Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Internet radio?

• 26-12-2010 2:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭

My dad got a Roberts internet/DAB radio thingy from my Mam for Christmas, it's one of the coolest things I've played with. Listening to the Soma FM stations on proper speakers in our kitchen, then flicking over to some Oklahoman talk show about guns, via a student jazz station from a college somewhere in the US... So cool :cool:

Anyone here got one of these things? Can anyone recommend some good stations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

El Pr0n wrote: »
    My dad got a Roberts internet/DAB radio thingy from my Mam for Christmas, it's one of the coolest things I've played with. Listening to the Soma FM stations on proper speakers in our kitchen, then flicking over to some Oklahoman talk show about guns, via a student jazz station from a college somewhere in the US... So cool :cool:

Anyone here got one of these things? Can anyone recommend some good stations?

I've been thinking of investing. As an interim step I've been using the radiotime.com site which has a ganzee load of radio stations, whether its Pearl Jam radio from Seattle or some indie station from Boston or hip hop from Chicago. Pretty cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭troops

is it the roberts 83i? ordered one from amazon a few days ago...looking forward to messing about with it when it gets here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

troops wrote: »
    is it the roberts 83i? ordered one from amazon a few days ago...looking forward to messing about with it when it gets here

Yep, the very one! It's really great, but our wireless router decided to pack in so we're trying to sort out our internet situation. Just after I'd gone to get the lead to plug it into our proper stereo :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭mehfesto

2xm and BBC6 Music are my favourites.
    Some great stuff on both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭zweton

hi does this have to be connected to internet while being used,prob a stupid question just new to me:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

zweton wrote: »
    hi does this have to be connected to internet while being used,prob a stupid question just new to me:)

Setup was super easy, just turn it on for the first time and a setup wizard comes up, set the time and date and all and enter the WEP key and it's sorted.

If you don't have a wireless router, there's an ethernet port I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,290 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

You can get internet radio apps for android/iphone etc. They work fine on your data connection so you can listen to any station you want on the go.

Been using TuneIn radio for Android for a while now, does the job grand and didn't cost me a penny.

I also need some good station recommendations cos I'm too lazy to find my own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

My favourite net radio is coming from KCRW's Eclectic24 stream. It's lovely.

this is a great yoke...the last.fm feature is excellent
    anyone have any problems connecting to pc/laptop? the radio can't seem to find it for me :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 summerhead

somafm or radioparadise work for me. Christmas dinner wouldn't be the same without soma's Christmas mix. Some of their IDM, Chillout music playlists are wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Shulgin

The somafm stations as mentioned already are great.
    My fave station is 3RRR from Melbourne, very eclectic and almost ad free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭mar1us

You can get internet radio apps for android/iphone etc. They work fine on your data connection so you can listen to any station you want on the go.

Been using TuneIn radio for Android for a while now, does the job grand and didn't cost me a penny.

I also need some good station recommendations cos I'm too lazy to find my own.

got the same app in to nokia n95 8Gb wifi conected and that (been my exphone) is my internet radio conected to two computer speakers work great as a kitchen radio !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭YeGods

I'm looking to buy an internet radio and I've my eye on the Roberts Stream 205 but I'd much prefer a kitchen (under cupboard) internet radio which connects to my eircom WiFi (rather than wired from a modem) as the DAB stations down here in the county cork countryside are failry limited.
    anybody come across one of these - I've done a few trawls around the net but found none with wifi. Thanks:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭cerebis

Colm! wrote: »
    My favourite net radio is coming from KCRW's Eclectic24 stream. It's lovely.

haven't listened in to KCRW in ages...morning becomes eclectic used to be deadly... must check if it's still going strong"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I don't suppose it works with things like Last.fm etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I'm liking the grooveshark radio at the moment....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

cerebis wrote: »
    haven't listened in to KCRW in ages...morning becomes eclectic used to be deadly... must check if it's still going strong"!
    Morning Becomes Eclectic is pretty damn cool. I think their Eclectic24 channel is just made up of back-to-back episodes of Morning Becomes Eclectic or something, not that I'm complaining, it's amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I'm loving AbsoluteRadio's on-the-hour playlist of a song from each of their sister stations:
    Absolute Classic Rock
    Absolute 80s
    Absolute 90s
    Absolute Radio 00s

Absolute Classic Rock is fecking amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

basquille wrote: »
    I'm loving AbsoluteRadio's on-the-hour playlist of a song from each of their sister stations:

Absolute Classic Rock is fecking amazing!

It's an unreal station.
    There's a classic rock station broadcasting Friday to Sunday in the south east at least. Zenith classic rock 103.8fm (its on the web all the time).

Xfm London is good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Thanks for that Thundercats Ho..

.. the world needs more Classic Rock stations.

this is my favourite so far...

http://www.radioparadise.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 SaraKeane

maybe a silly question....but do you guys listen to phantom 105.2? Imho its the best radio channel anywhere in Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Shulgin

SaraKeane wrote: »
    maybe a silly question....but do you guys listen to phantom 105.2? Imho its the best radio channel anywhere in Ireland!

Yup, I listen to it online quite a bit. It's 128k aac+ stream is great quality. Fair play to 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 summerhead

Shulgin wrote: »
    Yup, I listen to it online quite a bit. It's 128k aac+ stream is great quality. Fair play to 'em.

Phantom is pretty good but it's a little too "white blokes with guitars" for me. Not near varied enough IMO. The radioparadise mentioned above is nice little station.
    Also the Bella Union affiliated station, http://www.strangewaysradio.com/, has some interesting play lists.