Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Car? Approx 4500e

• 31-12-2010 11:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭

Well all,

I'm looking for a new car, preferable an a4 1.9TDi 130 Bhp 01-04 but only have a budget of 4500 stretching to 5000. I'm finding it difficult to find one with such a restricting limit, any alternatives?

I've also been looking at Passats and 320d but having already owed/still driving a 316i coupe I wanted to move to audi (having alot of problems with the bimmer), and Passats don't interest me only the diesel engine.

Any help would be great,

Diesel is a must, preferable an irish car with nct, not to worried about mileage or full service history and the car needs to have a bit of poke in it

Thanks and Happy New Year,
    BeanFlicker

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

not to worried about mileage or full service history and the car needs to have a bit of poke in it

Say what now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

How about a Rover 75, same detuned engine as the 320d but without the infamous blown turbo problems?

This is a fairly high spec one, price is on the high side for the year but you get the idea. I'd doubt you will find a German car of similar size with that spec:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201032199156780

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

bazz26 wrote: »
    How about a Rover 75, same detuned engine as the 320d but without the infamous blown turbo problems?

This is a fairly high spec one, price is on the high side for the year but you get the idea. I'd doubt you will find a German car of similar size with that spec:

4,500? He's taking the p!ss surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

thats a good motor... and fully loaded, loads of toys....
    that be a great buy if u could knock him down a bit... 3.5 to 3.8k should be on the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

Say what now?

Thanks thats very helpful.

Cheers, thats not a bad option but I wouldn't go for it personally. I'm stuck on the audi a4 but its very hard to get a decent one for my price range

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Theres a fair bit of poke in the Focus diesel , I was quite surprised when I drove one. A top spec Focus or Mondeo might be an option. The problem with most diesels around that money is that they generally have pretty high miles on Irish roads ! Wouldn't have considered the Rover myself but the 75 are a nice looking car but I would say they would be a keeper as Rovers are not generally great on resale.;) Wonder what the reliability on those 75s is ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭colm1234

personally I would not touch rover with a barge pole id rather audi a4 tdi or bmw 320d 01 you deffo pick a nice one up for 4500

shawnee wrote: »
    Wouldn't have considered the Rover myself but the 75 are a nice looking car but I would say they would be a keeper as Rovers are not generally great on resale.;) Wonder what the reliability on those 75s is ?

No bother at all flogging diesel 75s, plenty of folks who know their beans will buy one. Reliability is quite good, there is a breather filter that is often neglected though which can be a problem (average numpty mechanic won't know it's there :rolleyes: ). Clutch change isn't cheap as the suspension is in the way so lots of labour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Why not get a 75 Colm? For a mechanic you seem fairly clueless about what makes a good used car buy going on your previous posts

You can get clean low mileage 75s with ridiculously high spec and dealer service histories no problem in the uk, compare that to the a4s and 320d's that are on the market.

The fact that the op isn't worried about mileage or history would suggest we have different approachs.

lol rover love the sly digs nice, you forgot to mention that cabin can suffer water ingress causing ECU problems, also the srs conectors on the seats tend to go causing airbag failure, head gasket failure on the 1.8 because they did not make a big enough coolant unit, also the front coil springs go but in fareness i do have to agree with you rover they are reliable enough, I just personally think they a poor mans jag

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Why not get a 75? For a mechanic you seem fairly clueless about what makes a good used car buy going on your previous posts

Are 01 Astra's any good ?
    An 04 316i, oh sh1t sorry that's a 5 series :rolleyes:
    Wouldn't touch a diesel 75 although he swears by Bimmer diesels :D
    1.3 Corolla are the job :pac:
    20 years experience :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Well all,

I'm looking for a new car, preferable an a4 1.9TDi 130 Bhp 01-04 but only have a budget of 4500 stretching to 5000. I'm finding it difficult to find one with such a restricting limit, any alternatives?

I've also been looking at Passats and 320d but having already owed/still driving a 316i coupe I wanted to move to audi (having alot of problems with the bimmer), and Passats don't interest me only the diesel engine.

