Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Benicassim 2011

• 27-12-2010 2:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭

so anyone going? you camping or staying in apartments?
    just got my tickets last week and haven't decided what to do about accomodation yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭Steba

So as a 6th year trip we were just thinking about going to oxegen but then i saw this site and though it would be worth looking into!

Just wondering if anyone has been or knows of anyone that has and what they thought! :)

here's the website anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭eoinf

GO, camp but you cant sleep , just flake on the beach during the day and drink and take drugs all night.

line-up this year is whopper.

its also full of english birds which is a bonus.

I had the same post 5 threads down ¬¬

Mod note: Threads merged.

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭neveah

I'm thinking about going to this in July, I haven't been before but I would be more interested in renting an apartment than camping as I will probably say for a few days after the festival.

Can anyone recommend some apartments that are situated close enough to the festival so that we do not have to travel miles every day?? All the ones I've looked at so far seem to be located ages away.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Steba wrote: »
    So as a 6th year trip we were just thinking about going to oxegen but then i saw this site and though it would be worth looking into!

Just wondering if anyone has been or knows of anyone that has and what they thought! :)

here's the website anyway
    6th year trip. Go for it! You'd love it.
    eoinf wrote: »
    GO, camp but you cant sleep , just flake on the beach during the day and drink and take drugs all night.

line-up this year is whopper.

its also full of english birds which is a bonus.
    pretty much what I would say too. 4 nights of music too whereas oxegen is 3!
    Steba wrote: »
    I had the same post 5 threads down ¬¬

Mod note: Threads merged.
    neveah wrote: »
    I'm thinking about going to this in July, I haven't been before but I would be more interested in renting an apartment than camping as I will probably say for a few days after the festival.

Can anyone recommend some apartments that are situated close enough to the festival so that we do not have to travel miles every day?? All the ones I've looked at so far seem to be located ages away.
    There are special buses that take you.

• Registered Users Posts: 988 ✭✭✭wurzlitzer

What !
    special buses for who?:D:D:D
    Is there really!

Thinking of going as well when is it on again....
    but if its like oxegen....
    an aul one like me might just hate it!

I stayed about 12km away and got a bus that brought us there directly.
    It's different than Oxegen, has a very different feel. All the main acts are at night around 1am and it goes on all night. You probably would be going to about 8 - 9pm.
    I really recommend it, I might go again myself this year.

Yeah thanks for the info might head to espana for week and make a hol of it.
    benicassim it is.
    gracias.

Its becoming more and more likely by the day that i'll be going :D Sweet!

So far with a rough estimation on the flights from dublin to valencia and renting an apartment between 5-6 people, we're looking at a price of €492 before any money is spent on the essentials/drink/food.

here's the website for the apartments, just dont go booking em all :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

I'd strongly urge you to avoid Danesfib for an apartment at all costs. Bus yes, apartment NO. Just google Marina D'or hotels and book one yourself, then get the Danesfib bus.

http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=108059502122&topic=10524&post=45416#!/photo_search.php?oid=108059502122&view=all

http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=108059502122&topic=10524&post=45416#!/group.php?gid=108059502122&v=wall

http://da-dk.facebook.com/group.php?gid=101787944662

http://www.efestivals.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=121131

http://www.efestivals.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=128205

etc etc etc

Take your pick, they are a ****ing NIGHTMARE. We went with Danesfib in 2009, the bus is fine, buy a 50 euro return ticket for the whole festival, grand - but EVERYTHING to do with the apartments - suddenly wanting deposits, 6 hour queues, keys, the absolute ***** they have for staff, etc etc etc was a nightmare from start to finish.

Get an apartment or hotel yourself, use the Danesfib bus.

Sorry also, just in regards to the bus - there no set bus stop for the return journey. You just kind of leave the festival and wonder around hoping the best.

In 2009 there was one place where they picked up for the first couple of nights, but then they moved it only they didnt make any announcement or tell anyone on the bus on the way in. There was a huge windstorm one of the nights aswell, 100s of people wondering around in it on the motorway at 7 in the morning hammered and out of it, trying to find the Danesfib mystery bus for hours on end. Jokers of the highest order.

Dont let me put you off too much though, the festival was brilliant and everything did work out in the end, but they are seriously **** (see their PR in the links above after all this too).

nm wrote: »
    Sorry also, just in regards to the bus - there no set bus stop for the return journey. You just kind of leave the festival and wonder around hoping the best.

In 2009 there was one place where they picked up for the first couple of nights, but then they moved it only they didnt make any announcement or tell anyone on the bus on the way in. There was a huge windstorm one of the nights aswell, 100s of people wondering around in it on the motorway at 7 in the morning hammered and out of it, trying to find the Danesfib mystery bus for hours on end. Jokers of the highest order.

Dont let me put you off too much though, the festival was brilliant and everything did work out in the end, but they are seriously **** (see their PR in the links above after all this too).
    Have to say I got Danesfib bus last year with no problems at all.
    The lads that ran the bus were sound too, gave us a lot of info on the festival ect.

Although didn't stay in of their hotels.
    The resort we stayed at also had one of the nicest beaches I've ever been on! So the day was good craic too.

The bus was the least problematic part with them, maybe they cleaned up in 2010 but i can tell for you definite no one that used them in 2009 ever will again.

What I have heard antedotally is that part of the world gets a lot of windy weather...and that it has been the case during the festival.

