Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car hire in USA - license?

• 02-01-2011 6:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭

Hi guys,

Gonna be renting a car for a few weeks in california next month , I have my full Irish license almost 3 years and have a credit card too. Should this be a problem or will I need the IDP (International Driving Permit) too? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Your license is fine.

You do NOT NEED an IDP.

However, check the website of the rental company to ensure the car you want is not age restricted.

Example. Speciality cars sometimes, depending on model require you to be 27+. Regular cars are fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭behan29

A irish licence is fine, i drove around route one and didnt have any problems in renting a car, car insurance can be expensive over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

A full Irish licence is fine, credit card in your name is a must and you also have to be over 24.

Recently brought in in California you have to prepay for your first tank of fuel too..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭macquarie

Thanks Berty, I'd just be renting a regular saloon 1.8l - 2.0l or similar so shouldn't be too much of a problem! Have you rented a car over there?

I'm over 25 so age also shouldn't be a problem - is insurance required I thought it was included in the rental price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Crasp

macquarie wrote: »
    Thanks Berty, I'd just be renting a regular saloon 1.8l - 2.0l or similar so shouldn't be too much of a problem! Have you rented a car over there?

I'm over 25 so age also shouldn't be a problem - is insurance required I thought it was included in the rental price?

It's called a sedan over there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

just remember that sizes in USA are bigger than what we consider "regular" .

Always ask them what upgrade offers they have when you get to the desk. By asking this I've ended up upgrading to numerous cadillacs, hummers, mustangs etc for very little extra..;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Renting shouldn't be a problem for you.

If you're planning on driving out of CA remember to check what out of state restrictions of fees they have as some rental companies will only allow you to drive in specific states or track the car and charge you a per mile fee outside CA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Thanks Berty, I'd just be renting a regular saloon 1.8l - 2.0l or similar

Feck that get something like a V8 Mustang. You only live once..;)

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Feck that get something like a V8 Mustang. You only live once..;)

V8 engines mustangs are only available through specialist companies or as special order from Hertz. The standard rental stangs are V6's.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

quick tip OP - take pics of each car side,front and back etc prior to rental to have incase of any query over damages when returning car. If you find any damage,inform a member of the rental staff.

Avis have Speciality vehicles including

Corvette
    Mustang
    Camaro

http://www.avis.com/car-rental/content/carGuide.ac?navId=T4M01S00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

The International Driving Permit is merely an internationally accepted translation of the text from your actual Driving Licence into the local language. Since the USA use English there is no need for such translation and no need for the IDP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

Why don't you ask the car hire company instead of getting educated guesses from strangers on the internet?
    Some queries on this site really baffle me.

kazul wrote: »
    Why don't you ask the car hire company instead of getting educated guesses from strangers on the internet?
    Some queries on this site really baffle me.

Because there are probably general rules to this kinda thing which might not apply to specific car hire companies? Jeez.

Also they aren't "educated guesses" , clearly there are people here who have hired cars in usa before and know the routine.

Emmm, if it were a general rule it would apply to all companies, no?
    I still reckon you're better off getting the actual policy from an actual car hire company.
    Imagine you arrive over there and plop your Irish license on the counter and they say you need an IDP.
    What are you gonna say?, "Well the guys on boards.ie said this would be ok"

Also they aren't "educated guesses" , clearly there are people here who have hired cars in usa before and know the routine.

Clearly one should believe everybody on the internet and take their word as gospel.

There's something wrong with you.

Why would long-standing members of boards deliberately go out of their way to lie about an issue like this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Emmm, if it were a general rule it would apply to all companies, no?
    I still reckon you're better off getting the actual policy from an actual car hire company.
    Imagine you arrive over there and plop your Irish license on the counter and they say you need an IDP.
    What are you gonna say?, "Well the guys on boards.ie said this would be ok"
    Erm, because the IDP is just an English translation of your license details, which has already been explained just a few posts up. Seeing as we speak English, and Americans speak English, then it's not necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

OP, you might ask for an upgrade when you get there. They often have deals, I upgraded to a pontiac with a stupidly big engine a few years ago. cost an extra 6 dollars. I put the foot down and ended up in another state.

As for the licence, I went with Budget and had no problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Will you give the lad a break. :rolleyes:

The questions he asks are fair and the answers can be difficult enough to get if you don't know. I had a lot of the same questions before I went over.