Any help would be great,

Diesel is a must, preferable an irish car with nct, not to worried about mileage or full service history and the car needs to have a bit of poke in it

Thanks and Happy New Year,
    BeanFlicker

He did say preferably an Irish car did he not. Not everyone has the time or inclination to buy in the UK. At present with the sterling prices and the lower prices of cars here , one should be able to pick up value in the used car market... For most people buying and bringing back from the Uk will cost around a grand between flights accomodation and transportation.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Are 01 Astra's any good ?
    An 04 316i, oh sh1t sorry that's a 5 series :rolleyes:
    Wouldn't touch a diesel 75 although he swears by Bimmer diesels :D
    20 years experience :P
    i never asked ar the o1 astra any good i asked what do people think of them get ya facts straight buddy :D
    the 1.3 corolla in my opinion is one of the greatest small engines ever built when it come to ease of maintainence and reliability

would not touch rover as they are pig ugly ;)

colm1234 wrote: »
    lol rover love the sly digs nice, you forgot to mention that cabin can suffer water ingress causing ECU problems, also the srs conectors on the seats tend to go causing airbag failure, head gasket failure on the 1.8 because they did not make a big enough coolant unit, also the front coil springs go but in fareness i do have to agree with you rover they are reliable enough, I just personally think they a poor mans jag

1.8 HG issue not relevant to the diesel :)
    Cabin does not suffer water ingress flooding the ECU, the ECU is not in the cabin ;) The ECU gets flooded as the plenum drains clog up with leaves and general crud off the windcreen etc.
    SRS connectors on the seats tend to go if apes throw the seats back violently.
    Front coil springs are very few and far between failures.

I wasn't having a dig at you, many many mechanics don't change the breather filter. Sure you no dount know all about the breather filter ;)

Back to diesel 75s, fuel pumps can fail, there's an under bonnet AND in tank pump in SOME of them. The intank one fails more than the underbonnet one.

bored now roverjames you win wish i was you and so on :eek: what are you driving out of interest ??

get ya facts straight buddy :D

That applies to at least 10% of your posts :pac:
    From what you post on here I would struggle to believe you are a mechanic at all not to mind one with 20 years experience. Unless you've been pr1cking about in Advance Pitstop or similar :pac:

bored now roverjames you win wish i was you and so on :eek: what are you driving out of interest ??

You'd never have made a detective anyway :D
    The clue is in my signature mastermind :pac:

my god rover ahhhhhhhhhhhhh ha ha ha ha ha your great for a laugh buddy :D:D think im gunna wet myself your so funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭JamBur

Every thread I look in, that has Colm in it, ends up being a slagging match. I'd trust the local first year apprentice mechanics advise before this self professed 20 year veteran:D

In fairness Colm you're good craic yourself :)

Well all,

Back to the thread........ surely €5000 will get you a decent 01/02 A4 diesel ?? With that amount of cash anything with €5750 or less on the windscreen is in range is you can haggle.

guys look you know you would be bored without my antics thats why you seek me out on every thread im sure your time at boards.ie was very dull until i came along, the fact of the matter is different strokes for different folks I personally love jap cars an thats that and rover is a fan of the old chitty chitty bang bang but thats his prerogative

yea i kinda find it bit crazy how you cant find a 01 a4 with near 6g ??

guys look you know you would be bored without my antics thats why you seek me out on every thread im sure your time at boards.ie was very dull until i came along, the fact of the matter is different strokes for different folks I personally love jap cars an thats that and rover is a fan of the old chitty chitty bang bang but thats his prerogative

You ol' smoothie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

JamBur wrote: »
    Every thread I look in, that has Colm in it, ends up being a slagging match. I'd trust the local first year apprentice mechanics advise before this self professed 20 year veteran:D

He also seems to be a consumer affairs expert as well. We won't hold it against him though....

the fact of the matter is different strokes for different folks I personally love jap cars an thats that and rover is a fan of the old chitty chitty bang bang but thats his prerogative

Rover also loved these ladies recently enough.........