Going to try and get an apartment through homeaway or one of the spanish websites.

I know I have not seen the line up yet, its just I would really like to go to a festival where i do not need my wellies, apart from Slane, i am definitely going to give oxegen a miss, might go to electric picnic.

The line up is good then?

headliners are?

The Strokes, Arctic Monkeys, Primal Scream, Tiny Tempah and Portishead so far.
    A lot more to be announced though.
    Oxegen you only get 3 days of musics, Benicassim is 4 days(Nights).
    The place is also crawling with party drugs and you'll be offered this regularly from the local dealers in there...

Cool

have not see the monkeys, Portishead or the strokes, three acts worth seeing

the scream are always good but might be a bit OTH by now though

Who is tiny tempah? living in a music wilderness at the mo.

anyways missed the strokes years ago on their first tour still have regrets.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭tomissex

arcade fire, elbow, beirut and friendly fires are all confirmed as well :)

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Joe_Dull

Went last year in a group of about 15 as a 6th year holiday ... fantastic experience. The camping isn't as torturous as everyone makes it out to be - I mean you're not exactly getting your 8 hours, but as long as you're OK in the heat sleeping isn't a big issue. We were in Beni Camp which was quite nice, found a nice group on English people to hang out with (the Brits are eeeeeverywhere). Drink is despicably cheap in the Lidl 5 minutes from the campsite (€5 per litre of vodka) and the food in the town itself is fine if nothing to write home about.

We spent the days lounging around the beach, which is beautiful, but make sure you rape yourself with suncream because we witnessed a few unholy burnings over the 6 days. You don't want that when you're trying to sleep. There is also a near by water park which is well worth a visit.

Evenings generally involve socialising and drinking in the camp followed by the bus (quite frequent) to the venue. Make sure you get the timetable in advance and get yourself to the acts you want to see - I was in the front row for all but 3 of the acts I saw and it made the music aspect so much better. The place itself is all tarmac, so you don't have to worry about insects/eh, nettles/what have you, but avoid the food and drink stands at all costs as they'll fleece you. The music itself last year was great, none of the bands would have been among my favourites but I still had great craic, so don't let the lineup put you off.

Keep an eye out for drug dealers, they're all over the shop offering everything from hash to cocaine and E. I'd steer well clear. Any other advice...keep your passport on you at all times. And don't fall asleep/KO on the beach, it will not turn out well for you.

It really is a great holiday, very good value for money and the crowd is in generally a nice bunch. Don't know what else to say really, except if you're considering going, go. :)

Here are links to apartments in Benicassim town. No bus needed.

http://www.orcaservices.org/ <- i think quite a few left, close but but pricey.
    http://www.benitravel.com/ <- only a few left, Curva, about 30 mins walk.

I've booked a gaff with the first one, theyre blatantly overpriced for the week thats in it but you save 50euro on the bus, and well I just think it's worth it.

I imagine nightlife will be jumpin in the town on the days surrounding the festival aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭Loopsie

Hey guys
    This is my first year going and im booking it for my other half as a birthday surprise :)
    Im a little lost..........is it best to fly to valencia???
    I have 4 day tickets for us both with camping but was thinging we could fly 11th and stay until about 20th, maybe book into a hotel for last few days for a rest before coming home!!!
    I love camping so will happily do it for 5 days!
    Any advice on where to stay last few days?? i presume i would want to be booking it now?????
    Also what are the facilities like at the festival showers??? are toilets like ep (EUGH!!!)
    Thanks all
    L :)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Nice lineup

• Registered Users Posts: 826 ✭✭✭CFC007

More announcements coming tomorrow :) Hopefully Daft Punk but more than likely KOL. Can't wait ticket got, flights booked-just need a bed now!

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

CFC007 wrote: »
    More announcements coming tomorrow :) Hopefully Daft Punk but more than likely KOL. Can't wait ticket got, flights booked-just need a bed now!

See ya there man!
    God I'm praying on Daft Punk. been a fan for ages and heard derazzed there when i saw tron the other day... wow.

Went last year with a few friends, incredible festival, nothing like anything here.

Please not KoL again. Quite likely though cos they didnt play 2009 cos of the wind.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭Loopsie

flights booked, apt booked, cant wait!!!!!!!! See you all there!
    Bit broke after getting these, know i need to buy tickets, does ti usually sell out???? would i be ok to buy ticket next month???

• Registered Users Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭davywalsh7

Any1 any tips for accommodation?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I'm organising this as this years lads week away.

What's the cheapest way to get there? Currently it's 150 for flights to Liverpool and then onto Valencia with direct flights working out slightly more expensive!

Take it we get the train down then? Is the Spanish rail network easy to follow?

Regards accommodation, is camping bareable for the week or would you recommend an apartment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 mrbrown20

hey people, just wondering what is the bennicasim festival like in spain? has any
    one ever been and if so what is it like

-price
    -camping
    -people
    -facilities
    -etc

any info would be greatful

ty

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

Your camping lasts for 10 days and is included with the ticket for the festival, which is good. Haven't been to FIB yet, think I might go this year because the line-up looks great so far!!

there is no general tickets left
    only tickets for 185 euros plus including camping but i can assure you not going to camp the noise is always going to be remarkable. going to book an apartment
    so any word if daft punk are playing?

you have to buy tickets before the end of february

viva benicassim
    espera que hay mucha fiesta ahi en la playa