Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Predictions for 2011

• 23-12-2010 5:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭

So, with 2010 coming to a close, (jaysus that flew in), what are the fine people of After Hours predictions for the next year.

Fianna Fail in shock election victory?

The shit hitting the fan between North and South Korea?

Economic recovery for the World and/or Ireland?

Riots in Dublin?

Discuss..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Brummytom to pop his cherry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    So, with 2010 coming to a close, (jaysus that flew in), what are the fine people of After Hours predictions for the next year.

Fianna Fail in shock election victory?

The shit hitting the fan between North and South Korea?

Economic recovery for the World and/or Ireland?

Riots in Dublin?

Discuss..

The property market will collapse more than anybody (except Morgan Kelly) had expected. After all, nobody should be paying more than three or four times their annual salary for their home, as was the situation up until the late 1990s. The property market has a long way to fall before that situation returns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Hello Irish punt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Death, Destruction, Poverty and my 22nd bday...

unless i die....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

The world is ending in 2012 so if we get few IMF bailouts we can just live it up. Coke, hookers, fast cars, nice holidays and nice houses. Lets go mad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Can things get any worse? The only way is up from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I think FF will have a sizeable minority in the Dail and FG will only sieze the Govt by wooing the Greens and/or SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

More snow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Lots of snow. But it'll be all a hazy memory by about June.

The Government puts off the election as long as possible. Many more eFFers retire. Race riots break out in urban areas as ordinary people finally revolt and try to beat sense into eFFing politicians and their supporters. (Yes, eFFers are a different race)

Brian Lenihan (now supreme and unopposed leader) issues the election results. Anyone who didn't vote for the eFFers gets no wages.

Ireland wins the Rugby WC, while Ireland (the island) shivers in the early onset of winter (October). 90% of the workforce is involved in deicing, gritting and shovelling snow, but don't get paid for it. It's a new government scheme called "work experience".

November: A boardsie uncovers evidence that Lenihan is owned by Roman Abramovitch, and [posthumously] saves the country when a general uprising involving lots of guillotines and gallows finally sees off the eFFers.

A snap election sees New Fianna Fáil [a new beginning, donchaknow] win by a landslide, while the sound of 3 million foreheads being slapped simultaneously causes the Earth to shift off its axis.

Finally, Derval O'Rourke wins a gold at the Athletics World Championships, but Don't Push It is voted RTE sports personality of the year after retaining its Grand National crown. Shortly afterwards, it is voted President ahead of Michael D, Bertie Ahern and George Hook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

The new Government will turn out to be an incredible mix of Pragmatists who will have the country back to full employment in June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

...and even more snow :eek:

plus rising temperatures during the summer, plus water shortages in Dublin again.

and now to the 'wishful thinking' section:
    1. Liverpool FC champions in the Premier League
    2. Celtic champions in Scotland
    3. Borussia Dortmund champions in Germany
    4. Sinn Fein in government, but without FF or FG
    5. Np panic about 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Death, Destruction, Poverty and my 22nd bday...

unless i die....
    What, all of it, or just the birthday?

Answer carefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Jedward run for presidency ... and win :pac:

Dunjohn wrote: »
    What, all of it, or just the birthday?

Answer carefully.

I probably could have said that better, now i expect to be killed to save the world...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

At least two general elections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Sex, booze and rock and roll.

Don't really care what happens after New Years then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

The united states of the european union

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Lars1916 wrote: »
    1. Liverpool FC champions in the Premier League

Yeah, 2011/2012 will definitely be Liverpools' year...
    Man Utd become the most boring team to go a full Premiership season unbeaten!

Things in Ireland can only get better, when they have hit absolute bottom, which we can expect next year.

I've tried to get odds on Don't Push It to be next president,(Pherekydes is on to something) Paddy Power won't quote me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

scuid mhór will become ireland's youngest taoiseach on record after staging a military coup against the current government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Predictions:

- It will be a different year.

- A disappointing summer will occur, again, thanks to another Rihanna song.

- A well known male celebrity will die from a drug overdose. Around February/March

- The winter will be just as bad as this year.

- Somebody will quote me on these predictions to prove whether they are true or false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

easyeason3 wrote: »

You must be young if can still think like that!