2007_0610Celica_claybarred0010.jpg

2008_0527Prelude0001.jpg

and bought this a few years ago but it was apparently "stolen" from the garage before I collected it

SideF_blank.jpg

So Colm, I am a fan of jappers myself, your like of Jappers is no issue at all with me.

(apologies to those who have seen the pics before, ye love them though :pac: )

OP, the likes of this is within budget an looks decent enough, you should have no bother at all with that wodge of cash you have ;)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1748510

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I like those A4's but I find them incredibly cramped, surprisingly little space for a car of it's size.

He also seems to be a consumer affairs expert as well. We won't hold it against him though....

I apologise for cross thread posting, but this is comedy gold;
    Colm1234 wrote:
    im 6 foot 4 and 18stone solid muscle, when i ask for somthing i usually get it rather fast and with plenty of apologies wink.gif ive never been offered store credit from argos for anything always got cas

Walter Mitty II

The Rovder 75 is a lovely car for the budget. You'd be scraping the bottom of the barrel at that price for Audis, whereas you could get a nice spec, clean 75 for same cash.

I'm suprised PaintDoc hasn't been in to push the Rover marque as well :D

Intimidation tactics :eek:
    Tut tut Colm :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭hairyman

What's the OP's thoughts on the Jaguar X Type?

hairyman wrote: »

Didn't think diesel ones were available until a couple of years after they first came out ?

2.0d was available from 2004, I'd imagine the op would need to go private to get the right mileage.

Jeez, just done a search.
    Won't be getting into an X Type diesel for less than 7-8k.

OP should disregard my original post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Jeez, just done a search.
    Won't be getting into an X Type diesel for less than 7-8k.

That's what I meant by the years :) No 2001/2002 ish diesel X types about.

octavia tdi :D

That's what I meant by the years :) No 2001/2002 ish diesel X types about.

Had no idea they held their value so well though :o

OSI wrote: »
    Not really, you've come onto boards and continually argued against veteran and very well respected boards posters.

It's not entertaining.. It's fucking annoying and just leaves your credibility somewhat lacking...

grow a sense of humor buddy if you dont like what i have to say dont read it simples :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭sherdydan

colm1234, our messiah has arrived!!!

he knows all, hail the mighty one!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

I like those A4's but I find them incredibly cramped, surprisingly little space for a car of it's size.

I'm not saying they are a bad car but personally feel that diesel Audi A4's command a sizeable premium which I see hard to justify all the same.

sherdydan wrote: »

you may call me your master, and bow when you speak peasant :cool:

Cheers for the replys,

and keep them coming till I sort out my next motor

Yea there a great car, I had the 1999 hatchback model as my first car and had no problems with it at all, I'm looking at them again as an option.

Not so much as I probably wouldn't be able to keep up with servicing parts for it & general maintenance etc, Audi are expensive too but I'd imagine it would be more affordable for me.

Never thought about Volvo diesels, sound, I'll keep a look out for them
    I'm not saying they are a bad car but personally feel that diesel Audi A4's command a sizeable premium which I see hard to justify all the same.

Yea I find they hold onto their value very well and 5000 grand doesn't hold up to get a good clean car.

Had a look at an 02 a4 the other day, 4500e he was looking for it, the car was in a sorry state, no NCT for 5 months, he owned it for over a year and told me he never got it serviced and it kept getting worse when I inspected it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

sherdydan wrote: »
    Genius sarcasm, my fav... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Anything with a 1.9 tdI engine is ridiculously priced these days, even Toledos.

Thinking outside the box will get you something in much better condition and newer.

That sort of money for a 10 year old fwd tractor that is basically a vw is just nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭mk2

Them 1.9 tdi 130bhp diesels are class that audi in donegal looks good and a lady owner if the name is anthing to go by,kit,set of big wheels(look's like 18'' rs4's on there already)40mm lowering springs and you'd have as nice a wagon as any,plus 45 to 50mpg...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Can't beat a "felt" spec RS4 TDi weapon. *

* Statement entended as sarcasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Mr.Boots

18 Stone of pure muscle....lol i just cant stop laughing at that.:D
    Paints quite a picture.