Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

damaged yaris

• 28-12-2010 8:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

anyone any idea how much dis damage will cost to get fixed?
    together with passager front wheel that has come detached following a car being slammed into a kerb
    any recommaditions for a crash repair specialists
    many thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

id guess about 1500.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 holysmoly

Are you sitting down, depends on where you go to get it fixed for starters! I had a similar accident, damaged the steering rack, almost removed the passenger front wheel, and there can be other damage, I pushed the drive shaft up into the gear box. I had less bodywork damage than you appear to have. My car is an Opel, went to a dealership and had everything repaired for 3,000.
    My advice, get the essentials done, the mechanical parts and shop around for the best price on spray painting and bodywork. I reckon if you shop around you could possibly get the lot done for 2,000 or less.
    I'm not a mechanic, just someone who had the same misfortune about 6 weeks ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Front wheel became detached? Is the hub still attached? That could be the expensive bit. By the looks of it it's a pre-03 Yaris? Might be a write off if it's the insurance. Silver body panels should be easy to source secondhand. Tbh you'd cut the bill significantly going the secondhand route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

Theres absolutely no way of anyone here giving you an accurate figure if all we know is "wheel detached". This could mean a whole world of issues with anything from gearbox damage to damaged hubs etc.

I would be sending it to a local bodyshop, and staying as far away as possible from main dealers. Bear in mind that it may be more economically sensible to write it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

1500+ isn't a bad shout but if you need lots of steering and suspension components then your getting into silly money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

EPM wrote: »
    Front wheel became detached? Is the hub still attached? That could be the expensive bit. By the looks of it it's a pre-03 Yaris? Might be a write off if it's the insurance. Silver body panels should be easy to source secondhand. Tbh you'd cut the bill significantly going the secondhand route

I'd be betting on insurance write-off too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Looks like a write off to me too, you could easily spend 2K + repairing it.

I doubt all those panels could be pulled out and filled so you are looking at new ones, maybe someone will correct me though. Thats all assuming the wheel detachment issue isn't too serious.

End of the day you'd get a grand yaris for 2K/3K and if you spend that fixing up that yaris you'll still be left with a crash repaired one that could end up hard to shift on after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Sugarfree

women drivers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Wouldnt at all surprise me if its a write off. Its an early Yaris so of low value and by the looks of it needs a new door and theres most likely other hidden parts broken underneath. If the axle is brokrn then a repair would not be economical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Sugarfree wrote: »
    women drivers

No need for that shite.

Infraction given

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Sugarfree

No need for that shite.

Infraction given

why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Sugarfree wrote: »
    why not?

Discussing mod decisions on thread is against the charter. Send a PM if you wish. Although i think you know the answer to your question already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

write off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

As said the doors could be got second hand for small money, I wouldn't be seeing that as the expensive part.

With regards to the wheel coming off, By the way you mention it its as though you think that this is quite minor. Unfortunately an impact sever enough to pull a wheel off a car will have cause sever damage to suspension/steering and likely to chassis mounting points/subframe etc as well.

The only way it will be vaguely economical to repair would be to do a bodge job fixing it.
    To fit it properly or go through the insurance will likely both write off the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 bayside99

Thanks for your comments lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

If you are going through insurance, 100% write off.

With second hand parts, and assuming ~€500 damage to the wheel hub/rack etc, €1200-€1500

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

I doubt 1500 will fix it even with second hand parts, i'd say the centre pillar is damaged too if you look closely at it, those Yaris's are very weak there. If there's suspension damage too i'd say you'll be looking at closer to 2500 euros with s/h stuff. (Better pictures would help.....)