Things can get a lot worse, and then even worse again and we still won't have seen the worst.

One of the first things to happen will be that by the end of February '11 every second shop along the high streets of Ireland will be To Let/For Sale. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Strikes, price rises, protest marches, more strikes. Thats just for January.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

gold and silver to go up 200% :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Dionysus wrote: »
    The property market will collapse more than anybody (except Morgan Kelly) had expected. After all, nobody should be paying more than three or four times their annual salary for their home, as was the situation up until the late 1990s. The property market has a long way to fall before that situation returns.
    Fcuk off would you it's christmas...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

KeithM89 wrote: »
    I probably could have said that better, now i expect to be killed to save the world...

who do ye think ye are, jesus man :p

Saila wrote: »
    who do ye think ye are, jesus man :p

No, im real...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Aldebaran wrote: »
    At least two general elections.

'C'mon lads this is just like the Lisbon treaty, we're goin to keep doing it until you get it right'

It too easy to picture Cowen saying that.

I predict that every FF politician who has been struck down with some ailment in recent times will make a full recovery.

Some drug dealer will force one of our beloved 'celebrities' to take cocaine resulting in their death...How many more Katy's can we lose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Prince William will be found handcuffed naked to a lamp post in Dublins Temple Bar after a stag night.
    Jihad will be started when an islamic standup comedian makes fun of the seer Joe Coleman and the dark forces that drive him are released.
    Irelands historical buildings and places will be auctioned off, things like the dolmen in Clare, Bunratty Castle and Croagh Patrick in Mayo. Johnny Ronan will purchace Croagh Patrick and make billions when he starts to mine precious metals from it.
    Someone will invent how to generate energy from cow ****e and make a fortune while filling the country with cows.
    The NRA will buy 100,000 tons of salt in October and then we will have the warmest winter on record.

Global warmingClimate change is finally declared a scam but carbon taxes are retained as a nice little earner.
    An (currently) unknown party win the general election.
    QE2,3...X finally start to create growth............. in inflation.
    Petrol exceeds €2.10 a litre.
    The last new road ever to be built is opened.
    The sun will shine in the summer, but next winter will be a rerun of this one, the Liffey freezes over.
    The euro goes phut!
    A referendum is held and the IMF & banks are told to "stuff it".
    The Irish cricket team beat England.
    China invades North Korea before it starts WWIII with the south, and then withdraw to leave S Korea to clean up the mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I'm optimistic -

Sinn Fein goverment -
    More Job lose -
    Kanye West to interupt an award show -
    A Giraffe to have twins in dublin zoo -
    Republic of TV to be cancelled -
    Rubberbandits to have a TV show -
    Rubberbandits to be cancelled -
    The toughest budget in Irish history -
    Ryan Tuberty to make public his eating disorder -
    Pakistan is denuclearfied -
    Iran to be invaded -
    Israel to nuke some muslim nation while the world does nothing -
    Jim Corr to be assainated by the illuminati -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

FearDark wrote: »

feardark to pop brmmytoms cherry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

FearDark wrote: »

Fuckin hell, be realistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

Jedward run for presidency ... and win :pac:
    AAHHH nNOOOOOOO I taught Dustin will win (third time lucky).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

easyeason3 wrote: »

Wait until the **** hits the fan.

Then we're really f*Cked. The fun is only just beginning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

limklad wrote: »
    AAHHH nNOOOOOOO I taught Dustin will win (third time lucky).

We thought did we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Arsenal to win the Premiership and Carling cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Ireland becomes a state of Germany - Ireland Landen. Cork becomes a republic and are invaded by our new masters. If only. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

General election to be privatised.
    Boards wins the contract.
    All future elections to be conducted by poll in the General Election forum.
    A previously unknown part named Edies Crew wins by a massive landslide.
    The Senate will be replaced by the Moderate - comprised of Moderators
    Chip and Pin National ID cards will be rolled out and feature boards Ids.
    Paddy Power will take over day to day handling of the Banking sector.
    Due to one simple bet by a punter in Limerick, the entire betting/banking sector goes under.
    A bidding war breaks out between USA and China over the spoils.
    After a tough but unintelligible campaign, involving the annexing of Germany, the Renmimbi is declared the national currency of New Peoples Republic of Europe.
    Evelything letulns to nolmal
    Ni hao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Discovery of an Earth like exo-planet, sometime around March...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

kincsem wrote: »
    Ireland becomes a state of Germany - Ireland Landen. Cork becomes a republic and are invaded by our new masters. If only. :)

