Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on Potential Purchase

• 24-12-2010 5:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭

Looking at buying a a4 quattro for my mum. She has been snowbound for 6 weeks or more this year and last and has had enough. Looking at this

Looked at it today. Bodywork looks sound. Has def not been in an accident. The car runs well and is pretty well kept(ie clean inside and out). There are two things bothering me though. The car was imported from the UK (not a problem) but the service history is sketchy after that. 2 Audi services and then 2 independents. The mileages the services were done at were weird. There was 14k between services and 4k between the next... Also timing belt has not been changed. The car is competitively priced and i think i can get a few bob off the price too.

The interior looks about right for the mileage. There are wear marks but nothing mad. Pedals are also worn but by no means bald. and the gear knob is spotless.

What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

She needs snow tyres then - not a new car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

If it was me I'd avoid audi totally. They are very expensive to fix if anything goes wrong.
    It sounds like you're buying it from a private seller....remember you have no come back if anything goes wrong.

There are some very good deals on the forecourts at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

si_guru wrote: »

So you're saying the quattro won't help the issue at all???

I highly doubt it.

BTW it's very difficult to pick up proper snowtyres over here. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

si_guru wrote: »

She drives a 99 MX5 so snow tyres would make minimal difference,

Driving a RWD car with ESP myself i could notice a huge difference during the test drive.

Its not always that simple!

M5 wrote: »
    There was 14k between services and 4k between the next... ..........
    What do ye think?

If I was buying anything with the VAG 1.8T in it I'd want a full service history with the oil changes done at exactly the correct intervals. So I wouldn't touch that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

There's an A4 Quattro on summer tyres on our road than cannot get up the incline, no problem in our 2WD with winters. 4WD is not the miracle cure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Shane732 wrote: »

You are joking, right ? What do you think mainland EU is using - is your internet broken ? My brother got a set in Cork last week from abroad for....300.
    M5 wrote: »
    She drives a 99 MX5 so snow tyres would make minimal difference,

Driving a RWD car with ESP myself i could notice a huge difference during the test drive.

Its not always that simple!

True - and the MX5 must be THE worse choice in this weather. However, come the spring and she'll be kicking herself over being stuck in an A4 over the MX.

Buy a cheap Subaru for the winter, transfer the insurance back to the MX for the summer. This one would be cheap to buy, no need to keep it immaculate, so the odd little winter ding could be left in it. And at this price level, it's probably going to cost less than selling the MX any buying anything expensive, instead. Win-Win

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Are those Forresters Turbos ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

So you're saying the quattro won't help the issue at all???

I highly doubt it.

I can assure you from experience, quattros on Summer tyres are deceptively dangerous in this weather. You feel like you can get anywhere as you wont get bogged down badly, but they cannot brake or corner anywhere near what you think you can. Quattro doesnt magically create grip that just isnt there on Summer tyres. Traction is the problem and traction is made at the point of contact, ie tyres, not drivetrain.

A quattro on good (note good) All Seasons or any Winters is on the otherhand an entirely different prospect.

PS: AutoDepot will sell you Winter tyres no problem.
    PPS: Winter Season tyres are not "snow tyres"! Snow specific tyres usually refers to studded tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭toshy321

D ya see how much tax is for year probaly over 500euro big tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

toshy321 wrote: »
    D ya see how much tax is for year probaly over 500euro big tax

LOL, 500 is big tax ? She's already paying nearly that for the MX, so hardly end-of-the-world.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

Matt Simis wrote: »
    I can assure you from experience, quattros on Summer tyres are deceptively dangerous in this weather. You feel like you can get anywhere as you wont get bogged down badly, but they cannot brake or corner anywhere near what you think you can. Quattro doesnt magically create grip that just isnt there on Summer tyres. Traction is the problem and traction is made at the point of contact, ie tyres, not drivetrain.

A quattro on good (note good) All Seasons or any Winters is on the otherhand an entirely different prospect.

PS: AutoDepot will sell you Winter tyres no problem.
    PPS: Winter Season tyres are not "snow tyres"! Snow specific tyres usually refers to studded tyres.

But surely you'd pick a quattro on summer tyres over a MX-5 on summers?

I do take aboard your point re the quattro not being a magical fix to the problem. I think it's better than nothing though!

I know you can pick up winter tyres easily enough - I meant snow tyres, which are what si_guru referred to in his post.

Galwaytt - do you know the size of the tyres your brother picked up? That sounds very cheap for a set of 4 tyres, shipped from mainland Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,903 ✭✭✭✭ted1

no need for a winter purchase can't believe the number of people buying big tanks etc due to a few weeks bad weather. Get her advanced driving lessons in skid control. They'll serve her better and be cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

But surely you'd pick a quattro on summer tyres over a MX-5 on summers?
    Absolutely, but in the grand scheme of things neither would be my preference. The million dollar question, which is better, the light MX5 on full Winter tyres or the heavier quattro on widish sporty Summers?

From what the guys on Octane report on their Exiges and Elises, Id be thinking the small 2WD Winter tyred car.
    ted1 wrote: »
    no need for a winter purchase can't believe the number of people buying big tanks etc due to a few weeks bad weather. Get her advanced driving lessons in skid control. They'll serve her better and be cheaper.
    Snow bound typically implies living outside town limits, on a hill, mountains, bog land surrounded and buried in snow and ice. You arent going to "skid control" your way up a hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

I have a B5 A4 Quattro and have had no problems travelling in the ice and snow, neighbours BMW 520d can't get up our hill :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

All, she will be keeping the Mx5 and the Audi will permanently on winter tyres. Mx5 will be on summer tyres and the cars will be used pretty much seasonally. No point selling on the Mx5 as she just put a new roof on it recently and she would not even recoup the cost of that if she sold!

Besides all that what do ye think of the audi, yay or nay and why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Dave147 wrote: »
    I have a B5 A4 Quattro and have had no problems travelling in the ice and snow, neighbours BMW 520d can't get up our hill :P

As others have said it's not a problem getting going in the Quattro it's stopping and turning which is that same as the 520, if it gets moving.

If your neighbour put winter tyres on they'd have less issues.