Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

any point in modifying a bog standard Legacy estate?

• 03-01-2011 4:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭

Was thinking of couple of wee ways I could tart her up a bit. She needs a new exhaust anyway at some stage, but i dont wanna ****ty loud yoke.
    Maybe nice alloys if i can afford it but wouldnt go too big cos i wanna keep her fit for the rough stuff all the same.
    Any ideas anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Nice non-ott wheels (maybe 16/17" for the rough stuff, im not too sure what the tyre size would be).

coilover kit.

Keep it clean.

Thats what I'd do anyway.

Any pics of the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

it's worth it if you be happier afterwards, and enjoy it. It will still sound nice with a more sporty exhaust despite being non turbo, and they drive fairly nicely even in standard for so a nice suspension upgrade and some nice wheels with good rubber will only make it nicer to drive really.

It wont exactly set the world on fire, have people lookin on in awe but a legacy is a grand car and some tasteful alterations wouldnt go amiss, just dont waste thousands going mad on it as you'd never get it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

sti alloys off an impreza bit of a drop would look well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 The General.

Engine re-map and maybe lower it a bit with a nice set of OEM alloys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

A remap would be a waste of money it being a non-turbo petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

B00MSTICK wrote: »
    A remap would be a waste of money it being a non-turbo petrol.

that it would

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭kingbrumak

Modifying comes down to what you want at the end of the day. I say go for it.

Register for the forums over on the Irish Subaru Drivers Club (http://www.isdc.ie/). The lads there are all bang on, they'll give you ideas and point you in the right direction to get parts you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 colmbarr1988

well i had a saloon b4 and day are a great car
    wat i done was ;
    blitz bov
    kakimoto cat back
    haward and scott decat centre section
    17" ultralite atecs
    contanental tyres
    d2 coilovers
    samcoed engine hose's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

well i had a saloon b4 and day are a great car
    wat i done was ;
    blitz bov
    kakimoto cat back
    haward and scott decat centre section
    17" ultralite atecs
    contanental tyres
    d2 coilovers
    samcoed engine hose's
    I don't know if the OP's one is a turbo version though. But I must say, the wheels on yours were lovely, would be a good idea for the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 colmbarr1988

I don't know if the OP's one is a turbo version though. But I must say, the wheels on yours were lovely, would be a good idea for the OP

would love if day came in the type r fitment but day dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

would love if day came in the type r fitment but day dont

Yeah they do, http://www.ultralitewheels.com/atec.htm.

Although I doubt you're going to put 18's on an EK9 :pac: