Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Report On Bad Road Conditions?

• 20-12-2010 10:21pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Hey all, just a quick question.

UCD are asking any of their students to receive a "Garda Report" detailing the road conditions of their area should they be unable to make it to an exam.

Genuinely interested as to what sort of report this is? Would the local Garda stations be co-operative on this, and how long could it take to receive such a report?
    If you really can't make an exam you must fill out an extenuating circumstances form and attach a garda report outlining the fact that roads are impassable at your address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Hey all, just a quick question.

UCD are asking any of their students to receive a "Garda Report" detailing the road conditions of their area should they be unable to make it to an exam.

Genuinely interested as to what sort of report this is? Would the local Garda stations be co-operative on this, and how long could it take to receive such a report?

I cant see any reason really why not....accept will the member behind the desk agree to do it???

Its like getting forms witnessed as true copies.....some members do.....others, quiet rights dont.

Not sure where I stand on this to be quiet honest.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Cheers NGA. Not too sure myself as to whether it is fair on either the student or Garda in question to have to go way out of their way to satisfy the UCD admin office giving the current weather conditions.

Just asking as there is a heated discussion taking place as to whether the exams should take place tomorrow morning . . . could be very difficult for students to get to their 9AM exams, and UCD make it seem as if a "Garda Road Conditions Report" is something all can get with a breeze.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Ah stamp the form lads would ye? Christmas cheer and all that!

We were all students once - except for the ones who weren't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

No such report exists. You could attach any press releases from Garda.ie i suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

print out a copy of rte.ie's page about the weather advisorys and the same from aaroadwatch.ie. both of them quote the gardai enough times says not to travel.

i'd tell the admin office to shove it up their arse otherwise. you can't be the only one with this problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭nbrady20009

Random wrote: »
    print out a copy of rte.ie's page about the weather advisorys and the same from aaroadwatch.ie. both of them quote the gardai enough times says not to travel.

i'd tell the admin office to shove it up their arse otherwise. you can't be the only one with this problem.

I contacted the programme officer, it won't be a problem she told me, there are loads of people who were in the same boat that sent in an email to let her know.