Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

nurses wages

• 30-12-2010 2:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22

nurses in the south were not paid today, wages should have been in their bank accounts thismorning, any one know why, mabe the government cant pay?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

banking closures and bank holidays slowing everything down? BOI (for example) were not open yesterday around here so maybe thats bumped things by a day...
    I had a DD from BOI thats was due on 26th, only went today...
    Another due on the 26th still has not hit

Edit: http://boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=544 is probably better than here also...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Raco316

its the same with leinster! we are apparently supposed to get it in the bank tomorrow! hopefully as my rent is due and its new years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Raco316

just got this email from broadcast!!

Dear Colleagues

The HSE has this morning been made aware that there will be a delay of one day in the payment of some employees' salaries which were due for payment today in the following areas;

•South (old southern health board area)

•North East

•Northern area

•East coast area

•South West

•Shared Services / Corporate

The delay is arising in areas where the HSE uses a private contractor to calculate the pay that is due to staff, and to set up payment through our bank accounts. We are in contact with the contractor to ascertain the reasons for the delayed payment.

The effect of the delay in payment is that staff who are normally paid every second Thursday and due to be paid today will not now be paid until tomorrow, Friday 31st December. While this delay does not affect all members of staff in the areas listed above, it does impact on a significant proportion.

A failure to pay staff on the due date is a significant concern for HSE. We are currently examining the reason for this delay in payment and will endeavour to ensure that such an event does not happen again.

We apologise for any inconvenience that this delay may cause to colleagues.

Best Regards

Liam Woods

National Director of Finance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭unit 1

Ah yes the super efficient private sector to the rescue again:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Can they not take their half day and go cash the cheque :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Raco316 wrote: »

•North East

•Northern area

•East coast area

•South West

The delay is arising in areas where the HSE uses a private contractor to calculate the pay that is due to staff, and to set up payment through our bank accounts. We are in contact with the contractor to ascertain the reasons for the delayed payment.

Its interesting that the HSE still uses the old health board demarcations in regards to how staff are paid. Surely this should be centralised at this stage and savings made in that way?

Perhaps one of our boards members in the HSE could enlighten us as to to why this system still exists and whether it has any advantages over centralising the pay function through one contractor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭erictheviking1

maplebanks wrote: »
    nurses in the south were not paid today, wages should have been in their bank accounts thismorning, any one know why, mabe the government cant pay?:eek:

You really shouldn't mention stuff like that on a forum like this. The begrudgers will be positively gloating at the fact that nurses haven't been paid.
    The good thing is most of them aren't back in college for a couple of weeks and the few that actually work are on holidays so can't sit at their desks on the internet all day until next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

You really shouldn't mention stuff like that on a forum like this. The begrudgers will be positively gloating at the fact that nurses haven't been paid.
    The good thing is most of them aren't back in college for a couple of weeks and the few that actually work are on holidays so can't sit at their desks on the internet all day until next week.

Whats this....a PS worker talking sh**e? how novel.

First, by begrudgers I take it you mean people out in the real world who can get sacked if they foul up and can be made redundant if their company gets in trouble? By begrudgers I take it you mean people who think the country is spending far more than it takes in taxes?

Well, most "begrudgers" as you would term them don't actually begrudge front line nurses and junior doctors at all so your attempt at trolling fails. Also, just looking around me and my place of work is fully operational so your other attempt at trolling fails too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

Are you referring to people gloating about the uselessness of the admin in the HSE? If so then fair enough :D
    On a side note, Im all for PS waste of money bashing but ill never have a go at the nurses, theyre the one crowd I defend. They need a degree, work crazy hours, from time to time take sh1t from doctors, and during all this they work their balls off.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

ntlbell wrote: »

i wish my full working day was only one hour long :rolleyes::rolleyes:

ntlbell wrote: »
    By begrudgers I mean posters who make baseless, uninformed comments like this!

Did I say I was a PS worker? or did you jump to that conclusion...
    First, by begrudgers I take it you mean people out in the real world who can get sacked if they foul up and can be made redundant if their company gets in trouble?
    I've actually worked and paid taxes since I was 16, and not in the public sector.
    If you mean the students and the posters who claim to be working incredibly hard in the private sector while single handedly working us out of recession and paying everyones dole and wages while somehow posting on here 24/7. Then Yes, I refer to this bunch as begrudgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

unit 1 wrote: »
    Ah yes the super efficient private sector to the rescue again:D
    No-one claims that the private sector is super-efficient, but in this sector failure is punished (unless you're a government protecting bankers).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

First, by begrudgers I take it you mean people out in the real world who can get sacked if they foul up and can be made redundant if their company gets in trouble? By begrudgers I take it you mean people who think the country is spending far more than it takes in taxes?

Well, most "begrudgers" as you would term them don't actually begrudge front line nurses and junior doctors at all so your attempt at trolling fails. Also, just looking around me and my place of work is fully operational so your other attempt at trolling fails too.

I assume somebaody in the private company responsible for this mess up - I note the payment was contracted out - will be fired and I assume all in this section will be made redundant when the HSE cancels the contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Godge wrote: »
    I assume somebaody in the private company responsible for this mess up - I note the payment was contracted out - will be fired and I assume all in this section will be made redundant when the HSE cancels the contract.

Why so? The HSE won't expect any such actions given its constant lack of responsibility for its own mistakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Why so? The HSE won't expect any such actions given its constant lack of responsibility for its own mistakes.
    Raco316 wrote: »
    just got this email from broadcast!!

Dear Colleagues

The HSE has this morning been made aware that there will be a delay of one day in the payment of some employees' salaries which were due for payment today in the following areas;

•North East

•Northern area

•East coast area

•South West

The effect of the delay in payment is that staff who are normally paid every second Thursday and due to be paid today will not now be paid until tomorrow, Friday 31st December. While this delay does not affect all members of staff in the areas listed above, it does impact on a significant proportion.

A failure to pay staff on the due date is a significant concern for HSE. We are currently examining the reason for this delay in payment and will endeavour to ensure that such an event does not happen again.

We apologise for any inconvenience that this delay may cause to colleagues.

Best Regards

Liam Woods

National Director of Finance

As much as I like to bash the PS for their mistakes, it seems that this one was down to a private contracter. So I am waiting for the sackings and redundancies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

As much as I like to bash the PS for their mistakes, it seems that this one was down to a private contracter. So I am waiting for the sackings and redundancies.

for what, a minor mistake that delays a payment by a day? I don't think so. Someone should be dressed down for that, but that is all.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

for what, a minor mistake that delays a payment by a day? I don't think so. Someone should be dressed down for that, but that is all.

i think Godge is trying to point out is that if this happened in the Public Sector, people would be screaming for blood.

its a simple mistake imo, i dont think anybody should be sacked or even warned about it, beit public or private.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

zig wrote: »
    On a side note, Im all for PS waste of money bashing but ill never have a go at the nurses, theyre the one crowd I defend. They need a degree, work crazy hours, from time to time take sh1t from doctors, and during all this they work their balls off.

So that's why the overwhelming majority of nurses are women.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Says who?
    The blurb says no such thing

It does not say that the fault is down to the private contractor.
    The fault is in an area which a contractor helps the HSE. I've seen several feck ups by the HSE that my company has helped out but we were in no way associated with the feck up.
    All I see is a carefully worded press release that appears (to me) to distance itself from the issue. The last paragraph appears to suggest that they don't even know the specific reason for the issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

zig wrote: »
    Are you referring to people gloating about the uselessness of the admin in the HSE? If so then fair enough :D

three things are certain in this life

death
    taxes
    irish peoples unconditional love of nurses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Paulzx

irishh_bob wrote: »

death
    taxes

Jaysus "Bob". 22 posts on a thread about nurses before you come along. The oul hate radar must be down. i thought you'd be in like Flynn long before that.

Sacred cows and all that..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

Paulzx wrote: »
    Jaysus "Bob". 22 posts on a thread about nurses before you come along. The oul hate radar must be down. i thought you'd be in like Flynn long before that.

I do have to agree with bob on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Paulzx

femur61 wrote: »
    I do have to agree with bob on that one.

Not a cool sentance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

irishh_bob wrote: »

death
    taxes

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

Paulzx wrote: »

was meant to be tongue in cheek , you have to admit though , we do adore nurses in this country , you will often find a poster who having hacked his way through various state sectors , will pull back when he reaches the nurses and instead produce a love letter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

The only reason private contractors are needed are because of the constant feck ups and overruns and waste in public sector projects.
    PPARS anyone?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ppars-fiasco-as-costs-hit-8364220m-1891230.html

Why cant they just go to country with best health systems and get same IT systems as them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,467 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Because the reason PPARS went off the rails was because of the insane levels of variations of pay-scales and contracts. So many different 'work-arounds' have been adopted over the years by managers trying to appease their staff that it's highly unlikely any off-the-shelf package could handle them all (PPARS was the custom build option).

The obvious thing to do would be to rationalise the number of contract types, grades etc. but this would lead to huge levels of unrest amongst the staff as Mary couldn't be seen to be getting a pay-raise whilst Maura was getting a cut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

It happens that sometimes money doesn't go into people's accounts - happened twice to me in a private company, both times at holiday weekends.

We just asked the guy in charge of the finances.End of panic - such as it was.

I've got a question.....how come, the HSE, with it's mountain of staff, and the entire civil service to support it, has to use a private contractor to calculate wages????:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Its interesting that the HSE still uses the old health board demarcations in regards to how staff are paid. Surely this should be centralised at this stage and savings made in that way?

Perhaps one of our boards members in the HSE could enlighten us as to to why this system still exists and whether it has any advantages over centralising the pay function through one contractor?

This was a key factor in the failure to implement the PPARs system correctly. There were simply too many one-off or "special" pay grades and the system, even though customised, could not handle them all correctly. in reality, there should have been a project to rationalise the amount of paygrades alongside implementation of the PPARs system. But there wasn't.

In an ideal world, the merging of the various Health Boards into the HSE should have generated immense efficiencies (not the least the above example), but it didn't. Instead it became even more bloated.

Back to the original topic, delays like this in generating payroll files are not entirely uncommon - however, when they do happen, they're highly sensitive because people like to find their salary/wages in their bank account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

when is the HSE half and full year reporting?

An "accident" that allows them to keep the wages on the books, going into H2 or the new financial year?