Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

American Style Drug Testing in 2011 for Drivers

• 30-12-2010 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭

Irish drivers will face stringent new American-style road-side testing for drugs in 2011.

According to today's Irish Independent, the tests will include Gardaí checking drivers for dilated pupils, getting them to stand on one leg and to walk in a straight line.

A driver who refuses to submit to the new tests can be fined €5,0000 or jailed for six months.

Read more: http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/us-style-road-testing-set-for-irish-roll-out-in-new-year-487373.html#ixzz19bQZfXHT

The effects of drugs while your driving.

I don't know about ye, but if a Garda asks me to hop along the road on one leg with my arms behind my back i'd probably fall over, drugs or no drugs.
    This should make for some entertaning rubber necking. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

A driver who refuses to submit to the new tests can be fined €5,0000 or jailed for six months.

I'd like to know if that is just for refusing the roadside one or testing full stop, as in at the station after. Its way over the top for simply refusing the road side one IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

A lad I was in FAS with last year was telling me back in his hay day he used to take extacy and then have to drive. He was saying there a few nights he'd have the wipers on full speed thinking there was loads of it insects hitting the windscreen which they wouldn't and also imaginary roads, drive off course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

Plug wrote: »
    A lad I was in FAS with last year was telling me back in his hay day he used to take extacy and then have to drive. He was saying there a few nights he'd have the wipers on full speed thinking there was loads of it insects hitting the windscreen which they wouldn't and also imaginary roads, drive off course.
    X would not make you think that.
    Magic mushrooms, maybe.

X would not make you think that.
    Magic mushrooms, maybe.
    You can illusinate on X.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭demixed

Could they not do this anyway? :confused:
    If people are driving along before now when off there face, surely a guard couldn't just wave them along?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

You can illusinate on X.
    Even on huge amounts of x, hallucinations of that magnitude are .... unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

You can illusinate on X.

Only if its mixed with a powerful hallucinate .

I have illusinated lots of times on it but I don't do it any more. Anyway back on topic don't they have an ad for it now. The lad mowes down a woman with his friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

I have illusinated lots of times on it ....

I don't doubt you for a moment....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,581 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I have illusinated lots of times on it but I don't do it any more. Anyway back on topic don't they have an ad for it now. The lad mowes down a woman with his friends.

If your supply was adulterated to bejaysus, possibly.

Once upon a time Mixmag magazine did a test to try and see what driving reactions were like after various drugs - I dug up references to it when that culchie TD said some people were safer after a pint. They were 'requested' not to publish it as it showed, IIRC, that you actually were safer on small amounts of cocaine and E than not - small amounts of coke made you sharper, small amounts of E slowed you down.

Increase the dosage, however....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,225 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Why drink & drive?

Smoke a joint and fly home :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

IF it's enforced it will be wide open to abuse as it's back to the old chestnut of a garda "forming an opinion" so it's completely subjective.
    So if a garda wants to piss off a motorist they can "form an opinion" and get them to do silly walks on the side of the road.
    Typical Irish, years too late and when they do introduce it they make a hash of it. (Pun intended)
    They should have looked at modern best-practice in other jurisdictions.

Tracy Hogan, environment correspondent with the Irish Independent, has been on Newstalk saying that there is no alternative test to determine if a person is under the influence of drugs. They use tongue swabs for roadside tests in Australia :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,123 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Aren't the American tests so that the cops can breathalize you? They don't have the right to straight breath tests so have to prove you're DUI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

IA driver who refuses to submit to the new tests can be fined €5,0000 or jailed for six months.

Comma in the wrong place, or extra zero added?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭bildo

These are stupid test only aimed at tricking you into incriminating yourself.
    Any test for cannabis is can only verify that you've smoked within a few weeks, its only the admission to the guard that you "only had one, a while ago" that will go against you in court. Deny deny deny.
    Just because its in your system, doesn't mean you are under the influence, some drugs stay in your system for months, even years after their effect has worn off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

bildo wrote: »
    Any test for cannabis is can only verify that you've smoked within a few weeks, its only the admission to the guard that you "only had one, a while ago" that will go against you in court. Deny deny deny.
    Just because its in your system, doesn't mean you are under the influence, some drugs stay in your system for months, even years after their effect has worn off.

With the peado dominated judiciary in Ireland, you can be sure with the smallest amount of hash in your system, you will still get banned, its another nanny state law, and lets remember cannibas is public enemy no 1 to an gardaí as its the easiest drug to find and the user will generally be too relaxed to give the filthy pig any guff, so cops love finding hash/weed , it makes it look like they were busy taking "dangerous" drugs off the street...Im not for people driving on drugs but there is a big difference between driving with a low grade hash joint than driving with some super skunk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

bildo wrote: »

this is not true

read my post from july 08

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=56436120&postcount=75

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Tigger wrote: »
    Statistics released yesterday show that the gardai have been taking motorists to court if evidence of drugs appears in the result of their blood tests.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/400-prosecuted-for-drugdriving-in-five-years-1356856.html

There are many other similar cases, they don't give much detail about how much was in the blood. Also, there is no mention of legal drugs in this legislation.
    Transport Minister Noel Dempsey said there was increasing evidence that more and more drivers were under the influence of drugs.

"A lot of young people who would not dream of driving under the influence of alcohol would smoke a joint and drive," he said.

"This new roadside impairment drug test will be another weapon in the arsenal of the gardai."
    http://www.herald.ie/national-news/gardai-set-for-crackdown-on-drugdriving-2478665.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

yes but if they go by the "any in your system" that some people fear they will then there could be closer to 40,000 prosecutions per annum