Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raise and Give Week 2011

• 16-12-2010 6:32pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭

So our leaders (:P) have put up a video on Facebook/YouTube on Raise and Give Week 2011. Call it a teaser, I suppose. Its dated for February 2011.

So folks, if you were the entertainments officer or part of the WITSU folklore, and were tasked with running Raise and Give Week (I think ill keep calling it RAG week) next semester - what would you do? What events would you have and where? Any particular bands, comedians etc. that stick out you think would be good? Should it go ahead at all?!

Countless questions, but it gives rise to an interesting discussion. What would you like to see? Its not just about the almighty craic or who can get drunk the quickest - its about having run and raising money for a charity at the same time. Its genuinely a good cause once its not taken over by a crowd of eejits who want to use it as an excuse to get hammered and cause trouble.

I think some top music and comedians - not the average joe so. Bigger names allows for a better craic, a brilliant event and raises more money. On site mini-carnival. Last years RAG week was a good start, but bigger better. Maybe a mini Mock of The Week on campus judged by panel of comedians but students doing the humour.

Also, a focus on the charity - so people are not going out and having fun but not fully sure what charity it is or what they do.

But besides all the fun and charity collection - WITSU are hosting and running the event. Other colleges disapprove of RAG week because of the trouble it causes. Something needs to be done to keep local residents happy, and the Gardai. There are far to many accidents and incidents during these weeks so its important such a great charity event isn't dampened by some people.

Any thoughts?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

I think that teaser is a swing and a miss anyway :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭Eroticplants

Fight Like Apes or Bitches With Wolves have to play!!!
    Two of the great Irish talents around these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭shanemul

How can it be a hit and a miss? The video from what I can see is a teaser to get people taking about what could happen for the next Raise and Give week and what type of acts and events could be done. It works quiet week as it is the next big event in the college calendar so as much hype as possible from these videos can only be a good thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

But that's the problem, the video doesn't make me want to talk about it. There's no pictures to remind us of last year or any more information that could give us a hint as to what to expect. Video is the very definition of a swing and a miss!

Yeah I would have preferred some clips or images from last year and maybe teasing who they may have lined up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭neilk32

It's not hard to guess usual ****e Blue Moose etc etc

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

neilk32 wrote: »
    It's not hard to guess usual ****e Blue Moose etc etc

Whats not ****e so?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16 owensutton1986

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w4t7gqs551E

I run a motown band that are playing everywhere across the country at the mo

Played the Guinness Jazz Fest Main Stage, Brian Deady and headlining UCC'S Arts Ball this year

See what you think. Its a cover band but its hardcore motown.:cool:

http://www.facebook.com/PAPAZITAS?ref=ts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Sparkles:)

I imagine monday will be fancy dress in the dome with j90

tuesday will be some comedian, neil de lamair again, as well as someone in harveys, blue moose then?

Wednesday will be a dj in the dome when they'll make offensive sectarian comments and continently shout "up the ra" and "brits out" regardless of peoples backgrounds and how unappreciated it is for someone dj-ing in the college bar to say things like that

Thursday will be lets say something surprising like eh... The Coronas in the dome followed by harveys...

Its a laugh, like i will be at the fancy dress, but like it gets predictable when you've been in college a while.

A bitta sca, some tecnico! =D neon paint drums!

Jaysus not Neil Delamare again....:(

well thats just a guess... andrew maxwell maybe

It gets worse!!!

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 WAFFLES10

From the clip i think carnival theme .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

WIT has to have one of if not the worst RAG weeks of any of the big ITs in the country...

Can we not get a good famous DJ this year? Their not too expesive to book, Dundalk IT and LIT got famous DJs for example last year and WIT is probably a bigger college...
    Im also sick of these cover bands, can we not get a decent proper band not some sing along cover band like!

Really getting sick of all this same old rock and trad music every year too, its so repetitive in WIT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

It all depends on the budget they have. I see a campaign for trying to get the Rubber Bandits to the WIT but I can tell you now that they're charging more than the likes of established acts (that are fantastic live) like Jerry Fish and the Mudbug Club and Aslan (by several thousand too).

The SU would need to collaborate with more venues if they wanted to try get bigger bands. Are Harveys going to take a chance by booking an expensive name? Probably not, because they know they'll be full every day during the week anyway.

for the record rubber bandits are not that good live, worth a chuckle but i'm not sure songs like bag of glue are wit's student body kinda thing haha

i f**kin hate aslan tho...

the heathers? something different?! duke special? duckworth louis! :)

other than cit rag however i think the wit's is unreal generally... just repetitive and the freshers will love it

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

WIT YFG looked into it, but decided against it in the end due to cost - might be a bit of craic but if the tickets are to expensive its not worth it. Better acts for that kind of money. I think the Forum have them for WITSU, I had been told it was being looked into and then someone else who does event management told me it was sorted.

There in Tramore in Feb. though at €15 a head in The Venue. Id genuinely like to see them live, but are they worth €15?

Raise and Give Week is running on 14th February, 2011 - 18th February, 2011. Full line up to be announced soon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

Lemme guess... the coronas / bluemoose / some crap irish comedian/neil delamare / hardy bucks / daft funk / loads of cover bands / some hypnotherapist or something like that

same old same old

Please why cant we get a international DJ and an actual good comedian along with something different like an electro house night in harverys/masons instead of the same old pop music and whatevers big in the charts + pikey music or like a proper UV night with techno/trance/house music or like get a few irish rappers down or some big enough hip hop group, its always the same garbage in WIT unfortunatly, not everyone likes rag week just to drink gallons of beer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭shanemul

Raise & Give Week as the name goes is about raising money for charity so that means that if you can fill an event like as you put it
    the coronas / bluemoose / some crap irish comedian/neil delamare / hardy bucks / daft funk / loads of cover bands / some hypnotherapist or something like that

then go about making more money for the charities meaning not everyone tastes might be catered for but it means the largest amount of money possible is raised. But if you have idea's for events why not send the lads in the students union an email and suggest something