Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

my mama told me

• 03-01-2011 7:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭

there'd be days like this.
    well to those who saw my last thread, i had good success. . .
    today was not going to follow suit. . .
    went with the dog and was really looking forward to getting out, had planned to go out for the morning on my own then meet up with a pal for a couple of hours in the afternoon. . .
    i'll post a video of my first calamity in a while, my next disaster happened when a pair of teal got up as i was 'f~ing' and blinding out of me completely taken off guard and couldnt muster a shot together.
    saw nothing else all morning.
    went out with my pal and ten minutes in a beautiful cock phesant got up, bang he folded, i called in the dog and i was turning to gloat to my mate the little shagger got up and ran off over a bank and accross a stream, we spent twenty minutes looking for it but no joy, im absolutely sick. anyway this is the second runner ive had this year, identical situation but in differant parts of the same field. i will not be so cocky next time. . .
    anyway that was all i saw all day,
    on the way back to the van i tried to chance my luck in a field i rarely go into, big mistake, couldnt get back out unless i went back the way i came, had to crawl through a ditch, cut my bloody ear on some brambles. anyway, its easy to post the good stories but we have to post the bad ones too. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NR_RnPtO4Ks

lads this video is two minutes long, the bit im on about happens in the last fifteen seconds, anyone who wants to snip the video, work away, i havent a notion how to do it, also how do i embed the clip again? is it the bit after the 'v' or the '=' thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Lol, I had it fixed for ya...

It's the NR_RnPtO4Ks you need in between the two YouTube embedding thingies.

john you're both a schollar and a saint. thanx.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭MarkD.

What size cartridge are you using Dicky?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Thanks Lad for a great story - that's why we call it hunting and not catching.

I love to hear the "one that got away" type story and tell my own.

Some of the things I have witnessed in the field are just unbelievable.

At least you had a shot - and if today is your worst day, you've done far better than I!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭clivej

dicky82 wrote: »
    went with the dog and was really looking forward to getting out, had planned to go out for the morning on my own then meet up with a pal for a couple of hours in the afternoon. . .
    i'll post a video of my first calamity in a while, my next disaster happened when a pair of teal got up as i was 'f~ing' and blinding out of me completely taken off guard and couldnt muster a shot together.
    went out with my pal and ten minutes in a beautiful cock phesant got up, bang he folded, i called in the dog and i was turning to gloat to my mate the little shagger got up and ran off over a bank and accross a stream, we spent twenty minutes looking for it but no joy, im absolutely sick. anyway this is the second runner ive had this year, identical situation but in differant parts of the same field. i will not be so cocky next time. . .
    on the way back to the van i tried to chance my luck in a field i rarely go into, big mistake, couldnt get back out unless i went back the way i came, had to crawl through a ditch, cut my bloody ear on some brambles. anyway, its easy to post the good stories but we have to post the bad ones too. :o

So all in all not a bad day out then :rolleyes::rolleyes:

MarkD. wrote: »
    What size cartridge are you using Dicky?

6's, but on both occasions the bird was going away from me and may have gaind the height quicker than my shot so took most of it in the rear which would knock the bird alright but might not be as effective as front or profile body shot. IMHO.

clivej wrote: »
    So all in all not a bad day out then :rolleyes::rolleyes:

ah nice to be out though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭lamper35

thats not a bad story at all:D days like that will be enjoyed when u look back and laugh ;) as for the cut on the ear,u can put that down as a war wound:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NR_RnPtO4Ks

lads this video is two minutes long, the bit im on about happens in the last fifteen seconds, anyone who wants to snip the video, work away, i havent a notion how to do it, also how do i embed the clip again? is it the bit after the 'v' or the '=' thanks.

I must say I had a grand chuckle with 15 secs to go! :D
    As regards runners, I've been shooting with 32g 6s for last few days & have had 4 runners! Back to the 5s!! Thank god the pointer is a natural born killer!!
    Pheasants are fast but man he's fast when he hears the shot! Shot 2 that hit the ground running & didn't get to the nearest ditch before been nabbed! When they run though he likes to finish them for you! No damage just a squeeze!
    Winged 1 neither of us marked the other day & he glided on a few hundred yards. Anyway walked to a woods where he landed roughly, 15 mins later a point. Released him & in he went. Cock took runnin along a blackthorn ditch. He didn't get 15 feet & he was on his way back to me minus a few feathers!
    Then I shot another on way home as was getting dusky. Just at the Edge of a grove. Again he glided high in the sky off into the distance. This time he was marked. Dog took off. 10'mins later he reappeared. Could just make out this white object returning. Very dark looking though. Turned out the white was the dog obviously & the dark shape was the pheasant. The dog got such a
    fright been off on his own he managed to return 1 alive!!
    A serious retrieve & a v happy owner! Must get a photo up soon...

so even the pros are getting runners;). i'll ask you because you mention it, but i was told that 5's would be very hard on the phesant, more suited to a duck. . ? although with 6 runners (yours and mine) 6's might not be hard enough. . .

