.....can't think of any reason why ANYONE would dislike the DF. Well done lads, I have utmost respect for ye all.

And the same to you and those like you. You do a thankless job and deal with some of the worst of Irish society, I tip my hat to ya.
    Darlughda wrote: »
    Army guys are damned hot. Much sexier that the gardaí.

Can we keep you?
    At the same bus stop, again in the dress uniform, a woman came up and asked "so are you a soldier?" Not wanting to explain the whole RDF/PDF thing I just said yes.

Give over, you were just trying to pull. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Ex-RDF here, never got any hassle from people apart from one memorable incident a few years ago where I got called a "sandbag" by an emaciated skanger who looked like he'd just stepped off Jeremy Kyle. I just walked on, thinking "what a retard, he wouldn't last 2 minutes in front of an RDF Cpl, not to mind a PDF one". :cool:

Sometimes I wish I'd went for the PDF when I was 18 but sure its all good.

And fuck the begrudgers. Whether our berets are green or black we hold ourselves to a higher standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Bull76

Been an Ex member of the FCA with 9years service I can say I haven't had any bad experiences that I can remember.
    Usually good memories and people very curious as to what we were doing. Done an exercise one weekend, we were doing a timed run against the other Companies of our Battalion on Brandon hill. Meet a few people on the top as we were all carrying our webbing and rifle's. Our PDF escorts were asked what was going on as they hadn't seen the likes of that before...They were full of praise and wished us all the best.
    Gained alot from those years, met a lot of very excellent people and had good times.
    Some of the soundest people I've met. Recommend it to anyone.

Originally Posted by Poccington

Give over, you were just trying to pull.

LOL!

Emm, 50 odd year old schitzophrenic women aren't my cup of tea thanks! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭SIRREX

LOL!

Emm, 50 odd year old schitzophrenic women aren't my cup of tea thanks! :D

Once you've had crazy you never go back!!:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Just an observation, but if I saw an FCA Guy on the Bus in his Dress Uniform I'd just think

Tryhard/Poser

the Dress uniform looks nothing without a peaked hat, if you have one of those chances are you're not riding the Bus

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Just an observation, but if I saw an FCA Guy on the Bus in his Dress Uniform I'd just think

Tryhard/Poser

the Dress uniform looks nothing without a peaked hat, if you have one of those chances are you're not riding the Bus

Yea for some reason I would think the same but meh.. most people dont really care. One thing though about this army debate some people love the idea of being seen in the army more (Gardai too!) than actually being in it.

I suppose though that is true of most occupations.

Tryhard/Poser

I take it your insinuating that unless your an officer with a peaker you look like ham in your ones? If you are Im a little fooking insulted and believe it or not i prefer having my beret on when im in mine anyway!!!

newby.204 wrote: »
    I take it your insinuating that unless your an officer with a peaker you look like ham in your ones? If you are Im a little fooking insulted and believe it or not i prefer having my beret on when im in mine anyway!!!

His intend was to insult, you really should know better than to take the bait!.

I know mak but blood boiled a touch when i read it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Cryos

RDF (Army) here, have to say public have always reacted well and so have friends in family. The only jip i have ever got is from one or two PDF people which is not Representative of the PDF as a whole, who i love working with and are always a great laugh.