The answers he has received are spot on as well.

giftgrub wrote: »
    OP, you might ask for an upgrade when you get there. They often have deals, I upgraded to a pontiac with a stupidly big engine a few years ago. cost an extra 6 dollars. I put the foot down and ended up in another state.

As for the licence, I went with Budget and had no problems

;) I got a V8 Mustang. I have pics somewhere. I drove from coast to coast. Enjoy your holiday OP. I certainly did.;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

;) I got a V8 Mustang. I have pics somewhere. I drove from coast to coast. Enjoy your holiday OP. I certainly did.;)
    I hate you.

What did rental cost you? Are you able to pick up car on one coast and drop it off on the other? I plan on doing this at some stage!

I hate you.

What did rental cost you? Are you able to pick up car on one coast and drop it off on the other? I plan on doing this at some stage!

I hate me too because that was in the good times. The car was nearly 1800 euro for nearly 3 weeks including some accomodation and other extras. Theres no bother picking a car in JFK and driving east as long as the hire company have a depot there. I use Enterprise all the time even at home there brilliant people.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Theres no bother picking a car in JFK and driving east as long as the hire company have a depot there.

Just the bother of ending up in the Atlantic ocean :pac:

Thanks for all the advice everyone, I'm not really "into" cars so just want something to get from A to B safely, a V8 mustang is out of the question! What cars did people rent over there? The ford taurus, or chevrolet cobalt seem to be popular ones on the websites.

When you attempt to enter a US freeway for the first time and see how short the on ramps are, you will realise why small engined cars are not so popular in the US. A chevy cobalt is just a re bodied astra and feels very lost on US roads IMO.

For just a couple of euro extra you can get the likes of a chrysler 300c or a Charger(same car, different body) with a v6 engine that will at least allow you to keep up with traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Try argus car rental online. They're an Irish aggregator who I've used in th states loads of times. They tell you in advance about insurance, fuel policies etc so you don't have to deal with it at the desk. A "standard" or "mid-size" is a good typical car option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Hi guys,

Gonna be renting a car for a few weeks in california next month , I have my full Irish license almost 3 years and have a credit card too. Should this be a problem or will I need the IDP (International Driving Permit) too? Thanks

Do car hire companies but a hold on your credit card when you hire a car?

Always book the smallest car and try and blag an upgrade, use the Irish charm, a lot of the time they've already given out all the small cars and will upgrade you any way.

If they offer you a Chevy Cavalier don't take it, I went through 3 in 24 hours and someone else had one that automatically lane changed when you touched the brakes.

I always use carhire3000.ie to book the basic cars, found them very helpfull and they have excellent overseas customer service when needed once..

What cars did people rent over there?

Crhysler 300C 3.5l V6 :D

chrysler-300c-255.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭pakb1ue

Me (22) and two other Irish lads 22 and 20 both where able to rent out a car for a week. We where going to go with Hertz and was going to work out as $120 for the week with only two of us driving as you had to be over 21 but we had no credit card. We went with some small company and cost it $400 + $200 deposit for a Ford Focus with a "small engine" of 2.4L :eek:.

One of the guys but a dint in the car (on the first day) and we lost our deposit but he reimbursed us.

We also went way over our mileage per day but we got away with it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Picking up one of these next week in Vegas for a 2 week road trip...

3447901164_6d24d38aca.jpg

6.2L V8 with 436bhp

Have to be over 25 with credit card in my name and proof of Irish address & return flight details.

The daily insurance was massive, about $35 a day so I've gone for a separate insurance policy which was about €120 for the 2 weeks and covers car's upto $100,000.

S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Bull76

Your Irish licence will be good enough. Have rented from Boston using Avis for the last few trips.
    some of the extras were insurance, unlimited mileage...The Insurance had four additional catergories which as good as doubled the cost of the car hire. Also top up fuel before you drop it back, costs next to nothing but the car rental charge you nearly twice the cost to fill up. Also depending on the mileage then go unlimited mileage.

Just take your time over there and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Picking up one of these next week in Vegas for a 2 week road trip...

6.2L V8 with 436bhp

Have to be over 25 with credit card in my name and proof of Irish address & return flight details.

The daily insurance was massive, about $35 a day so I've gone for a separate insurance policy which was about €120 for the 2 weeks and covers car's upto $100,000.

S.

Who are you hiring the car with, am doing a 3 week roadtrip during the summer and looking at hiring something similar