Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good deal?

• 03-01-2011 3:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭

The father is trading in a 2008 Mazda 6 diesel, about 60k km on it, grand condition, regularly serviced against a 2011 Mazda 6 executive SE diesel. Cost to change is €13.5k.

I'm trying to get him to have a look at a few other cars but he seems pretty set on the deal. Do ye reckon he'd get any of the alternatives for that price?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

He'd be better off selling privately.

Then again he could paint an 11 on the licence plate and save himself 13k. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Why spend that much on essentially the same car but with a different number on the front?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Because he likes to change his car every 3 years. He has done this for years and years and he's not going to stop now. He likes having a relatively new car with a warranty. Thanks for the helpful replies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Squall19

He'd be better off selling privately.

Then again he could paint an 11 on the licence plate and save himself 13k. :D

:D:D he could always go to halfords and get them to make up a new 11 plate for him for 20e:) I might try that myself lol, to see how many will actually fall for it.Good carwash, valet, 11 plate

Right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭rcdk1

If he has his heart set on it, then ring other Mazda dealers in other parts of the country. A friend at work found nearly €3k of a difference between Opel dealers in Munster when looking at a new Insignia. Even a few hundred off would be worth a few phone calls and a bit of a drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Squall19

gpf101 wrote: »
    Because he likes to change his car every 3 years. He has done this for years and years and he's not going to stop now. He likes having a relatively new car with a warranty. Thanks for the helpful replies.

Tell him to get a Kia and he doesnt have to change it for 7 years;)

http://www.kiamotors.ie/showroom/sportage.aspx

Have you some sort of problem? Go off to after hours if you want to act the dope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

The father is trading in a 2008 Mazda 6 diesel, about 60k km on it, grand condition, regularly serviced against a 2011 Mazda 6 executive SE diesel. Cost to change is €13.5k.

I'm trying to get him to have a look at a few other cars but he seems pretty set on the deal. Do ye reckon he'd get any of the alternatives for that price?
    If he really has to flush the €13K, how about a Subaru Legacy (Diesel)? I am not sure if that would buy a brand new one (probably not), but a year old maybe? Nicer car IMHO, 4WD for better traction, boxer engine, less boring than Mazda and something different rather than just changing the number plates.
    Does it have to be brand new?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

It dont sound too bad. I have a 08 Highline Passat 2.0 TDI with 70kms. I was quoted 15k to change up to a 2011 new model Highline with the 1.6 TDI engine. The 2.0 TDI would be over 2 K more..:mad:

He's going to look at the passat tomorrow but based on what your saying there there is no way he'd get the 2.0TDi for anywhere near 13.5k so.

He wants it to be new ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Have you some sort of problem? Go off to after hours if you want to act the dope.
    Theres only one problem/dope.

Thats the guy who will willingly pay 13.5 k for something he already pwns but with a different registration.

He's going to look at the passat tomorrow but based on what your saying there there is no way he'd get the 2.0TDi for anywhere near 13.5k so.

Unless he wants a base model. The Highline which I have is fully loaded. If I were to buy the new one and have the same spec as my own it would cost me a lot more because I have more extras. Cruise is even an option on the Highline now whereas it was standard on the comfortline.

Why dont he go down to Banteer and look at the Octy.

Max Power1 wrote: »

Thats the guy who will willingly pay 13.5 k for something he already pwns but with a different registration.

Jesus I started a thread asking a genuine question about a cost to change and people can't help poking their noses in with their smart ass opinions. I didn't ask if it's a good idea or not, I asked did people think it was a good deal and would any of the alternatives be able to offer a similar deal.

It's bloody lousy carry on. I'm done on this so by all means keep up the commentary. Why bother reply with unhelpful crap like that couldn't you just keep quiet about it. It's not even me that's changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Then let him have a look at a Honda Accord maybe ;). There may be a chance for a new one. I think I would take the Accord over the same Mazda or VW.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

It's a lot of wedge, but of he has it, and has his heart set on the 11 reg. then why not?

Seweryn wrote: »
    Then let him have a look at a Honda Accord maybe ;). There may be a chance for a new one. I think I would take the Accord over the same Mazda or VW.

Same as that. I wouldnt be a Mazda fan but the Accord is really worth a look. I am saving my money for a luxobarge and keeping my money.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

I've locked this thread as it's just a shambles - everyone please try and remember to be constructive with your posting.

OP, feel free to restart the thread and hopefully it'll be more helpful next time.

Max Power1 wrote: »

Max Power1, you should bear in mind that you're actually calling gpf101's father a dope with this comment. It's inflammatory and unnecessary. Please think before posting next time.