Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Iphone 4 scam

• 19-12-2010 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭

Just wondering were any other boardsies caught in a iphone 4 scam like mine they were advertising a real iphone 4 and sent a iphone 4 clone:(
    Tagged:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

wouldnt imagine so, alot on here will ask for advice before commiting to something and most people will research what there buying and from whom they are buying.

but as always, hindsight is great!
    how did you get caught?
    where did you buy from etc etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭corridon69

On donedeal

They had pictures of a real iphone 4 for sale all the specs looked good pictures looked good they said they had receipt from carphone warehouse and all. Made a deal and they posted me a iphone clone rang back the fella and number was disconnected. Went to gaurds they said they couldnt do much for me. I rang the garda station yesterday and they said they have a number of the same cases in that station alone and many more all over the country. The gaurd said its a traveller family from cavan town being connected to most but cant do anything to them really cause deal was done on internet etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ComeraghBlue

Ouch ! Spread the word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭barryd09

ouch is right...!

whats the deal with these clones?can you actually use them as a phone?hardly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

corridon69 wrote: »
    Just wondering were any other boardsies caught in a iphone 4 scam like mine they were advertising a real iphone 4 and sent a iphone 4 clone:(

what was the asking price for the phone?

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/phones/1763463

Guessing this is a similar scam, if not the same guy..280 for a new 32gb iphone 4...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

On donedeal

They had pictures of a real iphone 4 for sale all the specs looked good pictures looked good they said they had receipt from carphone warehouse and all. Made a deal and they posted me a iphone clone rang back the fella and number was disconnected. Went to gaurds they said they couldnt do much for me. I rang the garda station yesterday and they said they have a number of the same cases in that station alone and many more all over the country. The gaurd said its a traveller family from cavan town being connected to most but cant do anything to them really cause deal was done on internet etc...

ouch, usually when its too good to be true, it is!
    simple fact is when an iPhone is for sale for way below its market price, theres usually a reason.
    iPhones hold their value better than houses and cars at present so beware of any "cheap" iphones.

sorry for your loss though, put it down to experience and never buy an iPhone unless its from a shop or www.adverts.ie and especially necer hand over money unless the phone is in your hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

nasty, sorry to hear that. Is it one of those "HiPhone 4" chinese piece of crap phones?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭johnson1

cojomo2 wrote: »
    what was the asking price for the phone?

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/phones/1763463

Guessing this is a similar scam, if not the same guy..280 for a new 32gb iphone 4...

That iPhone in the pic is fake you can tell by the home screen. the layout is wrong and the actual screen is too small,
    Stay away from them , the're are similar ones on sale on the bottom of henry st in dublin for €99 "ePhone"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Can I ask how much you spent? And how did you pay for it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

OP, you trusted a complete stranger on DD to post you an alledged real iphone......? Like come oooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnn

Hope you learn from this.

Have to say DoneDeal isn't too bad, you have to pay €3 to post an Ad, so you would want to be fairly serious as a scammer.

Have you told DoneDeal? They might be able to track the email / payment details?

Ya its a chinese copy its sciphone 4 .... i lost too much....I got in contact with donedeal and the wont release any info due to the data protection act

Get the Gardai onto DD. Then they'll release the info.

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Get the Gardai onto DD. Then they'll release the info.

They won't release the info to you though. How did you pay for the phone? If you paid by PayPal you might have a case. Did you pay by cash / postal order? Did you send the money to an address?

If you paid by bank transfer do you have the details?

ironclaw wrote: »
    They won't release the info to you though. How did you pay for the phone? If you paid by PayPal you might have a case. Did you pay by cash / postal order? Did you send the money to an address?

If you paid by bank transfer do you have the details?

dd will have to give the details to the gardai.

MidlandsM wrote: »
    dd will have to give the details to the gardai.

Very true. But I'd pursue it personally as far as I could. The Gardai have bigger fish to fry to be fair.

