Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else stuck abroad for Xmas?

• 25-12-2010 1:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭0verblood

I was supposed to fly from Belgium to Ireland on Tuesday, just checked myself into the airport hotel, bored as sh!te. My Xmas dinner is a packet of crisps and a fag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

0verblood wrote: »
    I was supposed to fly from Belgium to Ireland on Tuesday, just checked myself into the airport hotel, bored as sh!te. My Xmas dinner is a packet of crisps and a fag.

Shouldn't be too boring if you've got some company

Hail Mary, full of grace....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Yeah, in Ireland! Florida FTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I genuinely felt very sorry for those who couldn't make it home for Christmas. Whether they were coming to Ireland or leaving.

Enjoy yourself the best you can, Overblood. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Cheese and Onion or Salt and Vinegar btw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭0verblood

Peperoni.

At least the hotel has BBC on the tellyvision, watching Madagascar now.

And as one of the people you saw on the news trying to get out of an airport, (Chareleroi) I can confirm that Ryanair are a load of wanking cunts. I know the snow is not their fault, but they gave us absolutely no information whatsoever, the airport didn't even have one Ryanair representative there. We were treated like sh!te, they didn't give us food or accomodation. I slept on the cold concrete floor for 3 days waiting for flights or information.

One flight to Ireland actually left yesterday with a lot of empty seats, we tried to get on it, including two women with a load of little kids, but they wouldn't let us on as we hadn't registered for some stand by boarding reservation bull****, which you can only do from the ticket desks, which had been closed all day. So we watched the plane take off on Xmas eve with empty seats that we could have been on if Ryanair or the staff at the checkin desk actually gave a ****. Ryanair cunts.

The feckin Red Cross came to the airport to give us soup and tea and blankets!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Do hookers deliver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Peperoni.

And as one of the people you saw on the news trying to get out of an airport, I can confirm that Ryanair are a load of wanking cunts. I know the snow is not their fault, but they gave us absolutely no information whatsoever, the airport didn't even have one Ryanair representative there. We were treated like sh!te, they didn't give us food or accomodation. I slept on the cold concrete floor for 3 days waiting for flights or information.

Well thats the problem with ryanair isnt it , they are grand when everthing goes well but as soon as the **** hits the fan they are the worst shower to be flying with, i refuse to fly with them i would rather pay the extra few quid to a decent airline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Anyone else stuck abroad for Xmas?.

I was stuck up a broad last night, if that helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Peperoni.

And as one of the people you saw on the news trying to get out of an airport, I can confirm that Ryanair are a load of wanking cunts. I know the snow is not their fault, but they gave us absolutely no information whatsoever, the airport didn't even have one Ryanair representative there. We were treated like sh!te, they didn't give us food or accomodation. I slept on the cold concrete floor for 3 days waiting for flights or information.

O'Leary saved another few quid there, score!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

3 days?? why didn't you get the eurolines at brussels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

I have had 2 consecutive flights cancelled. Supposed to fly out on 23rd, then 24th.

I had arranged all of our kids (three of them) presents to be in Dublin, so we are stuck here with nothing.

The kids were informed that santa will rearrange his delivery to 27th when we are now rebooked.

I reminded the kids that a lot of families are worse off than us, and that they were still getting something, just a little later. so they went to bed happy and expecting a quiet Christmas.

We did, however, fake a letter from santa saying he knows our flight was delayed and he'll bring the presents on 27th. He did leave some small stuff down in our cellar (stuff we had in our baggage anyway). So as they woke up expecting nothing, they were feckin delighted to get the letter and some unexpected presents.

we are happy that we are all safe and sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭alphaLaura

I'm stuck abroad... By choice!

Spending Christmas in Palm Beach :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

alphaLaura wrote: »
    I'm stuck abroad... By choice!

Spending Christmas in Palm Beach :)

I'd rather be stuck in Cork.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭0verblood

rossie1977 wrote: »

The only euroline ticket available for december is the 27th, I booked it, and that's what I'm waiting for. The reason I stayed in the airport is because of the possibility of getting a stand by seat on another flight. I got one eventually, got as far as the boarding gate... I could see the fcuking plane out the window, then it was cancelled.

• rossie1977 wrote: »

You think nobody else thought of that? I met people in Brussels airport who had been there for 3 or 4 days. Apparently everything (Eurolines, Eurostar) was booked up. Like 0verblood said, people were being told they'd definitely be leaving in the next few hours, then being disappointed again. I was lucky enough to get one of the last flights out before the real chaos started. Glad I chose to fly Aer Lingus on this occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Yeah Aer Arann flight cancelled from Edinburgh to Galway on the 23rd. Next available was 26th which was when I was due to come back so gave up. Was very disappointed at the time but have had a lovely xmas with herself and her family here in Scotland.
    Aer Arann provided food vouchers and offered hotels to any that needed them.
    Got 2 more flights on the 28th so hope these go ok...3 weeks Cape Town beach life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭cabot

Its not the end of the world, at least you guys were somewhere warm. My family drove to Ireland from Bristol, and have had no heating since they arrived the Wednesday before Christmas. At -16 temperatures in Athlone.