Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Year's Eve

• 28-12-2010 9:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭

So, anyone know any events that's happening on New Year's Eve?

For example, how much is Angel Lane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

All the clubs are generally 20 euro I'd imagine. Baker Place is 10 euro after 9pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Pikasso

What's the story with entry? Do people have to buy tickets in advance or on the door on the night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

You can buy tickets on the door at Bakers.

Check here for details of the New Years Eve
    http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=158891174157244&index=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Man, why would you be spending €20 going into some place to be squeezed around the place sweating from other people's heat? You must remember, the nightclubs are incentivised to get as many in the door as they possibly can and they really don't give a sh*t whether or not you have a good night, hell, they even send the bouncers around looking for people to throw out so they can let more in. And don't even try the fire regulation max person's crap! Why do you think the bouncers collect the same tickets off patrons?
    Don't waste your money and time and instead go to some friends' house, you'll have more fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭May Feign

Man, why would you be spending €20 going into some place to be squeezed around the place sweating from other people's heat? You must remember, the nightclubs are incentivised to get as many in the door as they possibly can and they really don't give a sh*t whether or not you have a good night, hell, they even send the bouncers around looking for people to throw out so they can let more in. And don't even try the fire regulation max person's crap! Why do you think the bouncers collect the same tickets off patrons?
    Don't waste your money and time and instead go to some friends' house, you'll have more fun.

totally agree,why people bother with that kip of a town is beyond me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

May Feign wrote: »
    totally agree,why people bother with that kip of a town is beyond me

Damn true. I think the only place I've frequented in the last two years is Bakerplace. Every other pub is a tip, and I'm not one for niteclubs at all. Too student-y for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Simon Adebisi

How can pubs get away with charging money to enter on NYE?

Or is the fact that sheep will pay the money regardless?

How can pubs get away with charging money to enter on NYE?

Or is the fact that sheep will pay the money regardless?

You are probably on the monmey there Simon.
    Another poster also said Bakers would be good. I went there a few times years ago when in college, seems less mainstream alright so maybe it wouldn't be as full.
    In the interest of openness and honesty, I went into Flannery's on Denmark Street last year at about 11.00 and it was grand, not full at all and you could see the queue across the road at Icon. People rammed up against each other, struggling to maintain a standing position from the shoving and pushing, eagerly waiting for their chance to part with their €20 in the hope of being rammed into a cage even more once they got inside.
    You'd really wonder...

You are probably on the monmey there Simon.
    Another poster also said Bakers would be good. I went there a few times years ago when in college, seems less mainstream alright so maybe it wouldn't be as full.
    In the interest of openness and honesty, I went into Flannery's on Denmark Street last year at about 11.00 and it was grand, not full at all and you could see the queue across the road at Icon. People rammed up against each other, struggling to maintain a standing position from the shoving and pushing, eagerly waiting for their chance to part with their €20 in the hope of being rammed into a cage even more once they got inside.
    You'd really wonder...

we'd do anything for a feek

People rammed up against each other, struggling to maintain a standing position from the shoving and pushing, eagerly waiting for their chance to part with their €20 in the hope of being rammed into a cage even more once they got inside.

Some people like to go clubbing and thats just the way it is.

I'll be going out but probably not to a club. But as the saying goes its about the company, not where you go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Jagle

So, anyone know any events that's happening on New Year's Eve?

For example, how much is Angel Lane?

angel lane is 15 euro on the door on the night, hit them up on facebook giving away 100 free tickets

wow you really must have gotten turned away one too many times to be this bitter, while im not a big fan of nightclubs everyone once in a while and its good fun.
    now i wont even begin correcting you on why they take your tickets, the fact most dont kick people out just to let more in, or the whole, nightclubs dont give a **** about your night out, just no point arguing with you if your that narrow minding, now if im wrong and your not, well then let me know and ill answer your points

i got refused once for having a 'limerick accent'
    it was also a club in limerick

i got refused once for having a 'limerick accent'
    it was also a club in limerick

find it very hard to believe any respectable club would have said that, as you would have grounds there for a lawsuit for discrimination

You're entitled to your opinion, but have you actually ever been to Angel Lane?
    Not a fan of Icon myself, but Angel Lane is generally grand, not that bad when its full. Security are among the politer I've encountered...

Jagle wrote: »
    find it very hard to believe any respectable club would have said that, as you would have grounds there for a lawsuit for discrimination

i naaw wat yaugh mean kid although if o donnell see's me one more time he said he'd bate the book of me sham

think you just kinda proved you werent telling the truth there mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭ronanc15

Taken from o connells (old quarter) facebook page:

"New Years eve Party O'Connells ........Free Entry, Free Finger Food and Free champagne at midnight. Party starts at 8 and DJ playing til late"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭xxlauraxxox

i gotta say i find the bouncers on smyths and the icon quite rude and stuck up i have no issues getting i there but its a recession and uve seen them turn people away for no appartanr reason and no-one actally in smyths they need retraining if u ask me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Frank and Walters, The power of dreams and The sultans of ping all in Dolans NYE. It's going to be brilliant :cool::cool:

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Bouncers in Limerick (mostly Icon and Trinity) are pricks im not saying all of them of are but the majority are, Its definitly an ego thing with the ones in Icon anyway because i remember one night walking in with my girlfriend at around 9 only to be turned away because i was clearly too drunk , I found it funny as i was driving that night and hadn't a single drink on me now like im 26, I'm a bit small maybe thats it, The reason i say its funny because the same girl i was with tried to get in then with two of her mates (bearing in mind they were all wearing skirts and whjat have ya) They were letting them all in before my girlfirend refused and said i'm not coming in without my boyfriend and they said fine have it you're way , i mean i don't know im not really bitter because i dont really go into town but itwas her birthday so i said i would, another thing thats bull**** is this regulars only craic how are ya meant to be a regular if ya don't get in in the 1st place , Club Dville, Bulgaden all better spots neway well maybe not bulgaden actually lol

Jagle wrote: »
    wow you really must have gotten turned away one too many times to be this bitter, while im not a big fan of nightclubs everyone once in a while and its good fun.
    now i wont even begin correcting you on why they take your tickets, the fact most dont kick people out just to let more in, or the whole, nightclubs dont give a **** about your night out, just no point arguing with you if your that narrow minding, now if im wrong and your not, well then let me know and ill answer your points

I've actually never been turned away from any nightclub Jagle. I've been in and out of them all. Tbh, I much prefer being in a spacious bar like Flannerys or Nancy's, even Old Quarter is grand when its not too busy. I suppose its different folks, different strokes. I go out to see people I haven't seen in a while and catch up and chat, wouldn't drink much you see. All that is far removed from being shoved and pushed around by drunks in the clubs.
    I am open to your opinion on why they rotate the tickets on the doors. I might be wrong, but my own opinion is that they are recycled so as never to have sold more than the maximum limit of occupants. But as I said, if I am wrong, i'd be interested to know why they do it.

I've actually never been turned away from any nightclub Jagle. I've been in and out of them all. Tbh, I much prefer being in a spacious bar like Flannerys or Nancy's, even Old Quarter is grand when its not too busy. I suppose its different folks, different strokes. I go out to see people I haven't seen in a while and catch up and chat, wouldn't drink much you see. All that is far removed from being shoved and pushed around by drunks in the clubs.
    I am open to your opinion on why they rotate the tickets on the doors. I might be wrong, but my own opinion is that they are recycled so as never to have sold more than the maximum limit of occupants. But as I said, if I am wrong, i'd be interested to know why they do it.

i agree with you, often rather a few pints in flas or nancys, or bourkes, tho nancys last night was crazy couldnt move an inch.
    the tickets are not in fact recycled, they are taken, and kept, nightclubs are ment to hold onto the tickets so that they can be inspected if a problem did arise, angel lane and trinity have correct ticket machines, the machines only print x amount and only 1 machine per club, machines are all tracked with a serial number, if you wanna up the capacity of your club machine needs to be sent off to be updated to allow it to print more tickets, the tickets from icon on the other hand to my knowledge arnt legal as they dont come from that type of specific machine, tho you would have to clarify that with icon.

am i allowed say that? if not ill edit my post to remove names

Ok, I didn't know that. Is there some central place where total entry ticket sales are monitored? I accept your point on Icon, I was basing my whole assumption on the Icon setup. It gets so full sometimes in there that one would be stupid to believe that that is the number authorised by the fire inspector. A/Lane isn't so bad and never seems quite as full as Icon can get but you still can't beat somwhere with room and the music isn't so loud that you are shouting to chat with friends.

Edit - Sorry, you mentioned there that the ticket machines can only print so many tickets. This is what I was referring to, I have often gone into the clubs and just been handed a ticket that would have been printed earlier in the night, then I would have to hand it to the bouncer and at this point, I have my suspicions that they are then handed back in behind the counter to the ticketing girls to be sold again. The machine need never bother printing another ticket as the ones handed to bouncer can be given back to the ticketing desk?
    Am I missing something there?

Ok, I didn't know that. Is there some central place where total entry ticket sales are monitored? I accept your point on Icon, I was basing my whole assumption on the Icon setup. It gets so full sometimes in there that one would be stupid to believe that that is the number authorised by the fire inspector. A/Lane isn't so bad and never seems quite as full as Icon can get but you still can't beat somwhere with room and the music isn't so loud that you are shouting to chat with friends.

no not really a central place but the courts would know and it would be on forms to do with fire regulations and the clubs license to sell drink alright, 6-12 months a fire inspector will come round with a garda sergeant to check up on things, usually at the end of the night make sure they arnt serving late too, i think caught twice serving late in a year and you can loose your license. and yeah icon are way over there numbers i can just guess by being in there on a night out, that upstairs smoking area is a death trap, sometimes 100+ people in that tiny area

no about bouncers handing them back, they should go into a bin if place hands you a ticket that is very wrinkled id be very suspicious too, i have not had that happen to me yet, and havent seen it or heard of it in any club, and ive been around clubs and there managers a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Pubs on NYE are generally quite quiet, its the nightclubs are heaving. Rang it in in the Locke last year and it was grand, could stroll to the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Heading to the George tonight! Hopefully will be a good night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭SupraSonic_26

im going to cork witht he gf for dinner no way am i giving them 20 euro just so i can be squashed and sweaty for the whole night while half the people cant stand or hold there drink spilling it all over ya it jsut be one big messy money wasting night ha i used to do it but rahter have 100 euro in my back pocket next morning lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭wonderingabout

Is there anything else to do in Limerick for new years eve. Im not feeling in the mood for a night out but i'd still like to do something. Is there fireworks or anything like that going on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Small house party is the way to go imo.

what if you dont live in a bungalow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Darr

just wondering if fla's on cathrine st reopened yet ?
    Dar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

AFAIK it opened last week.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

There's too much rubbish going on in this thread.

Please post in this one instead:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=69798487#post69798487

Locked.