Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I make my case at the station?

• 20-12-2010 12:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32

Hey guys, sorry for being so egocentric and making another thread to follow on from this:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056124300

But I wanted to know if this was worth while?

A friend here has suggested that I go to my local garda station and let them know at frontdesk reception that I am expecting something in the post and I should make a record with them, explaining what happened and how I got caught.

PROs: Find out more information about the process, maybe speak to a senior garda there, get my story on record.

CONs: Might be seen as cheeky, I might have to give more details again, I might actually have to speak to the same garda and he might not even have done any paperwork.

It's not like you are after murdering someone, chill out and wait for whatever comes in the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

sh1t happens Im afraid.... i feel your pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 YellowBoxStop

Ive murdered my 7 years clean driving license :(

2 points isn't the end of the World ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

RoverJames wrote: »
    2 points isn't the end of the World ;)
    My insurance company reckon anything under 6 is fine, I asked her what would be a problem and 6 was the magic number... Seemed high

its not about the points or the fine to me - i am planning on leaving eire early next year to work aboard

it the god damned injustice thats making me so upset lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭zapata

Write a letter (they don't do email) to the local Superintendent and explain your case. Include the diagrams. Grovelling also helps - mention your good character, clean record and willingness respect the decisions that are made and what a hard job the guards are doing.
    It's worth a shot for the cost of a stamp and at least you've tried.

zapata wrote: »
    Write a letter (they don't do email) to the local Superintendent and explain your case. Include the diagrams. Grovelling also helps - mention your good character, clean record and willingness respect the decisions that are made and what a hard job the guards are doing.
    It's worth a shot for the cost of a stamp and at least you've tried.

my one concern with going to the station or writing a letter to a super - is that if the paperwork hasnt been done, am i just giving them more ammunition or the incentive to go further - im just imagining mr. traffic cop showing up tomorrow morning:

super: Hi traffic cop no.102

TC102: Hi Boss, how are you this morning? Ready for christmas?

Super: Yes we just got in the last of the presents for the kids, should be a good one. Ohh here, do you remember stopping a young lad for blocking that junction up the road on friday there?

TC102: Erm, no?

Super: Yeah well he was in here telling me some story about other cars pulling into his lane.

TC102: Really? Thats not what I seen

Super: Well thats what he said - what do you remember?

TC102: Drove up, seen him stopped in the junction, pulled him and other guy over.

Super: Case closed then?

TC102: Yep, but I never did the paper work. I'll do it now and slap on a few other fines, just for him being a little prcik for coming up here to question my authority and observational skills

Super: Good job TC102, remember to put that on your overtime pay.

TC102: I love you Super

Super: I love you too TC102

*close scene with a passionate kiss shared between the garda*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I think youre worrying too much. To be honest its entirely possible it will come to nothing anyway, but even if he does process it it will be for one thing, not several issues. You got caught in a yellow box; its not like you were stopped doing 100mph past a school while ten times over the legal limit! Go down to the station if you wish and plead your case (did you get the Gardas name?); most people will not contest these kind of things if they are in the wrong so the fact that you are taking time out to try and plead your case for something as minor as this may make him realise that you are genuine.

Worst case scenario its two points and an €80 fine or something to that effect. Your driving record is still fine (Im pretty sure a clean license means no endorcements, not no penalty points).

djimi wrote: »
    I think youre worrying too much. To be honest its entirely possible it will come to nothing anyway, but even if he does process it it will be for one thing, not several issues. You got caught in a yellow box; its not like you were stopped doing 100mph past a school while ten times over the legal limit! Go down to the station if you wish and plead your case (did you get the Gardas name?); most people will not contest these kind of things if they are in the wrong so the fact that you are taking time out to try and plead your case for something as minor as this may make him realise that you are genuine.

Worst case scenario its two points and an €80 fine or something to that effect. Your driving record is still fine (Im pretty sure a clean license means no endorcements, not no penalty points).

Grand stuff Djimi, I know its possible that nothing will come of it and yes I am probably thinking/worrying about it too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

How do you get out of bed every day OP? This amount of worry is not healthy.

At the end of the day, for what ever reason, you were caught in a yellow box (not high-horsing here, it's just a statement of fact). Hardly seems worthy of a thread, let alone two. Two points tops, no effect on your insurance with any firm I can think of.

Why not wait, as RoverJames suggests, and see if something comes in the post.

You mentioned in your other thread that you're heading away so might just ignore it. Bad idea. That could be that start of some problems...
    Which would be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I'd be annoyed but then I kept reminding myself that you repeatedly said " I was short with him".

Now assuming that you are not of a short stature I am to surmise that you possibly have been politer family issues or not.

I think "being short" in this instance means that the boat has probably potentially sailed and you sunk it when you sarcastically said "Merry Christmas".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

One that springs to mind is getting arrested in a couple of years time on a bench warrant for not showing up in court, after re-entering the state. Maybe. "I.A.N.A.L." etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

my one concern with going to the station or writing a letter to a super - is that if the paperwork hasnt been done, am i just giving them more ammunition or the incentive to go further - im just imagining mr. traffic cop showing up tomorrow morning:

Super: Yes we just got in the last of the presents for the kids, should be a good one. Ohh here, do you remember stopping a young lad for blocking that junction up the road on friday there?

Super: Yeah well he was in here telling me some story about other cars pulling into his lane.

TC102: Drove up, seen him stopped in the junction, pulled him and other guy over.

TC102: Yep, but I never did the paper work. I'll do it now and slap on a few other fines, just for him being a little prcik for coming up here to question my authority and observational skills

To be quite honest, the above sums up well how you came to be in this situation. Gardaí are people trying to do a sometimes difficult job - treat them with decency and consideration, and they'll almost always do the same for you. I've been pulled for far worse than you, and never been charged with it. Were I in your shoes now i'd lose the persecution complex, go down to the station, speak to the Garda and explain that you were having a bad day.

Berty wrote: »
    I'd be annoyed but then I kept reminding myself that you repeatedly said " I was short with him".

Now assuming that you are not of a short stature I am to surmise that you possibly have been politer family issues or not.

I think "being short" in this instance means that the boat has probably potentially sailed and you sunk it when you sarcastically said "Merry Christmas".
    Probably - but my "being short with him" means short, one word, quick answers since I was left waiting for about 10 mins.

Regardless of my attitude, and if my merry christmas comment was sarcastic or not (which it was not intended to be, but I can see how its presented here).

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

But I wanted to know if this was worth while?

A friend here has suggested that I go to my local garda station and let them know at frontdesk reception that I am expecting something in the post and I should make a record with them, explaining what happened and how I got caught.

Can't see it doing any harm. It might not get you out of a ticket either. If you have the details of the Guard who stopped you I'd try talking to him again, he's the one that'll be doing the paperwork.

Brokeback Mount Street?

Anan1 wrote: »
    To be quite honest, the above sums up well how you came to be in this situation. Gardaí are people trying to do a sometimes difficult job - treat them with decency and consideration, and they'll almost always do the same for you. I've been pulled for far worse than you, and never been charged with it. Were I in your shoes now i'd lose the persecution complex, go down to the station, speak to the Garda and explain that you were having a bad day.

As fair as I am concerned, I treated him with the utmost decency and consideration for his role. I didnt want to spend 10 mins like the other driver arguing with him, as soon as I recognized he did not see a car pulling infront of me, i knew that there was no way to talk myself out of it with him there.

i dont have a persecution complex at all, Im just considering all the options available to me and making light hearted fun of inter-garda-station relationships.

Okay Okay.

Have you actually spoken to the Sergeant or the Superintendant yet?

Berty wrote: »
    Okay Okay.

Have you actually spoken to the Sergeant or the Superintendant yet?
    No, Im considering popping in on my way home, but i dont know if i am prepared either.

Do I need all the diagrams printed out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

No, Im considering popping in on my way home, but i dont know if i am prepared either.

Is there any point? They could just say; look you can say what you want but you were stopped on a yellow box & thats against the law?

You only need honesty and patience and you need to get the same in return from whoever you are speaking to.

Don't claim to "know your rights". Just say "I would like to explain the situation in the correct detail because I want a fair appraisal of the events"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

As fair as I am concerned, I treated him with the utmost decency and consideration for his role. I didnt want to spend 10 mins like the other driver arguing with him, as soon as I recognized he did not see a car pulling infront of me, i knew that there was no way to talk myself out of it with him there..
    That's just the thing - you don't argue with Gardaí, you apologise and explain. With your attitude as above you stood no chance. I'm not having a go here, i'm just telling you how it is.:)
    i dont have a persecution complex at all, Im just considering all the options available to me and making light hearted fun of inter-garda-station relationships.
    Hmmm. Your options are 1.) Take the points/Do nothing and hope for the best, or 2.) Go down to the station with a whole new attitude and have the matter dropped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

yeah its only 2 points, it goes away after a year and a half i think, and who says you have to tell your insurance company?

Is there any point? They could just say; look you can say what you want but you were stopped on a yellow box & thats against the law?
    Im not trying to tell anyone their job, but thats pretty much what he said to me at the side of the road, that and "You shouldnt have entered the junction unless your exit was clear" - was the only two things he mentioned.

with the strict interpretation of the rules of the road - i did enter the junction when my exit was clear

however, "stopped on a yellow box" could be thrown back at me as easy as you just said it - that is the MAIN rule, no stopping in the yellow box

Overature wrote: »
    yeah its only 2 points, it goes away after a year and a half i think, and who says you have to tell your insurance company?

3 years and yes you do have to tell your insurance company because they ASK.

Lying voids insurance.