Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grave Mistake - Builder paid in full before completion

• 24-12-2010 12:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭

I'll keep it quick and simple.

I'm having work done to my house. Employed a local builder to do the work. The deal was I pay half the day I agreed to have them do the work and then the other half when the work is completed. Standard stuff really.

Last week, builder calls me up saying that the work is almost complete and that there's only 1 day's work left to do, which is probably true if a little ambitious. He said it would be completed on Monday and asked could he take the other half of the money off my credit card. He caught me off guard and seeing as the work was nearly completed, I ,mistakenly, ok'd the final payment.

Needless to say, the work was NOT completed on Monday, nor Tuesday nor Wednesday etc etc. He's been hard to get hold of but we have talked a couple of times this week where I was met with excuses.

I'm absolutely KICKING myself to the point of actually feeling ill thinking about what I have stupidly done! I'm furious and just want the work completed.

What can I do?

P.S. If you think I'm overreacting, I'm not. The work started over 2 months ago and that's probably why I'm so mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

Magown3 wrote: »
    I'll keep it quick and simple.

I'm having work done to my house. Employed a local builder to do the work. The deal was I pay half the day I agreed to have them do the work and then the other half when the work is completed. Standard stuff really.

Last week, builder calls me up saying that the work is almost complete and that there's only 1 day's work left to do, which is probably true if a little ambitious. He said it would be completed on Monday and asked could he take the other half of the money off my credit card. He caught me off guard and seeing as the work was nearly completed, I ,mistakenly, ok'd the final payment.

Needless to say, the work was NOT completed on Monday, nor Tuesday nor Wednesday etc etc. He's been hard to get hold of but we have talked a couple of times this week where I was met with excuses.

I'm absolutely KICKING myself to the point of actually feeling ill thinking about what I have stupidly done! I'm furious and just want the work completed.

What can I do?

P.S. If you think I'm overreacting, I'm not. The work started over 2 months ago and that's probably why I'm so mad.
    What were the excuses? The worst thing a local builder can do is give himself a bad reputation in this climate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Magown3

gsxr1 wrote: »
    What were the excuses? The worst thing a local builder can do is give himself a bad reputation in this climate.

No materials, no van, no transport, weather!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 406 ✭✭FesterBeatty

Very little you can do now. Unless he can build you a time machine? (Wait until he's built it before you pay!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭MacGyver

if you payed him by credit card, could you not do a charge back through the bank for non delivery of goods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

MacGyver wrote: »
    if you payed him by credit card, could you not do a charge back through the bank for non delivery of goods
    Exactly that. Get your solicitor to confirm all this in a letter to the builder.

This sounds like an option alright. If I cannot get a hold of him next week then i will be contacting my solicitor to do just this. It's hard to know how far to push him tho as he could easily finish the job with a distinct lack of attention to detail ye know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bigjohnny80

Well maybe the weather is actually holding him up

Considering the chaos on the roads the past few days, He might actually have a legitimate excuse this time. Just get him back after the break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭martin46585

if as you say it is only a day or two work to complete, and it is not causing a great deal of upset, then maybe take him at his word, weather time of year etc....as firstly bad feeling will work in nobodies favour, and secondly legal recourse will cost both parties more than the finishing off, also making it almost immpossible to get him back for later snagging and such like...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭daithi2011

I paid a builder once when he said there were only a few days left and could I pay him then as he needed it to pay wages.
    Worst mistake ever. Once you hand the money over there is nothing to stop him taking his time or doing sh1t finishing.
    Finishing was terrible. Things that went wrong, like heating, leaking pipes, loose tiles etc, all not looked after.
    6 months later and still work wasnt finished. It only got finished when it turned out I knew his next customer and they told him not to start their work until I gave the go-ahead that all my work was complete.

NEVER PAY A BUILDER IN FULL UNTIL ALL SNAGGING ETC IS COMPLETED TO YOUR SATISFACTION. That was my lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭meercat

Considering the chaos on the roads the past few days, He might actually have a legitimate excuse this time. Just get him back after the break.

i agree
    if he is a local man he wont want any negative feedback from you
    i would take him at his word for now
    the weather has been bad and not much construction work has been done over the past few weeks
    i would just say he was under pressure for a few bob
    you probably felt under pressure to sort him out and now regret giving the full amount.Given more time to think you should have held onto a small percentage
    if there is not a lot to finish the job,i would say he will be back in the new year
    try not to worry as there is nothing you can do till january
    there are some genuine builders out there
    happy christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭cork2

this is far too general to be commenting on! I mean was he roofing, pouring concrete, plumbing, wiring, doing carpentry it does make a difference. Im a carpenter and we did nothing for the past week as we were roofing a house and it was just too dangerous up there with all the ice and to be quiet honest to was too cold for us. So fair enough he could be making excuses but i hope youll be as fast to post back here if he comes back to you in the new year and tidies it up quickly and with a neat finish.

cork2 wrote: »
    this is far too general to be commenting on! I mean was he roofing, pouring concrete, plumbing, wiring, doing carpentry it does make a difference. Im a carpenter and we did nothing for the past week as we were roofing a house and it was just too dangerous up there with all the ice and to be quiet honest to was too cold for us. So fair enough he could be making excuses but i hope youll be as fast to post back here if he comes back to you in the new year and tidies it up quickly and with a neat finish.

He's doing bathroom. Indoor work with so cold shouldn't effect.

I will surely post back if he does a good job as soon as he can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I would not worry. Coming up to the hols , bad weather, dangerous driving conditions , schools closed, Chritmas rush. Lads needing wages before the brake.

I could not get my van out of the street the days you posted this first.

He's up to his eyes in frozen (soon to be burst) pipes no doubt, don't expect him back too soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

He's up to his eyes in frozen (soon to be burst) pipes no doubt, don't expect him back too soon!

The facts here are simple, he asked for payment before the work was finished and he got it. It is now down to two things,
    1) what kind of person is he, do you trust him to come back and finish the works, obviously you trust him to some degree as you've paid him in full.
    2) if you can't get him back, what do you do?

I wouldn't take excuses like 'burst pipes' etc., as those are other jobs and this person has taken money to finish your job. There are priorities and commitments and you should be head of his list. But, for all we know maybe you are, maybe this fellow is just waiting the opportunity to come back and finish off, I do hope so.
    daithi2011 wrote: »
    NEVER PAY A BUILDER IN FULL UNTIL ALL SNAGGING ETC IS COMPLETED TO YOUR SATISFACTION. That was my lesson.
    A lesson hard learned is never forgotten.

Please give us an update next week or so.