Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone have a sony laptop?? Please help if you do!!!

• 19-12-2010 10:36am

my question is... that on the sony keyboard there is a slight gap between each button compared to other brands of laptops. I am a fast typer and i was wondering would this gap effect my typing and would i get used to it? Because im thinking of buying a sony laptop for christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Nadser

I had a Sony Vaio and had no problem typing - I touch-type at approx 70wpm. Got that over 3 years ago, so don't know if the keyboard's have changed since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭apoeiguq3094y

I regularly use a lenovo and sony vaio (work & home) and I don't notice the difference.

In fact I think it helps as it clearly defines the keys under my fingers, you'll be hitting the centre of hte keys, so its not as if you could completly miss a key.
    I imagine the overall size of the keyboard isn't that different from other brands, so you're fingers will be going for the same spot, its just that top of the key is a little smaller cos of the gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭damagegt

Im using a vaio and now that you say it I can see the keys are a tad small but on the plus side I didn't notice it until I read your post so ull be fine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

You'll get used to most keyboards in about 10 minutes. You'll be grand:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭fulmer1984

Have had a Sony vaio for a year and the keyboard is a bit different than say a Dell but it's nothing to worry about... as above...it'll take 10 mins to get used to

Thats great thanks guys!!:) Im stuck between the brands tobishi( cant spell lol!) or sony. Do ye know which one is better?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

I regularly use a lenovo and sony vaio (work & home) and I don't notice the difference.

In fact I think it helps as it clearly defines the keys under my fingers, you'll be hitting the centre of hte keys, so its not as if you could completly miss a key.
    I imagine the overall size of the keyboard isn't that different from other brands, so you're fingers will be going for the same spot, its just that top of the key is a little smaller cos of the gap.

oh the irony!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭wildefalcon

Thats great thanks guys!!:) Im stuck between the brands tobishi( cant spell lol!) or sony. Do ye know which one is better?:)

Toshiba?

One of the better brands, I'd rate them above Sony, in terms of construction anyway. Easier to repair, and more likely to have better spares availability.

Example: The mouse buttons on some Sony laptops are integrated to the motherboards, on the Tosh, they are separate. If the button fails, and they do, then you can replace the mouse button PCB, whereas on the SOny you have to repair the motherboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I'd also recommend staying away from sony. herself had a vaoi, the screen got smashed, and only sony approved screens can replace the one with it. So a standard, €150 screen job has become a €550 job because sony insist on their own hardware being used

RedXIV wrote: »
    I'd also recommend staying away from sony. herself had a vaoi, the screen got smashed, and only sony approved screens can replace the one with it. So a standard, €150 screen job has become a €550 job because sony insist on their own hardware being used

What do you mean?? Is sony doing the job? Or is it a case where the machines only accept genuine sony parts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Maga

I am wondering exactly the same thing about the Sony Vaio chiclet keyoard!!!

I have really tiny fingers and I also touch type, and although I've been "test-driving" the Vaio laptop on the stores, I still can't tell whether I'd ever get used to it...

Any experiences to share, especially if you have small hands too?

Thanks a lot in advance!!

Hey i bought it for christmas and the keys are soooooooooo easy to use. you'll get the hang of it in 5mins. Defo recommend anyone to buy it. fab laptop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Humans eh!

Sony Vaio is a nice laptop but when it needs parts or repair .......
    Nightmare
    bloody expensive nightmare.:eek:
    I'd never buy a Sony again.
    But thats just me.

Humans eh! wrote: »
    Sony Vaio is a nice laptop but when it needs parts or repair .......
    Nightmare
    bloody expensive nightmare.:eek:
    I'd never buy a Sony again.
    But thats just me.

Care to elaborate on what happened?

Most laptops use the same core parts, processors, graphics cards, RAM, hard drives. Even screens can be bought cheap enough online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Maga

Thanks a lot for your advice! I bought the Sony Vaio last week and now I LOVE the keyboard too!!!!

Either it's a particularly amazing keyboard or it just shows one can get used to anything in this life! (scary!) ;) Either way I'm super happy with it!

I had a sony vaio before for 5 years, never had any problems at all. So decided to stick to it.

But if u have any problems off warranty and want a Sony guy to look into it, it has to be shipped to the UK… and only the shipment costs a forturne already… :(