Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ring worm on heifers

• 17-12-2010 12:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭

noticed the heifers wit small round white patches around the eyes and neck areas is this ringworm and wat do u treat it wit or does it go away its self,also just looking at the stuff i last used on them for worms and it mentions eyeworm is this the same i think the stuff is anomec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

leoch wrote: »
    noticed the heifers wit small round white patches around the eyes and neck areas is this ringworm and wat do u treat it wit or does it go away its self,also just looking at the stuff i last used on them for worms and it mentions eyeworm is this the same i think the stuff is anomec

get a little bottle of Imaverol from your vet, its works well just make sure you actually apply it the 3 or 4 times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

wash the shead with washing soda during the summer to stop it spreading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭tommylimerick

also be careful if handling troughs etc.
    as ringworm is zoonotic (pass between animals and human)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

I had a similar problem this year. Cattle were out about three months and it appeared from no where I can accounty for. We haven't had a ringworm case in about 20 years and it appeared. No cattle bought in and it's not in the sheds.

I think it is a fungal infestation, and often picked up by scratching the head of posts or walls. I still don't know where it came from, it may have blown in or from some fence posts I bought.

Anyway a bottle of Imaverol properly diluted did the job, but one calf had a serious outbreak on the edge of her nose and I didn't want scaring. Spray it on with a 'squeegy bottle' but mind the animals eyes.

I diluted a bit of tea tree oil and put that on as well. Cleaned it up in about two days. Tea tree oil is a fungaside and it def. has an effect.

The Imvarol is very effective but you have to persist. Expect it to spread,it has probably already moved on but hasn't appeared yet on the other animals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

leoch wrote: »
    just looking at the stuff i last used on them for worms and it mentions eyeworm is this the same

No eyeworm doesn't occur here, or if it does it causes no problems. I think it causes a lot of trouble in tropical countries.

LostCovey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 sue_

Burnt oil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

We paint on petrol and kind of break the scab as we do it and it kills them dead. We got some this year after buying in stock so will be powerwashing all sheds this summer and disinfecting with jeyes fluid. Sheepdip will also kill it I think along with anything else that may be living on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Burnt oil is full of sulphur and other nasties... wouldn't reccomened it.

You are probably burning off the fungus.
    sue_ wrote: »
    Burnt oil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

natural yoghurt works well, burnt oil is a carcinogen so don't spill any on yourself...better still dispose of at co council waste disposal sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

We have 5 calves with ringworm at the moment, all were bucket fed, we have washed them twice with Imravol and plan to do it again.

How long before I should see them clearing up as I've never used this before??

Also, what's about this season that brings it on?, we havn't had significant ringworm in about 20 years and then 5 all at once, aparrently there is alot around this year accordning to our vet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Same here, years since I'v seen it, untill this year.

TUBBY wrote: »
    Have got stuff called Griseofulvin and it worked really well.

Where did you get this? Is it any more effective or cost effective than the Imravol wash?
    disinfect the sheds after winter and hope it dies.

I read on another site that a 1:10 solution of bleach will act as a good anti-fungaside wash for the purpose.. Would be reasonably cost effective too.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

We have a lot of cattle with it this year aswell. It's at least 20 years since we had it last.

Must be the weather as we dont buy in either. Probably thrives in very cold weather - hard to believe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

bbam wrote: »
    We have 5 calves with ringworm at the moment, all were bucket fed, we have washed them twice with Imravol and plan to do it again.

How long before I should see them clearing up as I've never used this before??

Also, what's about this season that brings it on?, we havn't had significant ringworm in about 20 years and then 5 all at once, aparrently there is alot around this year accordning to our vet.

remember even after the ringworm is cured, it will be some time before the hair grows back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

wear gloves when handling them , i got ringworm years ago , and lost my hair :eek: luckily it grew back - but is very light, i was only 6 , cost my old pair a fortune in specialist treatment

whelan1 wrote: »
    wear gloves when handling them , i got ringworm years ago , and lost my hair :eek: luckily it grew back - but is very light, i was only 6 , cost my old pair a fortune in specialist treatment

Indeed we got a pack of gloves... Girls are banned form the yard for the moment which isn't popular, kids are particularly susceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

BBAM - sorry should have checked out info better before replying to you. Checked bag and it was that yellow antibiotic powder. I reckon it did feck all for the ringworm but cleared up the coughing. The ringworm is cleared up thoguh so maybe it just the minerals in the nut helped the cattle get back on track after the whole herd got a dose.
    The lads say that sickly cattle will pick it up a lot quicker. He reckoned that if it persists I should use any athletes foot treatment on the market.

Also on a separate thing, I remember reading before it lies dormant and that moist and extreme cold are ideal conditions for it to spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭k mac

Have the same problem with about 20 heifers very bad around the eyes, put burnt oil on about 10 days ago but noticed no improvement yet. Would i want to do them again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Dont want to frighten anyone and I am sure it is grand in small quantities but isnt burnt oil a carcinogen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

Dont want to frighten anyone and I am sure it is grand in small quantities but isnt burnt oil a carcinogen.

it is very dangerous stuff.

much better to spend a little and do it the right way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

i have always used ivomec super to kill ringworm , but have noticed that the other cheaper products like animec dont kill it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 john62

We had ringworm on ten heifers last year in the summer.Was bad around the eyes.The vet said there was nothing for it and it cleared up in around 2 months.It looks far worse than it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

How harmful is ringworm? Does it actually affect the growth of cattle?

restive wrote: »
    How harmful is ringworm? Does it actually affect the growth of cattle?

If its not too severe it usually doesn't affect thrive... However left unchecked it will spread and indeed may become more severe..

If the cattle are going out to grass its usually easily controlled as sunlight helps kill it off.. Housed csattle rely solely on treatment to get better...

If cattle are bad they can and indeed should be refused in the mart...
    Personally I'm put off buying any stock with much although we have some at home..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Tommyj1

Had ringworm on some heifers last year. Another farmer got me a bucket of powder he had used. I think it was called something like norovulfin. I dodnt think thats the right name but its something like that. Its for use in horses. It done some job on the ringworm anyway. You have to be carefull using it. You cant let it near springers.

leg wax wrote: »
    i have always used ivomec super to kill ringworm , but have noticed that the other cheaper products like animec dont kill it.

No Ivomec/ivermectin product has any effect whatsoever on ringworm, which is a fungus.

If it did, they would claim it on the pack and market it as such and sell more product.

If you got a response to treatment with an ivermectin product, it suggests your cattle had lice not ringworm, and sucking lice at that (ivermectin doesn't even bother the biting lice. That or maybe mange.

If an ivermectin cleared it, it wasn't ringworm.

LostCovey

Tommyj1 wrote: »
    Had ringworm on some heifers last year. Another farmer got me a bucket of powder he had used. I think it was called something like norovulfin. I dodnt think thats the right name but its something like that. Its for use in horses. It done some job on the ringworm anyway. You have to be carefull using it. You cant let it near springers.

Not licenced as far as I know - it contains griseofulvin, a teratogen that can cause mutations and birth deformities. Yum Yum. Lovely Irish beef.

After a period of relative restraint, these type of threads are turning back into freak circuses of laughably bad advice..

People eat the stuff we rear you know.

LostCovey