Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best loo in college for a dump?

• 22-12-2010 7:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭

Have to be back in college within half an hour, so can't go home. Water's frozen in our prefab so don't want to risk that. Most of the toilets around college are mank.
    Preferably one that wouldn't have a pile of traffic as I hate distracting noises when I'm trying to use the loo. Also the cleaners seem to be going around at the mo, which is terribly inconvenient.

Suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭red_fox

Maybe the orbson building, it's a little close to the IT building but shouldn't have too many undergrads going through it (so to speak) during the year and so it should be fairly well maintained.

I'm probably too late anyway but I hope you got sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

Please keep us informed on how it went....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

the bathrooms close to the shop can be ok, the ones that were done up earlier in the year....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

The toilet on the way to IT, across from the Career centre just beside the footbridge. Many's a sh**e I took there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

Basement of the library. Usually a nice quiet spot

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

Most of the disabled ones are nice. Don't really have any moral issues with using them either, since there's absolutely loads around the college despite me not really ever seeing people who might need to use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭rivalius13

If you're expecting a big one don't go to Cairnes, especially on a quiet day. The lights? Motion sensors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Without question the bottom floor of the nurses place. The whole room to yourself (disabled toilet but the only one in the building) so you're free to relax and so and so..:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

ciano1 wrote: »
    Please keep us informed on how it went....
    Apologies for delay - only back online now.

Went for one of the ones downstairs in the BioChemistry area in the end, largely because it was close to where I was at the time. The ones upstairs there seem to be frequented by people who can't **** into the bowl, but rather dribble their faeces around the rim. The jacks downstairs wasn't as warm, and smelled a bit, but the toilets were cleanish and they had at least half a roll of toilet paper between them. That in itself was a pleasant surprise as some students often seem to just chuck the entire toilet roll down the loo, for kicks. There was even a coat hook on the back of the door for one to hang one's jacket on - I didn't notice this until later when I was absturging and had to then choose between either somehow holding my jacket up to avoid it inadvertently getting in the way of the toilet paper or else taking the jacket off and hanging it up carefully so as to minimise contact with the wiping hand (right, in my case, though I understand the left is often preferred). A schoolboy error though, and I would surely avoid said dilemma in future.
    The toilet itself was set lower to the ground than usual for some reason, but there was still enough room to keep the 'knees forward and feet back' position. This is often useful in cases of constipation as the legs can either 'push' or be grabbed with the arms and pulled to decrease abdominal capacity whilst simultaneously expanding the anal cavity and raising the coccyx from the back of the toilet seat to avoid crapping on the obligatory toilet-paper shield.
    Somewhat more problematic was the smaller-than-usual size of the toilet seat. It could just be that I felt less comfortable than at home, and the constriction was merely psychological, or it could have been that the toilet paper shield decreases the overall room as it squares the circle. In any
    event, one was forced to choose between being able to dangle the penis down inside the bowl (comfortably - with no danger of brushing against the inside of the toilet at the front), or having the anus over the bowl, as opposed to on the back of the toilet seat. Of course, the obvious solution seems to be to pee and then slide forward to crap, while the penis rests on the toilet paper shield. The problem with this, is of course that the tip of the penis is then wet and the urine osmosisises into your toilet paper shield which disintegrates. So one needs to replace the shield before proceeding.
    There was feck all reading material in the loo and I had neglected to bring any with me. There wasn't even any graffiti, so all one could contemplate were the oddly-patterned coloured tiles.
    Anyway, business done, after the slight aforementioned awkwardness with removing the coat mid-absturge, I was pleased to note that the deposit was removed with a single flush. Although the flush button was set into the wall, so one was forced to use one's hand, as opposed to the usual handle which one can flick with one's foot. Oh also - the toilet paper was grand. A thin two-ply.
    Soap dispenser, sensor tap, and fancy new hand-dryer were all working perfectly.
    There were no other visitors to the loo while I was there, and the lights stayed on.

Overall, I would give the experience 5.5 out of 10, and would recommend it to young adults who are caught short.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

Too. Much. Information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Best toilets on campus by far are in the Quad. When you walk through the first arch, ladies turn right, in the first door and downstairs; gents turn left, first door and downstairs. Mirrors, lighting and big pictures of Marilyn Monroe and James Dean. Very swish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Rob!

The Cool wrote: »
    Best toilets on campus by far are in the Quad. When you walk through the first arch, ladies turn right, in the first door and downstairs; gents turn left, first door and downstairs. Mirrors, lighting and big pictures of Marilyn Monroe and James Dean. Very swish.

