Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reccomend a Good 2nd hand Jeep

• 04-01-2011 7:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭

After being nearly stuck in the snow over the christmas the boss has decided that I should get a 4x4 of some sort to get her to the shops should it snow again. Now I am on a farily low budget so what kind of jeep would you reccomend. I don't need a massive engine as I wouln't pull any trailers and I probably wouln't do much off roading other the driving into the odd field and down farming tracks when out shooting. Any suggestions as to what I should look out for gratefully accecpted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

For about 2 grand you should pick up a range rover registered in the late 90s. About 97, 98. If you look around you will find one with low milage and a good service history. Probabley even leather seats and the works. Parts are readily available and it is a 5 seater large family vehicle also. Might be a bit big for you but thats not a bad complaint to have. You will also be able to brag to your mates about your range rover:D

Just saw one on done deal 97, 5 seater, automatic, leather for 1995e. Lots of work done on engine ie oil filters and compressor suspension and air bags were all done in last 12 months. Pure bargain. Would put up a link but I do not have a clue how to. Just shows you the bargains out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

For about 2 grand you should pick up a range rover registered in the late 90s. About 97, 98. If you look around you will find one with low milage and a good service history. Probabley even leather seats and the works. Parts are readily available and it is a 5 seater large family vehicle also. Might be a bit big for you but thats not a bad complaint to have. You will also be able to brag to your mates about your range rover:D

Just saw one on done deal 97, 5 seater, automatic, leather for 1995e. Lots of work done on engine ie oil filters and compressor suspension and air bags were all done in last 12 months. Pure bargain. Would put up a link but I do not have a clue how to. Just shows you the bargains out there.
    you forgot to add another 1200 odd euros to tax it :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

plenty of defenders there too they are a proper off roader and ideal for dogs and that. also the 3.1 isuzu trooper is another good one but if commercial tax is not avaliable to you it could end up being a pricey second vehicle (priVate tax!!:mad:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭zacmorris

To be honest, you are better off with a Japanese 4x4 over a Land Rover (depending on which model).
    Things to consider first;
    - What litre do you want- big difference in tax between a 2.0ltr and a 3.0 + litre

- Are you fuel concious?
    - Do you want Diesel or Petrol?
    - Are you just looking for a 4wd vehicle or does it specifically need to have lots of room?

For the bigger jeeps- the more reliable models are; Toyota Landcruiser, Mitsubishii Pajero, Shogun, and Isuzu trooper, Nissan Pathfinder, patrol etc (you will get a nice cheap trooper) These are amongst the most reliable.
    Then you have Land rover Defender, Discovery and range Rover.
    All of these jeeps range from 2.7-4.0 litre (depending on model)

After being a Landcruiser only man I bought a Suabru Forester. It's a 2.0litre Turbo, petrol version with an added performance pack so heavy on juice. But you can get non-turbo versions. They are absolutey bulletproof cars and Subaru's symmetrical 4wd system is extremely reliable and efficient. I have taken mine over some pretty rough ground, through small rivers and streams, up some seriously steep hills, etc. More importantly it was a god-send during the snow, no trouble whatsoever. I was driving around the mountains covered in snow, no bother.

So, if you want to look at cars / estates / mid-sized jeeps in the 2.0litre' ish bracket then consider;
    Subaru Forester
    Subaru Impreza
    Subaru Legacy
    Subaru Outback

Toyota Rav

Honda CRV

Land Rover Freelander (least reliable out of all of the above)

Mitsubushi Pajero Junios

There are a few more similar cars that you could look at, but these would be my recommendations...

As a former car salesman- I would strongly reccommend going Japanese- Subaru, Toyota, Mitsubishi.

