Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a hard nights work

• 29-12-2010 2:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭

we went back to where we were lamping the other night, to see if we could thin the foxes number a bit more.
    we tried some of the same spots with no luck, saw one fox but he wasn't hangin around, obviously lamp shy:(.
    tried another field, we were calling in the field about 50 yards in off the main road, and where does a fox appear? in the gap comin into the field off the main road:mad:. all we could do was watch him stand there, then circle aroud us until he got our wind, and feck off at great speed.
    we tried a couple more places, then we went down a lane, and pulled up in a spot where there were two gaps opposite each other.
    we were callin for about 5 minutes, when we spotted a flash of eyes and a fox moving through the rushes. it looked like it was heading to cross the lane and get in to the field on the other side, so we went to the other gap and started calling. after a minute we saw the eyes again about 60 yards away. i had the sticks extended so i could shoot standing over the rushes.
    so as soon as i put the cross hairs on its chest i dropped it. another vixen.
    i skinned the tail and threw the body in the ditch.
    the bitch really made us work for the shot tonight, and i have to say that if it wasn't for the sticks i wouldn't have got the fox, so i'm never going shooting without them again, combined with the harris 9"-13" swivel bipod they give me great flexibility as to the positions i can shoot from.
    we tried calling in one more spot but after 10 minutes we decide to call it a night.
    4 foxes shot and 1 snared in 2 days in an area of about 300 acres is good going. maybe we might get another lad in a couple of weeks after the slurry is spread, but we're gonna leave that place off until then.
    we have a couple of spots to try tomorrow night that are a bit closer to home, so hopefully i might have more news for ye then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Any Pictures?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

sorry lad but i haven't been taking pictures of them as i shoot them. i will put up a picture of my collection of tails today though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sc89

Good going, at least you got one last night!:D We missed two last night because we didn't have sticks with us, if we had them we would have dropped both foxes!:(

sc89 wrote: »
    Good going, at least you got one last night!:D We missed two last night because we didn't have sticks with us, if we had them we would have dropped both foxes!:(
    i used to use a harris 13"-24" bipod, but i found it added too much weight to the front of the rifle, and that i didn't allow me to get as close to the ground as i'd like for the longer shots. i'm really loving these sticks now, because when i'm walking around i carry them at their short position this allows me to quickly drop into a kneeling position if i have to and i'm guaranteed a good rest. if i'm going into an area with a lot of rushes or hills and hollows i have to fire over, i extend them to the height i need for standing shots before the lamp is switched on, and i rest the rifle on the sticks straight away so that i'm not wasting time trying to get setup when the fox is standing in front of me, i find i can shoot quite comfortably out to 120 yards like this. then if i'm in a position where i can take the shot lying down, i just drop the sticks on the ground and deploy the bipod as i'm going prone.
    even if the fox is only 50 yards away i'll go prone if i can because i always try to use the best rest available.
    i know this all probably sounds very tactical, but practicing these techniques has bagged me a lot more foxes with a lot less misses.
    so go invest in a set of sticks, and practice with them. you won't look back if you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sc89

declan1980 wrote: »
    i used to use a harris 13"-24" bipod, but i found it added too much weight to the front of the rifle, and that i didn't allow me to get as close to the ground as i'd like for the longer shots. i'm really loving these sticks now, because when i'm walking around i carry them at their short position this allows me to quickly drop into a kneeling position if i have to and i'm guaranteed a good rest. if i'm going into an area with a lot of rushes or hills and hollows i have to fire over, i extend them to the height i need for standing shots before the lamp is switched on, and i rest the rifle on the sticks straight away so that i'm not wasting time trying to get setup when the fox is standing in front of me, i find i can shoot quite comfortably out to 120 yards like this. then if i'm in a position where i can take the shot lying down, i just drop the sticks on the ground and deploy the bipod as i'm going prone.
    even if the fox is only 50 yards away i'll go prone if i can because i always try to use the best rest available.
    i know this all probably sounds very tactical, but practicing these techniques has bagged me a lot more foxes with a lot less misses.
    so go invest in a set of sticks, and practice with them. you won't look back if you do

Thanks for the advice, sounds good, we'll use these techniques the next night we're out.:) Hopefully they'll help us get the 2 red lads we missed last night and a few more of their friends!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

declan1980 wrote: »
    i skinned the tail and threw the body in the ditch.

Is this usual?

Don't farmers mind carcasses being dumped like that?

LostCovey

LostCovey wrote: »
    Is this usual?

Don't farmers mind carcasses being dumped like that?

LostCovey
    not at all, some of the farmers that have asked me to shoot foxes for them come with us when we go lamping, because they have a better knowledge of the area, and when a fox is shot some even tell us to "throw them in that ditch over there out of the way". as long as the bodies aren't left in the middle of the field they don't care. crows and rats will take care of any carcass fairly quickly, so it's not an issue.
    why, what do you do with the bodies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭ROSSKI

Have you a photo or a link of the sticks you use - Was out 2 nights ago as well,We got five but we seen about 3 more,We got one lad we were ater for about two years so happy out;)