Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone driving Waterford way on Stephens Day?

• 22-12-2010 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭

Well as the title says.. is there anyone driving Kilkenny/ Waterford direction on Stephens day? There are no trains and I just cant stomach the thought of Bus Eireann!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭alanhiggyno1

nope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Walk it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

JJ Kavanagh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

From where??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

SomeFool wrote: »
    From where??

His house obviously...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Are we mind readers?

From Where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭timogen

heading from dublin to waterford way christmas day if thats any good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Dr.Sanchez

Hahahahhahah.... There will be plenty of people driving to Kilkenny and Waterford on Stephens Day! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Yeah Im going. I have no space in the cab of my car. There's some space in the boot though.

Dont worry about safety either as I have rope which will save you in the event of an accident.

Also, I think it would be wise to stay overnight somewhere along the way, Im a slow driver and will be using mainly back roads as the Gardai think my car is too good looking for major roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The thread title made it seem like Waterford people have a specific way of driving and we were all invited to partake on Stephens Day...I am disappoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Which Stephans Day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I'll give you a lift in my van.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

twebb wrote: »
    Well as the title says.. is there anyone driving Kilkenny/ Waterford direction on Stephens day? There are no trains and I just cant stomach the thought of Bus Eireann!

As it happens, I'm driving a empty luxury bus with a full mini-bar down there on Stephen's Day but you can just piss off now, fancy-pants,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Dr.Sanchez

stovelid wrote: »
    As it happens, I'm driving a empty luxury bus with a full mini-bar down there on Stephen's Day but you can just piss off now, fancy-pants,.

Obviously not run by Bus Eireann then, should be fine for him! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭twebb

From Blanchardstown area.. or anywhere in Dublin really! Luxury bus with bar sounds good...

and yes... people do drive a particular way in Waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭wellboy76

I will be going to Waterford from Dublin on Boxing Day. Sorry about that:D

Boxing Day??? Do the English even say that anymore??:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

If you bring the turkey sambo's ya can hop on the back of me bike!

twebb wrote: »
    From Blanchardstown area.. or anywhere in Dublin really! Luxury bus with bar sounds good...
    i'm leaving from castleknock on christmas day and will be using all of the new m9 to get me to piltown so if thats any good let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Ha, first time in 10 years I haven't had to come back to Waterford on St. Stephens Day! So happy. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

I'm not going down to that region any more.Passed a speeding pony and trap on the dual carriageway outside Pilltown with a rough lump of a fella with a crew cut at the reins.Also on board a hardy little divil who threw a large white and weighty sack over a river bridge.That was last Sunday afternoon.If you're hitching in the Kilkenny/Waterford area don't chance these lads.You might become discarded scrap.

I'm not going down to that region any more.Passed a speeding pony and trap on the dual carriageway outside Pilltown with a rough lump of a fella with a crew cut at the reins.Also on board a hardy little divil who threw a large white and weighty sack over a river bridge.That was last Sunday afternoon.If you're hitching in the Kilkenny/Waterford area don't chance these lads.You might become discarded scrap.[/QUO
    so you passed me on sunday and you didnt even wave.....tisk,tisk.
    But there is no dual carraige-way outside Piltown.Co.kilkenny.
    Souldn't drink and drive as ur seeing allsorts and very dissoriented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

JJ Kavanagh?

No, twebb's his name.

Sure wasn't drinkin'.Was on Piltown bypass coming from Carrick.The boyos came onto the road rather brazenly,took the driver in front of me by surprise,then manoeuvred back to a flinging position to effect a successful dumping.The Suir to my south',Piltown NE about 2 miles.Gave the open air traveller a wave and a finger wagging as I passed.Know a chap in Piltown who'll give me the local lore.Yer man wasn't the only cowboy on the road in that area last Sunday.

Ahh! now you have it....it's a by-pass not a dual-carraigeway.Thats why i'm headin down i'm goin home for christmas day.Who do you know in piltown i should know him.

Let's just say John a fanatical Kilkenny hurling fan.I know, that could one of very many.Quite interesting character

I did not realise there was a “Waterford way” of driving. How does it differ from the “Dublin way” or the “Irish way”?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

I did not realise there was a “Waterford way” of driving. How does it differ from the “Dublin way” or the “Irish way”?

Its pretty much the same, but it involves a cat and a plate of muffins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Take the bus.