How did you pay for it OP?

worth a go nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 happy1y

clicked on a message-'get a free iphone' enterd mobile # and immediately €8 deducted! Message came from 57582
    Be careful out there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homer

happy1y wrote: »
    clicked on a message-'get a free iphone' enterd mobile # and immediately €8 deducted! Message came from 57582
    Be careful out there!

I have some magic beans you might be interested in purchasing :p

happy1y wrote: »
    Be careful out there!

report that to comreg.......and don't be so gullable in the future.....:P:pac:

I paid via Bank transfer and have there account details and the name of the account holder(only overheard the bank clerk saying it when he was doing transfer , Gaurds are also going to AIB in cavan town looking for full details but it will take weeks if not months)

Ok so I have the name of the person but no address I know the account is Cavan town only but they could be from anywhere.

I was thinking of everyway try and get phone number checked up but I doubt i would get anything out of that, how the paid for donedeal ad but must get gaurds to do that, try and check where package came from but how to do that?

Can anyone think of anything I can do ?

The gaurds said the main thing they can say is that when the sent the package there was a genuine iphone in the package and somewhere along the line it was swapped for a fake.

was the package security taped?
    did it come via regualr mail or by registered mail?

no it was not security taped
    I paid a extra few euro just so they would send it by registered mail but they sent it by regular mail to keep the money and i suppose so no names would be kept about who was sending it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

handing over cash for an iphone without having the iphone in your hand first?
    you deserve to be ripped off, might teach you a lesson or two about common sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Nephew

Fighting Irish, there's no need to be a prick. Just because the op was a little too trusting and maybe not as net savvy as you doesn't mean they deserve to get ripped off by a gyppo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Omega28

I got scammed a few weeks ago outta 380euro on donedeal too. I never did get my iphone 4. I started a thread in the legal section of boards to see if I could do anything.

Iv been to the guards and they can do nothing they tell me. The guy I bought it off was claiming to be from Donegal. He gave me an AIB bank account number, transaction was done by bank transfer, iv been so annoyed by this but now I see there's similar cases out there.

im down 380 euro and a whole lotta hassle to go with it!:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Nephew wrote: »
    Fighting Irish, there's no need to be a prick. Just because the op was a little too trusting and maybe not as net savvy as you doesn't mean they deserve to get ripped off by a gyppo.

Not being a prick, and it has nothing to do with me net savvy. People like scammers exist because a certain type of other people exist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭JDxtra

DoneDeal is full of scammers and not policed like Adverts.ie. Avoid like the plague.

JDxtra wrote: »
    DoneDeal is full of scammers and not policed like Adverts.ie. Avoid like the plague.

I'd disagree. On the grand scale of things your more likely to find someone on DD that Adverts. To register for adverts its free, you just need to confirm by phone now, which is easy to circumvent. On DD you have to pay for an Ad so only the serious scammers would bother in my opinion. Anyone I've ever dealt with on DD has been genuine.

Gumtree and Adverts not so much.

But I have to agree with a few other posters, after all the information online, you paid for a spurious phone by bank transfer to a stranger. The least you could have done is put up half the money and arranged the second half on delivery. Or use PayPal.

With regards finding them, maybe try the phonebook or the register of electors.

The person I bought off had the ad registered to donegal also and had the price set at 380 but i got him down to 350.

Im thinking he had one phone and accepeted many offers for it I say actually got a phone beacuse i was the first. I had it bought in 10 minutes of the ad going up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 shanno1978

i bought an iphone 3g 16g in asia second recently all was going well until i stupidly updated the software for the phone and now the phone is no longer unlocked and its just an expensive ipod plus i have no phone can anyone please help????? where can i get it unlocked?
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭wilford

shanno1978 wrote: »
    where can i get it unlocked?
    thanks

The internet is your friend,everything you need to unlock/jailbreak for free is out there from loads of diffrent sites,back on topic I've never had any trouble with adverts,gumtree on the other hand is a different story.:mad: