Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women and Bags

• 20-12-2010 3:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭

Through no fault of his own cson esquire found himself traversing the bag department of Brown Thomas yesterday. Mrs cson was on the warpath for a new one and I'd managed to get dragged along into the chaos.

The one thing that hit me was the price of them; they were charging €90 for a purse made by some Donkey crowd. Nine-Zero Euro for the love of sweet saint Dolores and all the Cranberries. Anything of a decent size in there would make your wallet have a heart attack. I don't think it's an exaggeration to say that every male who was present on the floor had a look of someone who'd just happened upon Auschwitz.

So I guess what I'm saying to the laydeez is; what's wrong with pockets?

I'm gonna pre-empt AH thanks whores by saying **** you to;
    The tl;dr bridgade
    It was you who bought the bag posts
    Brown Thomas... Recession! etc etc posts
    Your not funny posts
    Everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

cson wrote: »

Oh no you dih-in'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

The tl;dr bridgade
    Your not funny posts
    Everyone else.

You forgot the "brool cory sto" enthusiasts and the grammar nazi contingent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

As a fellow man I feel compelled to tell you this - "What da fcuk are you doing man!" Never question a woman and her choice of hand bag, for you have entered in a dark recess for which you shall not return. Logic!...Logic!..You tried to logic? You can't do that, don't you know this? Logic does not exist in the world of style and fashion, so run while you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

What about the ones who wear skits?

And women generally seem to feel the need to carry a lot more things along with them than men do... Like when was the last time you carried a comb, make up kit, mirror, lip gloss, small nuclear reactor, a hamster, a flux capacitor and whatnot with you?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

We have no pockets in our sexy little black dresses, silly ;)

bonerm wrote: »

Hello!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭AntiMatter

I think you'll find Nazi should be spelled with a capital N.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

€90 for a handbag in Brown Thomas is a bargain.

I hate Brown Thomas. Give me Penneys anyday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Kimia wrote: »
    €90 for a handbag in Brown Thomas is a bargain.

Sounds like it was more of a clutch purse tbh. Not that I'd know... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I had to go into Brown Thomas to pick up warpaint for the sister on Saturday. €30 for this ickle-wickle bottle.

Good grief, the stench of perfume in there, I could barely breath!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭freckly

What about the ones who wear skits?

And women generally seem to feel the need to carry a lot more things along with them than men do... Like when was the last time you carried a comb, make up kit, mirror, lip gloss, small nuclear reactor, a hamster, a flux capacitor and whatnot with you?!

...and the bottle of water, bracelet, 4 pairs of earrings, plasters, different coloured pens, gloves, broken Christmas decoration, 12 packets of opened chewing gum or polos, iPod plus charger, random pieces of paper, a million receipts, a book for the train, 3 lipbalms, lighter (wtf I dont even smoke!) among other crap. Think it may be time to clean out the handbag:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

cool story bro, i nearly didnt read it because it was so long. yeah the recession is affecting us all, but you still bought the bag. oh and your not funny.

couldnt help it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

What's tl;dr about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Good grief, you were lucky to get out of that section alive! :eek:

What's tl;dr about?
    too long; didnt read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

...and the obligatory mention of an old bag i.e. <Insert Obvious Name Here>

What's tl;dr about?

toilet, doctor

.... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

If women put their phones in their pockets we'd never witness the wonderful frenzy that occurs when trying to find the ringing phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Kiera wrote: »

On a side, but way more important note, I really want to click your subtle yet entracing little white dot in your sig, but I'm in work and the URL is aggressively erotic.

If women put their phones in their pockets we'd never witness the wonderful frenzy that occurs when trying to find the ringing phone.

And they'ld probably just leave it on silent mode and never answer aswell...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

women lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

The tl;dr bridgade
    Your not funny posts
    Everyone else.

People thank this post!. BTW bro tl;dr. This aint no novel writing club. From what little I did read I have come to the absolute fact that it was you in fact who purchased the bag (because you're like gay and stuff). Brown Thomas you say? There is a recession going on here ffs! Children starving, people resorting to buying a horse instead of a stylin Subaru. Oh and BTW OP, You sir are not funny!!

Keno 92 wrote: »
    People thank this post!. BTW bro tl;dr. This aint no novel writing club. From what little I did read I have come to the absolute fact that it was you in fact who purchased the bag (because you're like gay and stuff). Brown Thomas you say? There is a recession going on here ffs! Children starving, people resorting to buying a horse instead of a stylin Subaru. Oh and BTW OP, You sir are not funny!!

Your post is like some insane spider diagram written on a cell wall using only bodily fluids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I very very rarely use a handbag. All i need when i'm out is money, my phone and my house key. Oh and i bring my lip gloss. If i brought a bag out with me i'd have it filled with sh1te that i really don't need just for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Pockets! Pockets???!! Are ya serious. Handbags are like an extension of ourselves and i could safely live for a week off the stuff i carry around in mine.

Count your lucky stars ye got away with only spending €90. I have mates who've spent €900+ on crazy designer málas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

freckly wrote: »
    ...and the bottle of water, bracelet, 4 pairs of earrings, plasters, different coloured pens, gloves, broken Christmas decoration, 12 packets of opened chewing gum or polos, iPod plus charger, random pieces of paper, a million receipts, a book for the train, 3 lipbalms, lighter (wtf I dont even smoke!) among other crap. Think it may be time to clean out the handbag:)

Mine contains (in no order of importance) : Keys, Wallet, Gloves, Hand warmers, Deodorant, Perfume, Phone charger, Phone, Eggnog recipe, Stamps, Moisturiser, Hairbands, Brush, Eye cleansing pads, Recipe for Bloody Mary, Bank lodgement slips, Emery boards, Christmas cards, Pens, Change strewn around the bottom of the bag

Items of such vast importance need to be housed in an expensive bag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Tell your Mrs that in future if she wants something from Brown Thomas she has to be prepared to give you a Brown Thomas ;)

anniehoo wrote: »
    I have mates who've spent €900+ on crazy designer málas.

you have idiots for friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

FatherLen wrote: »
    cool story bro, i nearly didnt read it because it was so long. yeah the recession is affecting us all, but you still bought the bag. oh and your not funny.

couldnt help it
    Keno 92 wrote: »

No, because not only was it not funny, you weren't even first to do it.

I once spent €0.15 on a bag. Shop saw me coming. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

NothingMan wrote: »
    On a side, but way more important note, I really want to click your subtle yet entracing little white dot in your sig, but I'm in work and the URL is aggressively erotic.

Just like me then :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

I once spent €0.15 on a bag. Shop saw me coming. :(

yeah but you're raking it in with that 'Horse outside' song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

Where is the 'withering look' smily?

There doesn't appear to be one, so just assume I'm giving you a withering look right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I avoid having to bring a bag with me at all costs. I much prefer to wear jeans with heels just so I can fire my funds in my pockets.

Theres been a couple of times of late where I'd have no pockets and its just a nuisance to have to bring one around. I've a few bags that were given to me as presents but I generally only use one simple black one if I have to use one at all, and I got it in Dunnes. The less fussiness the better imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Women need their handbags to carry fluffy kittens, lace gloves, handkerchiefs, knitting needles, embroidery kits & other essential lady items.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Feeona wrote: »

Mine contains (in no order of importance) : Keys, Wallet, Gloves, Hand warmers, Deodorant, Perfume, Phone charger, Phone, Eggnog recipe, Stamps, Moisturiser, Hairbands, Brush, Eye cleansing pads, Recipe for Bloody Mary, Bank lodgement slips, Emery boards, Christmas cards, Pens, Change strewn around the bottom of the bag

Items of such vast importance need to be housed in an expensive bag!

When you arrive home, you go in down the chimney and not through the front door, don't you, Frau Claus?

Women need their handbags to carry fluffy kittens, lace gloves, handkerchiefs, knitting needles, embroidery kits & other essential lady items.

You forgot our fans which we use to flutter at men to signal our interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Sexist.^ Post reported.

I can't think of a witty reply as it's Monday and my eyes hurt. :(

... and condoms of course. Women should carry plenty of condoms for when said interest has been acknowledged. It's very presumptious of women to think men should carry them just because we might occasionally turn temporarily gay on a night out for that cute guy at the bar.

This post was brought to you by that cartoon on the bottom right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Funny how wimmen try out all these sexy ickle bags with fancy labels, only to settle down with the black maria their mothers had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Sure once it helps them to carry the groceries home then I don't mind how much they spend on them bags!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭cypharius

Lads, it's very simple. Bitches be crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Kiera wrote: »

That's good enough for me, objection overuled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

You hardly picked a place known for reasonable prices.:D I for one don't spend above €40 on a bag, my current one is old, €9 from Penneys and holds a large wallet, umbrella, refill pad, pens, book...and laptop. No rob-me laptop cases required. Bags rule.