Great beer, fantastic roads, national pride, a working but private health care system, slightly higher tax's. The horror of it all :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Desire to Aspire

- Ireland will fail to qualify for Euro 2012.
    - We will have a beautiful summer.
    - I will get 10 A's in my Junior Cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭barbarians

For me:
    - I start driving in July, so I predict I will have crashed before the year is out.
    -My eyesight will continue to worsen.
    -My mother will catch me drinking, which will be a major shock to her.
    -I will break and get a new phone again.
    -I'll put on a stone in weight.

For the wider world:
    -Ireland fail to qualify for Euro 2012, Trappatoni resigns.
    -Cork to win football All-Ireland :) ,Tipperary to win hurling.
    -Fine Gael, Labour to form the next government, which proves a disaster.
    -Enda Kenny,Brian Cowen,John Gormley ousted as leaders of their parties.
    -Alex Ferguson retires at end of season after overhauling Liverpool's record number of league titles.
    -North/South Korea gets very,very touch and go.
    -Another major Al-Qaeda plan wreaks havoc on some Western country,maybe France.
    -France win Rugby World Cup causing a major shock to the uber cocky, New Zealanders.

-Most of these predictions either never happen or are way off the mark. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭cypharius

Sinn Fein to win.
    Sinn Fein to destroy economy due to cringeworthy lack of knowledge.
    Sinn Fein to destroy education system by focusing all efforts on the Irish language.
    Sinn Fein to destroy Irish relations with the rest of the world.
    Sinn Fein to cause electorate to support Fianna Fail from then on.

I won't care though, I'll be moving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Enda Kenny to become Taoiseach but his fat wife can't fit into the state car!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

* Pakistan's government to fall to the extreme Islamic nutters!
    * North Korea under the new upcoming son of current leader (nutcase) to screw things up even more so!
    * Ireland to show signs already of default on payments
    * The Euro to become fractured into two official classed types (strong/weak).
    * Britain to be hit by an extreme Islamic attack.
    * Rioting to take place within Greece (again)
    * EU to say to Ireland "jump" - and Ireland responds "How high?"
    * FG to win power, only to be fractured from within later.
    * Israel to continue to take on Iran on its own with its nuclear ambitions. America to yet again sit on the fence.
    * America persists in holding their "freedom of the net" celebrations - while continuing to crack down on those free speeching!
    * Sinn Fein to quietly make more successes at local levels.
    * South Korea finally has enough of North Korea antics and lets loose it weaponry.
    * China surprisingly stays more quiet (working in the background) than publicly interferes in North/South Korea face-off.
    * India to struggle with internal terror threat.
    * Haiti violence to rise again
    * Russia to become more opposed to Belarus as they go through a messy divorce from one another.
    * The war that will start in days/weeks in the Ivory Coast, to continue. The UN will be useless.

...Thats just a few to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

A heat wave during the summer.
    The country to be more like the 90's again.
    A train crash in England.
    North Korea to be in the newspaper.
    Man U to win the league.
    More feckin snow.
    Run out of grit for the roads.
    Ireland to win their group.
    The poles to shift.
    Ireland to not qualify for the Eurovision.
    A new government.
    Bomb scare in croke park.
    Scandal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I'd like to take this opportunity to show my brilliant nostradamus skillz from this time last year. :p

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=63415417&postcount=38

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

cypharius wrote: »
    Sinn Fein to win.
    Sinn Fein to destroy economy due to cringeworthy lack of knowledge.
    Sinn Fein to destroy education system by focusing all efforts on the Irish language.
    Sinn Fein to destroy Irish relations with the rest of the world.
    Sinn Fein to cause electorate to support Fianna Fail from then on.

I won't care though, I'll be moving.
    ...But you will return long enough just to vote for them? :p