Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

nice to be out.

• 31-12-2010 3:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭

even nicer to come back with something.
    went out at around eleven, wasn't expecting to see much and was really just going out for the ramble and if a shot presented itself so be it.
    the dog worked like a trooper AGAIN. she acted the maggot a little bit at the start but i put that down to pure excitement.
    first field we came to she was bursting cover and the tail was on overdrive, bugs came darting out, seen me and darted back in. about ten yard further down he came darting back out, bang, a nice right to left shot on a fast rabbit. (delighted)
    the third field she put up two hens, one scared the crap out of me:o.
    fourth filed she bulldozed into a ditch, a woodcock broke the farside but i watched it circle and got it as it came back over the tree line, a far off shot which resulted in an even further retreive but fair dues the dog got it. i seen 5 more woodcock but i left them off.
    the last field, had given up all hope on philip the phesant, but fair play to lucy, she wouldn't leave this ditch alone, in out in out round and round, then she darted through it and sure enough a cock came squalking out, a high left to right shot.
    i blew the head clean of this bird and he ran in a straight line for about 15 feet before he dropped, and he flapped a fair bit when he did drop.
    anyway smashing morning and the dog never failed me. delighted. :D

r8bhqf.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭sean raff

well hey nice to be out and not a bad haul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭MarkD.

Good mornings sport by you, well done to you and the dog. What shottie have you? Looks well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

MarkD. wrote: »
    Good mornings sport by you, well done to you and the dog. What shottie have you? Looks well :)

its a yildiz, which i know is a dirty word on here. ;) but its my first gun, its light and wasn't very expencive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

I would guess a Beretta:D

i wish:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

dicky82 wrote: »
    i wish:D

I thought it was a beretta!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭MarkD.

its a yildiz, which i know is a dirty word on here. ;) but its my first gun, its light and wasn't very expencive.

That blank stainless looking receiever looks very well I think.. Happy shooting with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

That blank stainless looking receiever looks very well I think.. Happy shooting with it :)

I 2nd that;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

ye best of look with the gun

my first was a baikal over and under i still have it i looked after it and kept her clean plus i still have it after 9 years and never an ounze of trouble look After her and she will look after you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

oh ye lovely lookin dog 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

Looks a lot like my beretta! :D
    Nice gun mate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Had me fooled for a beretta too. Nice dog, birds and story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭sikastag

Sounds like a grand morning ye had! Lovely wee bitch. Good strong looking dog, lovely head and face. Real proud looking. Best of luck with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Well done!! - only managed a snipe today myself:(

cheers lads, great to be back into it, looking forward to getting back out.