Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woodturning as a hobby

• 29-12-2010 12:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

I am thinking about taking up woodturning as a hobby - does anyone here have any experience with this and would you recommend it???

• Registered Users Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

I'm a wood turner, ask away :)

I took it up a lil over a year ago, i love it. Very relaxing just switching off and banging out a bowl or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Will wrote: »
    I'm a wood turner, ask away :)

I took it up a lil over a year ago, i love it. Very relaxing just switching off and banging out a bowl or whatever.

So do you have your own lathe then and if so what kind of costs for a set up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Mainame

Do you turn at home Will???? Does it take long to get reasonably good? Where did you learn??? (Why do I ask so many questions?!)

costs vary depending on what size things you want to turn. lathes go from around €300 upwards to astronomical prices. bare in mind legs/stands for the lathe aren't included so factor that in also
    tool sets start around 50euro
    grinders cost 70 and upwards
    i would strongly recommend getting a chuck which vary in price, i spent 160 on mine i think

they're the basic bits and bobs you need to turn, you could get away without using a chuck but life is so much easier with one. so depending on the lathe and such you could easily spend the guts of a grand

i turn at home yeah, im self taught but everytime you turn you get better and learn something :) I love it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

wow that's expensive. Gonna do the course anyway, moght call round to your gaff to practice then, good man will

I am female by the way - do you know of other women who have this hobby???

i think it's a pretty male dominated area, again i don't know many/any other woodturners in ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭reverenddave

Mainame wrote: »
    I am female by the way - do you know of other women who have this hobby???

i'm turning for about 7-8 years now
    and i have met a few female turners my wife has a go every now and again too
    the set up cost can be pretty expensive i paid €700 for my first lathe in 2003 and after 6 months i taught myself to make good enough stuff to sell (which i dont do) and it pays for itself at christmas time too

but now i'm trying desperately to upgrade i'm getting a good deal off a guy in cork city the list price is about €2700 but he's getting it for me for about €2000 hopefully and giving me a bag of blanks for nuttin too :D

keep an eye out in LIDL and ALDI they had a small 1/3 HP lathe about 2 years ago for €170ish and it done the job for a beginner they had chisels and safety stuff too

Rev Dave: as a matter of interest, why don't you sell the stuff?

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭reverenddave

Mainame wrote: »
    Rev Dave: as a matter of interest, why don't you sell the stuff?

i sadly dont have the time to make enough even to fill a stall at the farmers market but in the near future
    hopefully when i upgrade i'll be able to
    trust me it's been on my mind for a few years :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭keith gallagher

I know 2 female turners who do some amazing work. I meet them when I attend the Midlands Woodturning Chapter meetings.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

This is a major bump of a thread so apologies as i just picked up on a google search. I have been left a full work shop full of carpentry kit. I have always wanted to do some wood turning especially as years of roads being built in the area has meant meant ash, oak, sycamore trees etc were felled and a good few of the trunks/cut offs were left with my Dad (well known caprenter) and still stacked in the workshop. My Dad is retired now and not that fit for the manual aspect of his trade so is considering selling off his machinery. I would love to spend some time learing how to do some woodwork - one thing that we dont have is a lathe. My question is what would be the minimum needed to make a decent effort at some wood turning. Mentioning a chuck above, for example, more erm detail would be appreciated. Ye might wonder why I am not asling my Dad this - well these days his mood isnt the best so i'd rather not ask him and just get him helping me - even if it is just keeping the paws intact lol

• Registered Users Posts: 3,856 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Have a look at the 'Irish woodturners guild ' website for info on your local branch , demonstrations, etc

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭woodturner

Nesta99 wrote: »
    This is a major bump of a thread so apologies as i just picked up on a google search. I have been left a full work shop full of carpentry kit. I have always wanted to do some wood turning especially as years of roads being built in the area has meant meant ash, oak, sycamore trees etc were felled and a good few of the trunks/cut offs were left with my Dad (well known caprenter) and still stacked in the workshop. My Dad is retired now and not that fit for the manual aspect of his trade so is considering selling off his machinery. I would love to spend some time learing how to do some woodwork - one thing that we dont have is a lathe. My question is what would be the minimum needed to make a decent effort at some wood turning. Mentioning a chuck above, for example, more erm detail would be appreciated. Ye might wonder why I am not asling my Dad this - well these days his mood isnt the best so i'd rather not ask him and just get him helping me - even if it is just keeping the paws intact lol

Where are you from? I can give you a few pointers if you like.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

I am a Dundalk chap; thanks very much for the reply! I have started to tidy up rather than clear out the old workshop. I mentioned to Dad about some wood turning and he didnt say no which is great tbh. I dont know what he knows himself specifically with woodturning - he is old school so probably would be decent enough in giving me a bit of guidance but as a specialist woodturner your advice would be much appreciated. What basic kit is needed is the main thing, I have no end of well looked after complete sets of chisels for example. PM me would be great. In general i love crafts and am not too shabby at charcoal drawings and lini-prints.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭eskerman

I looked into this a while ago as a hobby and I think you need to be spending circa €1000/1500 for decent gear - buy the best you can afford and it will generally hold some sort of residual value - I am looking at lathes and the Axminster 1280 VS seems be good value and also very popular

Nice hobby and good to relax with