Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a semi-acoustic guitar

• 01-01-2011 4:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭

I've been playing the same entry-level Epiphone steel string that I got for Christmas and learned how to play 12 years ago.
    I've been "booked" to play at a wedding in a few months, so I reckon now is a good a time as any to treat myself to something new and which can be plugged into an amp.

I'm not an equipment nerd, at all. I know less about equipment than I do about music :D so I just need some pointers to make sure I'm not going wrong. I'm not looking to break the bank, just looking for a decent enough guitar. Max budget is about €400.
    This is what's caught my eye so far. I say "caught my eye" because the only way I know to judge a guitar is, "Oooh pretty" and whether I've heard of the manufacturer or not. Everything else is over my head.

I also have a cheap electric guitar amp here at home that cost me about 60 punts ten years ago. Decent enough little thing for jamming. Would this be suitable for a semi-acoustic, or would it be better to go for an acoustic amp (for playing to small groups)?

And on that, any pointers there? I know that with amps there's a price point below which you're just throwing your money away, but would I be able to get something passable for €100? Bear in mind that I'm not gigging regularly :)

Any help much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭quicklickpaddy

First of all, don't go with Fender. From my experience, their acoustics are pure shite - and I'm a huge fan of their electrics.

Your best bet is to try adverts - there's a few nice, reasonably priced ones there. No harm in buying second hand just make sure you play the guitar before you hand over the money and make sure it plays and sounds nicely and that it suits you.

Playing through an electric amp will work, but will sound terrible. Getting an acoustic amp will be relatively expensive if you're on a budget but worth it in the long run - a good guitar will be wasted through a bad amp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭sherdydan

on the amp issue, ive heard electro-acoustics played through bass amps and sounded very nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Bought a semi acoustic in x music this week, some good deals going (and i think i got 15% further off at the till). + 1 on the fenders, played a few out there and they were horrible. Should be able to pick up a g-series takamine for that money i think? I got a solid westwood which i'm delighted with. Went in with more cash than it cost (intending to buy a takamine), but loved the feel of it so much i took it, very comfortable setup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭teekayd25

Crafter produce a lot of decent semi-acoustics / electro-acoustics, and the designs are usually quite nice as well.

They have a lot of guitars you could maybe imagine using in a wedding setting - you'd prob be looking at paying around E600 for a new one though, but you might find one second hand.

http://craftereurope.com/grid9771815/

http://craftereurope.com/grid9771814_p4/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I'm due to make a trip and purchase a guitar within the next few weeks.

Like Seamus, I'd like to get a semi-acoustic guitar.

My budget is €800 and I'd happily spend every penney for a guitar thats worth it. I wouldn't be playing infront of people really, just messing about myself but wouldn't mind getting an amp for the craic.

Any recommendations of what type of guitar to get for that budget? I've heard things like no point in spending over €500 on a semi, after that they're pretty much the same until you hit around the €1500 mark.

Any truth in this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭quicklickpaddy

Naos wrote: »

My budget is €800 and I'd happily spend every penney for a guitar thats worth it. I wouldn't be playing infront of people really, just messing about myself but wouldn't mind getting an amp for the craic.

Any recommendations of what type of guitar to get for that budget? I've heard things like no point in spending over €500 on a semi, after that they're pretty much the same until you hit around the €1500 mark.

Any truth in this?

Kiiiiiiiiiinda... But don't judge what you're getting by price. My advice would be to go into a guitar shop and pick up every acoustic guitar and play it without looking at the price. Pick out your top 3 favourites and I'd be shocked if they were the 3 most expensive, so get whichever one of the 3 that you want when you take the price into consideration!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Any truth in this?

I could get done for Shilling (3 posts on them today all raving about theier sale) but if you're in Dublin take a look into Perfect Pitch. For €800 I think you might get a deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Thanks lads.

I'm going to go to a couple of places and shop about. I know 800e mightn't be a lot but it'll be the most I've spent on a guitar thus far and I don't know too much about them despite playing for a few years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Thanks lads.

I'm going to go to a couple of places and shop about. I know 800e mightn't be a lot but it'll be the most I've spent on a guitar thus far and I don't know too much about them despite playing for a few years!

You will get an awesome guitar for €800. No question.