I second that! Actually unreal like - ridiculously quiet, fancy marble design, fancy soap and stuff.......you get the idea - the 5 star king of nuig toilets so to speak. :p

Ficheall wrote: »
    Apologies for delay - only back online now.

Went for one of the ones downstairs in the BioChemistry area in the end, largely because it was close to where I was at the time. The ones upstairs there seem to be frequented by people who can't **** into the bowl, but rather dribble their faeces around the rim. The jacks downstairs wasn't as warm, and smelled a bit, but the toilets were cleanish and they had at least half a roll of toilet paper between them. That in itself was a pleasant surprise as some students often seem to just chuck the entire toilet roll down the loo, for kicks. There was even a coat hook on the back of the door for one to hang one's jacket on - I didn't notice this until later when I was absturging and had to then choose between either somehow holding my jacket up to avoid it inadvertently getting in the way of the toilet paper or else taking the jacket off and hanging it up carefully so as to minimise contact with the wiping hand (right, in my case, though I understand the left is often preferred). A schoolboy error though, and I would surely avoid said dilemma in future.
    The toilet itself was set lower to the ground than usual for some reason, but there was still enough room to keep the 'knees forward and feet back' position. This is often useful in cases of constipation as the legs can either 'push' or be grabbed with the arms and pulled to decrease abdominal capacity whilst simultaneously expanding the anal cavity and raising the coccyx from the back of the toilet seat to avoid crapping on the obligatory toilet-paper shield.
    Somewhat more problematic was the smaller-than-usual size of the toilet seat. It could just be that I felt less comfortable than at home, and the constriction was merely psychological, or it could have been that the toilet paper shield decreases the overall room as it squares the circle. In any
    event, one was forced to choose between being able to dangle the penis down inside the bowl (comfortably - with no danger of brushing against the inside of the toilet at the front), or having the anus over the bowl, as opposed to on the back of the toilet seat. Of course, the obvious solution seems to be to pee and then slide forward to crap, while the penis rests on the toilet paper shield. The problem with this, is of course that the tip of the penis is then wet and the urine osmosisises into your toilet paper shield which disintegrates. So one needs to replace the shield before proceeding.
    There was feck all reading material in the loo and I had neglected to bring any with me. There wasn't even any graffiti, so all one could contemplate were the oddly-patterned coloured tiles.
    Anyway, business done, after the slight aforementioned awkwardness with removing the coat mid-absturge, I was pleased to note that the deposit was removed with a single flush. Although the flush button was set into the wall, so one was forced to use one's hand, as opposed to the usual handle which one can flick with one's foot. Oh also - the toilet paper was grand. A thin two-ply.
    Soap dispenser, sensor tap, and fancy new hand-dryer were all working perfectly.
    There were no other visitors to the loo while I was there, and the lights stayed on.

Overall, I would give the experience 5.5 out of 10, and would recommend it to young adults who are caught short.
    This needs to be printed in the university prospectuses instead of the usual self congratulatory ****e, pardon the pun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

Rob! wrote: »
    I second that! Actually unreal like - ridiculously quiet, fancy marble design, fancy soap and stuff.......you get the idea - the 5 star king of nuig toilets so to speak. :p
    Don't they require key card access?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭the-island-man

Yeah these used to be open last year when I was there but was in there recent enough and they were restricted to card access, you could probably get security to give you access as the showers that were made available to students are in there. A++++ toilets

It bothers me somewhat that more people have seen fit to thumbs-up the previous brief treatise than will ever read my doctoral thesis when/if completed.
    *philosophises *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭ZRelation

Ficheall wrote: »
    It bothers me somewhat that more people have seen fit to thumbs-up the previous brief treatise than will ever read my doctoral thesis when/if completed.
    *philosophises *
    You should print it and get it bound...or better still submit it to SIN.

SIN, eh? That's not actually a bad idea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Also handy to note there are showers in each of the ladies loo's on the first, second and third floors of Aras Moyola (think it's the nursing building but I know it as the Sociology Dept. Very handy for those without water!!

Jesus, I thought I offloaded some heavy duty cargo, but I've never needed a shower.

Must have an sphincter like a Japanese flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

yer man! wrote: »
    Don't they require key card access?

I walked right into both, in October and December...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

The Cool wrote: »
    I walked right into both, in October and December...

Only need key card access for hte showers or when the doors are locked, which I've found to be at irregular enough times. Haven't been keeping records though.

scat removed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭Saaron

HAHAHA!!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭cianl1

I sure hope that clown who wrote the 'Gettin Da Shift' nonsense in SIN Newsletter is taking notes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

and that's enough of scat. mod.