Well I think a 6 in 1st barrel & a 5 will do me. I can't make out why winging so many. Rusty after the break maybe! ;)

ye the option of the 5 might be the way forward, fogot to say in my last post, its far from chuckling i was at '15 seconds' to go, took the hatcam off so as not be swearing on air then the teal got up. . . frank bloody spencer. . .:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

Well I think a 6 in 1st barrel & a 5 will do me. I can't make out why winging so many. Rusty after the break maybe! ;)[/QUO
    what about 32g 6 in the 1st barrel and 34g 6 in the 2nd... would that work.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

6's, but on both occasions the bird was going away from me and may have gaind the height quicker than my shot so took most of it in the rear which would knock the bird alright but might not be as effective as front or profile body shot. IMHO.

I have shot them up the backside when there flying away and it never kills them, got many the runner and lost a few when I was shooting over the uncles Irish Water Spaniel he's a total plike of a dog.

ronn wrote: »
    Well I think a 6 in 1st barrel & a 5 will do me. I can't make out why winging so many. Rusty after the break maybe! ;)[/QUO
    what about 32g 6 in the 1st barrel and 34g 6 in the 2nd... would that work.?

Might do. 5's can be heavy but they do give a good thump when a rooster is at a good range. I use 7s up the wood in the 1st barrel as birds are generally closer. Besides not picking up a shot bird nothing worse than knowing you hit 1 & watch him fly on when he'll most likely die in a ditch somewhere. This to me is where the 5's generally do the job ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

i had to laugh but ive been in the same predicament myself ,but at least i can laugh:D

Been in the same situation myself lately, getting the shots at the pheasant but he's getting away as they alll seem to be high flyers away from me and I feel that Hull 6's 32gram are not doing the job at all.

Problem then is I dont want to go to 5's as there is loads and I mean loads of woodcock and snipe about here, I feel 5's shot pattern would mess up my sport with the fast smaller game birds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

just an observation here lads but have any of you actually patterend your guns to see what they will actually throw with a given cartrige
    even two sheets of the irish times would give you some idea of pattern density etc at 30yrds

landkeeper wrote: »
    just an observation here lads but have any of you actually patterend your guns to see what they will actually throw with a given cartrige
    even two sheets of the irish times would give you some idea of pattern density etc at 30yrds

Ive taught about doing it, but after firing the shot I wouldnt know what the look for. I wouldnt know if its right or wrong (Dont even know if there is a right or a wrong in this case) and I wouldnt know what best suits the game I go after as Im new to the sport, but eager to learn.

Do you know what to look for when you fire at a page at 30yards Landkeeper?
    If not is there anyone on here that could tell us and help us out. :confused:

well i look to see what the pattern is like whether it has big holes in it or just clumps of pellets with gaps that a bird could easily fit through or just get an odd pellet in it my gun is tightly choked so i tend to use fibre wadded shells that spread a bit quicker and have found over the years that eley grandprix in 6 or 7s work well for what i do

landkeeper wrote: »
    well i look to see what the pattern is like whether it has big holes in it or just clumps of pellets with gaps that a bird could easily fit through or just get an odd pellet in it my gun is tightly choked so i tend to use fibre wadded shells that spread a bit quicker and have found over the years that eley grandprix in 6 or 7s work well for what i do

Mainly pheasant shooting you use those eley grandprix's for I guess?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Draw a target on your sheet and a thirty inch circle around that target. Swing your gun and fire at the target, see how many pellets land inside that circle and generally observe the "pattern/distribution/spread" of those pellets when using different cartridges/chokes.

I say to swing the gun as most shots would be at a flying/moving target, other people may advise not swinging, just my opinion on it.

i use grand prix for most things decoying ,roost shooting ,snipe ,woodcock flighted duck walked up shooting i'd rarely have anything else maybe cheap trap shells for crop protection, i am trying out some other fibre wadded shells atm as the eley stuff is getting silly priced
    what allways amazes me is that shotgun shooters will pick up a box of shells and head out with no idea how they will perform in their gun and then wonder why they are getting lots of misses and or runners it was drummed into me as a young lad it's about having enough pellets with enough energy hitting your quarry in vital places to kill it l;ike a rifle each gun will have a load/shot size it likes it may shoot all well but some are very fussy i have found
    'normal game loads ' are more than adequete for nearly all walked up driven flight shooting the exception being in my book shoreline/lake shooting where shots tend to be longer
    there are some good clips on youtube showing different loads /chokes /shot sizes and patterns some of them will make you wonder how you ever hit anything :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

got any links to them?

here are some a lot of turkey ****e from the states but the principle is the same look how few pellets these lads get into a kill zone and thats with a full choke gun and 2 onz of shot http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=patterning+a+shotgun&aq=f