Some good deals out there, so happy hunting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

steyrman2 wrote: »
    you forgot to add another 1200 odd euros to tax it :D:D:D

Only problem and well spotted. If you got a commercial there would be a massive reduction though. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

if funds were avaliable to me it would be a commercial pajero short wheel base 05-06 as interior and exterior they look like a hard wearing jeep.and plus swb have a smaller turning circle for when you do go off road and might get in to a couple of tight spots. personally i think the newer landcruiser arent as reliable as what people think . give a lot of injector trouble which wouldnt be long of relieving you of a couple of grand at the garage.besides this dont forget to take into consideration price of tires and running gear ( suspension items etc) they can be costly also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Great post Zac.

Is Subaru putting a Diesel in the Forester?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

zacmorris wrote: »
    To be honest, you are better off with a Japanese 4x4 over a Land Rover (depending on which model).
    Things to consider first;
    - What litre do you want- big difference in tax between a 2.0ltr and a 3.0 + litre

- Are you fuel concious?
    - Do you want Diesel or Petrol?
    - Are you just looking for a 4wd vehicle or does it specifically need to have lots of room?

For the bigger jeeps- the more reliable models are; Toyota Landcruiser, Mitsubishii Pajero, Shogun, and Isuzu trooper, Nissan Pathfinder, patrol etc (you will get a nice cheap trooper) These are amongst the most reliable.
    Then you have Land rover Defender, Discovery and range Rover.
    All of these jeeps range from 2.7-4.0 litre (depending on model)

After being a Landcruiser only man I bought a Suabru Forester. It's a 2.0litre Turbo, petrol version with an added performance pack so heavy on juice. But you can get non-turbo versions. They are absolutey bulletproof cars and Subaru's symmetrical 4wd system is extremely reliable and efficient. I have taken mine over some pretty rough ground, through small rivers and streams, up some seriously steep hills, etc. More importantly it was a god-send during the snow, no trouble whatsoever. I was driving around the mountains covered in snow, no bother.

So, if you want to look at cars / estates / mid-sized jeeps in the 2.0litre' ish bracket then consider;
    Subaru Forester
    Subaru Impreza
    Subaru Legacy
    Subaru Outback

Toyota Rav

Honda CRV

Land Rover Freelander (least reliable out of all of the above)

Mitsubushi Pajero Junios

There are a few more similar cars that you could look at, but these would be my recommendations...

As a former car salesman- I would strongly reccommend going Japanese- Subaru, Toyota, Mitsubishi.

Some good deals out there, so happy hunting!

The diesel Freelander isn't too bad but DO NOT buy the petrol version it will have your heart broke and cost you a small fortune in repairs.

If you don't have a family to transport I reckon you should also consider a Suzuki Jimny and the Diahatsu ( sorry if spelt wrong ) Terrios, they're surprisingly capable little 4x4's that'll bounce over and through a lot of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭Rosahane

Have to agree with most of what Zacmorris says. However (there is always a however ;) ) I would also include the Opel Antara, Ford Kuga and VW Tiguan.

I have a Tiguan and it's great. Great in the snow and mild offroad conditions. That said, next time round I'll probably get a Forester as they now have the diesel engine.

Your problem is going to be getting any of the models mentioned secondhand. Thanks to two lots of snow and the floods this year demand far outstrips supply :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

No6 wrote: »
    After being nearly stuck in the snow over the christmas the boss has decided that I should get a 4x4 of some sort to get her to the shops should it snow again. Now I am on a farily low budget so what kind of jeep would you reccomend. I don't need a massive engine as I wouln't pull any trailers and I probably wouln't do much off roading other the driving into the odd field and down farming tracks when out shooting. Any suggestions as to what I should look out for gratefully accecpted.

you could get a suzuki vitara or grand vitara with 1.6 petrol or 2.0 diesel.
    they are very capable of road and as good as any 4x4 on ice and snow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Pat McGroin

I drive a 96 jeep cherokee myself and find it a great yoke altogether . Not bad on juice bout 30 mpg and more than enough power for anything ! Tax is round about 950 a year ( not that I'd know much about it);) Really comfy if you get one that wasn't dogged previously!
    Another good jeep is the suzuki grand vitara , Might suit you better . Good 4x4 not a great yoke pulling but you said you don't need it to be . My old man has had a few ovr the years and swears by them . Look for a 00/01 model with the 1.9 td mazda engine and it will run on the smell of diesel! Nice and handy for the missus to park too!!
    If you're in mayo , the auction in claremorris on wednesday night's might be worth a look

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭rugerman

suzuki vitara all the way i have mine for sale 03 silver 680 a year tax 2.0ltr offers as i dont know book value yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

Yes I'll be going Commercial with it but I am fairly fuel consious, We are keeping my car so the family are farily well coverd its really for me pottering around, working and doing a bit of hunting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭87pio

What about kia sorento?2.5 diesel engine. 4wd. Drove one of them, and never had a problem with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kieran1141

we have 2 mazda b2500 crewcabs 2.5 td, never done a thing to then and there 02 and 03 just oil and tyres, ford ranger is the same thing, but would want comm tax, i would not do a lot of pulling but the brother pulls a mini digger behind his no bother, he tried a 07 nevara said it would'nt pull the socks off a dead man.he just bought a d-max cobra i think its called 3.0lt he likes that, so would i if i could keep fuel in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

All of this is utterly pointless unless you give us a budget.

coolbeans wrote: »
    All of this is utterly pointless unless you give us a budget.
    True about 3 to 4K, it dosnt have to be beautiful, i don't need a crew cab must be diesel and have 4x4 cababilities and a commercial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Mr.Ex

kieran1141 wrote: »
    we have 2 mazda b2500 crewcabs 2.5 td, never done a thing to then and there 02 and 03 just oil and tyres, ford ranger is the same thing, but would want comm tax, i would not do a lot of pulling but the brother pulls a mini digger behind his no bother, he tried a 07 nevara said it would'nt pull the socks off a dead man.he just bought a d-max cobra i think its called 3.0lt he likes that, so would i if i could keep fuel in it.

I'm in the same position myself with about 4k to spend and have been looking at the mazda b2500. What are they like to live with..fuel mpg and running costs etc.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

No6 wrote: »
    True about 3 to 4K, it dosnt have to be beautiful, i don't need a crew cab must be diesel and have 4x4 cababilities and a commercial.

sounds like you need a pajero...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Builderfromhell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kieran1141

Mr.Ex wrote: »
    I'm in the same position myself with about 4k to spend and have been looking at the mazda b2500. What are they like to live with..fuel mpg and running costs etc.?
    keep them around the 50 to 60 mark and i get 30-32 to the gallon, we both get around 60 mile on a tenner, 50 on short trip, spoke to a lad with a 193 thousand miles on his told me tyres , service, thats all he ever done, mazda b2500 and ford ranger are the same will pick up a good one for 4k, i have onely 60.000 miles on mine like new with cab that cost me 2,500 new, 02 model and be lucky to get 3k, got my man to turn back diesel pump and made a big differance on juice, best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

If you're in mayo , the auction in claremorris on wednesday night's might be worth a look

If you know a decent Mechanic bring him too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 terryjo

hi lads
    i have a nissan navara king cab,fairly good on juice and off road,pulls a boat 20 ft no problem,only fault is wet roads on 2 weel drive,lethal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

This thread has been amusing, ie dreamers posting.

The market for budget 4x4's lasts about 4 hours.

I Know, after 8 weeks I finally got one.

I suspect that there will be a deluge come the spring.

Hey fishtits I'll post you a photo when I get one!! I know a lot about a lot of things but f all about motors and even less about 4x4s. So I am hoping to benifit from the collective wisdom of the posters here and thanks indeed for all the useful replys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Builderfromhell

Sterling's rise against the euro is going to make importing 2nd hand 4x4s less attractive which should push up the price of 4x4s here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 silverdawn

Hi Guys, im considering a Nissan Pathfinder commercial 2006 model....Anybody any advice on this for me, and also what tax is on it ...Thanks in advance...